We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,899)
Filter reviews
6,899 results
Traveler rating
3,924
1,899
671
257
148
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,924
1,899
671
257
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond room pier dinner mountain view blue hole jade samurai coral cafe entertainment staff jerk chicken ocho rios wraps the grill pizza place italian restaurant piano bar nature walk our honeymoon platinum restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 6,899 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Poor customer service and rude staff. Just trying to deal with concierge was a stressful and tedious task. Obviously the lady I dealt with did not have a good understanding of customer service. First time at this hotel and I guarantee there won’t be a second time

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank onedonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear onedonman,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Your feedback will help us to make adjustments and improve our service. We note your valued concerns in your review on the areas you found unsatisfactory. Please know that our Management Team has been advised of your comments so that they maybe addressed.
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.
We do hope that you will allow us another opportunity of hosting you in the future.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the Resort for 10 days and had an EXCELLENT time. The restaurants were awesome the food was more than awesome. The entire place was clean, clean, clean... We rented a car and explored Montego Bay and Ocho Rios. Everywhere we went we felt safe. Buy your souvenirs at the Pineapple Market in Ocho RIos, (large swap meet type market) The Jerk Pork at Scotchies was delicious! Don't belive the hype over not leaving the Resort because it is not safe. The entire staff at the Resort made us feel welcomed. Our waiter at the restaurant even sng for us.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rolandoCubano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear rolandoCubano,

Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed account of your time with us.

Thank you as well for choosing to stay at Jewel Dunn's River!

We are delighted to know that you had an excellent time at our resort and you enjoyed everything from our wonderful staff, and awesome food, to our beautiful surroundings. We would love for you to visit our resort again, so that you may have even more satisfying experiences.
We very much appreciate your visit and can't wait to welcome you back in the near future for another excellent stay with us!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I took sweet time to choose a hotel to stay during our first visit to Jamaica. I wanted a small property, acceptable beach, all-inclusive, no kids and near Ocho Rios. Not too expensive but of acceptable quality. Well, this hotel was exactly as we imagined. I am so glad I chose this Jewel! We loved our stay there from the moment we arrived. It is not a luxury hotel, it has a limited variety of alcoholic drinks available, but, it is exactly as it is advertised. The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable, the property is always clean: beach, pool, public areas...you will always find someone cleaning the beach from cups and glasses and I love the fact that they use environmentally friendly glasses and NO STRAWS. The staff? Extremely polite and nice, from the luggage porters to the gardeners. Really, during the day we would have someone always asking how we were doing and if we needed anything...everywhere: beach, pools, bars, lobby. The beach is small but nice, always clean, it has a lot of shade and the bar staff is always offering drinks directly there. They have 2 pools: one with animation and the other quiet. This second one was our favorite spot, with a lot of shade and usually empty and close enough to the beach to use it as an all-day relax station :-) We dinned in all the restaurants, and the meals were very well cooked and presented; the service was always outstanding. A lot of bars and snack places to go during the day with sandwiches, pizzas, jerk meats...and drink of course. If you are looking for a luxury experience, with a lot of premium drinks available, this is not your place. But, if you want to experience Jamaica in a small All-Inclusive where you can relax and unwind, not having to dress up too much and still with all the amenities and quality services, then Jewel Dunn's River is your place. It is also a very well located hotel: 10 minutes from Ocho Rios Town, 2 hours from Mobay airport and 3 hours from the Blue Mountains. We loved our stay there.

Room tip: Diamond building has nice views
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gemarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gemarosa,

On behalf of all of us here at Jewel Dunn’s River, thank you for spending your vacation with us and sharing your thoughtful review. We are delighted to know that we met your expectations. Our goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you, our valued guest, and we are happy your experience was all you anticipated. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the accommodation, beautifully maintained property, dining options available, amazing entertainment and activities. Thank you for your kind words on our associates as well. They do work hard to meet expectations like yours. It was our absolute pleasure to have hosted you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another vacation experience.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not the same resort we were married at 5 years ago. Long check-in process. Moved around a lot and solicited for add-ons. Had to wait long for bellhop the day we arrived and once we finally gave up waiting and started to head to elevator with luggage ourselves, we were approached and helped. Elevator out of service. Had to use questionable service elevator all week which didn’t feel safe and was a complete inconvenience for service staff as well. No booze on walls like our first visit 5 years ago. Bare fridge-2 beers, 2 waters. All-inclusive? Had to call every time we needed waters and beers. Had to pay $10 for bottle of house wine. Room was off to the side and facing neighboring resort. Not much of an ocean view, which we paid for. Very noisy as constant construction at the Rui beginning everyday at 8:30am, which included loud construction staff. Sunday night, staff and guests used the Rui resort pool with a blasting car stereo playing all afternoon and evening. A/c rattled and didn’t work well. Room felt warm because vents appeared blocked. Toilet squeals when flushed. Restaurants closed multiple nights because of events and couldn’t get reservation at the Jade at all, which we were really looking forward to. Beach ran out of towels at least 3 times during our stay. We were Solicited non-stop for spa services, excursions, and meal upgrades while eating! Solicited while swimming in the ocean for jet-ski and horseback rides! It felt like no-stop sales pitching all week.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Danielle G,

Thank you for your feedback. Thank you also for choosing our resort for another stay. It was our privilege to host you and we regret that we did not meet your expectations as it is always our intention to exceed our guest’s expectations. Thank you for bringing your valued concerns to our attention. We will share your feedback with our Management Team to address.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us. We do hope that you will allow us another opportunity of hosting you in the future.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food is horrible. I don't believe they are real Jamaicans. If you want crab or steak prepare your pockets. I wish I would have taken pictures of the signs with the additional cost. You get exceptional service in the place where you are paying for stuff. The rest of the place the staff is rude. Prepare to tip. They are waiting! I was very dissatisfied I wish I went to one of the cheaper hotels.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Shantonise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Shantonise B,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disheartened to learn of the disappointed stay you had at our resort.
We aim to provide quality service to all of our guest and are sad to learn that we did not meet that mark with you.
Your feedback is extremely important to us and will help us to improve. We will share your valued concerns with our Management Team to be addressed. Thank you once again for bringing your concerns to our attention.
We do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to host you in the future.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews