We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kima(Ocho Rios)
View Hotel
Seacrest Beach Resort(St. Ann's Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Jamaica(Ocho Rios)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rooms Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,063)
Filter reviews
6,063 results
Traveler rating
3,540
1,681
561
192
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,540
1,681
561
192
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond roompier dinnerblue holejade samuraicoral cafemountain viewentertainment staffpizza ovenocho riosjerk chickenwrapspizza placethe grillitalian restaurantpiano barnature walkour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,564 - 3,569 of 6,063 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Hubby and I truly loved our vacation and can't wait to return! This was our first time in Jamaica and I want to give credit to Kevin our waiter in the coral & bling, Kevin our photographer, Garnnet our bartender, Camilla & Chanique for our fabulous massages and I am sure I am forgetting someone, but everyone and everything was perfect!! From when we arrived to when we left we were made to feel extra comfortable...The food was great...we ate and drank too much! There was a gym there to allow us to workout and feel better about misbehaving:) We stayed in the Sapphire and the room was great. Great entertainment, great intimate beach, they wait on you hand and foot...poolside, beachside wherever you are they are right there to meet your every need. One tip is to make sure you know what restaurants are open on what days so you make sure you are able to visit all of them during your stay. You can sail, kayak whatever for free....just the excursions are a fee, but everything else is all inclusive. It was clean and they were always cleaning every time I turned around. The only complaint is that while I was there they had a pipe bust so we did not have any water for a couple of hours for a shower, but they made the best of it and entertained you, brought you bottled water if you wanted to bath and did anything they could to accommodate you as best they could. We went through the military MWR to book our travel and it was a steal of a price! Already looking to book again for next year..Thanks Jewel for a wonderful time:) Oh by the way, no one expected us or was pushing us to tip as some other people have stated, but we did anyway because we wanted to.

Room Tip: I was in room 2520 and the view was fabulous!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaineG, Guest Services Coordinator at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We can't wait for you to return either. Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

Regards,
Tara Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was our 5th trip to Jamaica and the first to this resort and to Ocho Rios. My partner & I traveled with 6 others for 8 nights and everyone had a good time. Although Negril is still by far our favorite area of Jamaica, this resort was, overall, very good for the price. I wouldn’t say that it’s a 4 star resort (more a 3 to 3 ½) but the property is pretty well kept and clean. The grounds are beautiful; very lush plant growth everywhere. As stated in the majority of other reviews, what elevates this resort is the staff. Other than the front desk (for the most part not rude but not really friendly, either) the employees were outstanding; super friendly and helpful.
A couple of days into our stay, the resort lost both power and water for about 14 hours. It was really not a huge problem until it started to get dark, with no one being able to see (climbing stairs in the dark up to the 5th floor of the Sapphire building was an adventure!) and no showers or toilets available all day, many guests began to get very upset with many of them being sent to the resort’s sister property in Runaway Bay. We stuck it out (drinking a lot!) and around 9:00 PM or so power was restored. We all ended up getting a night’s credit to our rooms which I thought was fair.
The food was very good. It would be nice to have 1 or 2 more actual restaurants but, other than that, no complaints. Platinum was my favorite but they are very strict on the dress code so be forewarned. As stated in many reviews, the beach is small but very nice. Definitely not for people who love long walks on the beach but no rocks and clean. The roped off swimming area is quite small, I’m assuming due to boat and watercraft activity.
The Ocho Rios area really doesn’t have a whole lot of "non touristy" things to see & do. With Dunn’s River Falls being a complete tourist trap we decided to do the trip to Blue Hole which was, I think, everyone’s trip highlight. It was busier than I thought it would be (I honestly thought we might be the only group there considering that I didn’t see it in any brochures or offered through the tour company) with about 50 or so other people there. Still, it was quiet compared to Dunn’s River and absolutely beautiful. We also did a full day trip to the Port Antonio area to see Somerset Falls, Blue Lagoon and Boston Bay. Although it was a very long drive (about 2 ½ hours each way) the area was gorgeous. Be prepared that wherever you go outside the resort, you will be constantly expected to tip or buy something; it becomes exhausting after a while. It seemed to be worse on this trip than I remember on previous visits to the island. Jamaica is a wonderful country, though.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Sapphire Oceanview room but the mountain view rooms had an amazing view, too. Probably quieter, too, as the Oceanview rooms faced the bars & beach.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaineG, Guest services Coordinator at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Tom,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you once again.

Regards,
Tara Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was our second trip to the Jewel, and we were excited to return. We were shocked to walk in and be greeted by so many of the staff who remembered us- the Entertainment staff remembered us by name, Kevin (one of the servers), Garnet (one of the bartenders) even remembered our drink preferences! With the number of people that they meet every week we don't know how they do it. They made our return feel like we were returning home for a visit with family for the holidays.
We were greeted at the door with a cool towel and a cold drink and quickly and efficiently checked in. Our room was in the Diamond building 3514 overlooking the beautiful resort as we requested. The food was great at Moonstone (again greeted by the restaurant manager who remembered us and personally set our table), the wraps and the pizzas by the pool were also a favorite. The Coral Café made us a healthy breakfast and Kurt made great omelets for us every morning. This trip our server at the Jade was not our favorite. The server brought incorrect drinks was rude and seemed to be inconvenienced and she forgot part of our soup order and we ended up covered in hot food and oil from the chef at our table, but we were told our chef was new and the staff apologized for our experience and said they would be spoken to.
Our room was always clean and our turn down staff (Carlene)did a fantastic job. Every night she left towel creations on our bed and one night she even left candles and drew a warm bath!
We are not sailors, but wanted to go on one of the sailboats included in the resort. Kelso (lifeguard) offered to take us sailing. He was warm and friendly and very informative. He took us to James Bonds "Dr. No" beach and took pictures for us.
Any questions and concerns were handled quickly and efficiently by Tara at the concierge desk. She set up our wonderful candlelight dinner on the beach and was able to arrange for our favorite waiter (Kevin) to serve us even though it is not generally his job.
There was a power outage for a number of hours one day but the staff did everything in their power to accommodate the guests. They offered to transfer guests to one of the other properties. They brought cans of soda and beer since the machines were not working. Towels at the beach were a problem, but everyone made due.
A highlight for us was seeing the Silver Birds steel drum band perform. This year they were outside (due to the power outage). It seemed that the more the guests danced, the more the band danced and at one point there was a dance off between the band, guests and the Gems (Floyd in particular). We think it was a much better experience than watching them perform in the Bling nightclub.
The only improvement we would love to see on our next trip would be a place to get some after dinner/late night dessert items. They are available during dinner at all of the restaurants, but not after a show. Hopefully we will see this change on our next trip.
The ever friendly and helpful staff deserve to be acknowledged and praised by the management and owners as they are the greatest Jewels they have, and the reason there are so many returning guests.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms in the Diamond building facing the resort since it is so beautiful. The mountain view rooms are also beautiful.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNSFA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaineG, Guest Services Coordinator at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you your review. We're happy to know that you enjoyed so many things about our resort and team members. We appreciate you naming those associates who made it extra special for your return visit.

Come back 'home' soon!

Regards,
Tara Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We visited the Jewel from Thanksgiving through December 3rd. This was our first time in Jamaica. We went to celebrate a late 1yr wedding anniversary. When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff. Every single one of the staff was always happy and willing to assist with anything you may need. Right from the start we felt very comfortable here. In fact it felt like a 2nd home to us. We have been to other places and countries but never felt as comfortable as we did here. The rooms and property were very clean. The grounds people and room attendants were constantly cleaning and making sure everything was nice. The food was excellent. There wasn't a single food item that I tried that I did not like. All the food tasted so fresh and very flavorful. I was very surprised to see that they even had Thanksgiving dinner there on Thanksgiving day for their American guests. The turkey they served was the best I have had by far. I read some reviews that the food was bland and the drinks were watered down. Don't believe it! The drinks were not even close to being watered down. As a matter a fact there was one bar that I streeted clear of because the bartender made them a little too strong for my taste. I even read some reviews that the food portions were small. Again maybe the portions were small to them but were normal portion size to me. Besides it's ALL INCLUSIVE so if you want more or want something else get more or order more. There is no limit. The pools were also very clean. We loved the private beach. The beach was nice. Water was calm and clean. Soft sand. And they had small kayaks, catamarans and paddle boards you could use for free. If you didn't know how to use it there was staff there that showed you. There was staff that came out on the beach and served you there as well as the pool. Drinks and food. One staff member even introduced us to Jamaican sugar cane. It was pretty good. We were here the day the power went out. It wasn't such a big deal. The was water still on so we got showers went to breakfast and spent the day on the beach. We decided to head back in to shower after the beach and learned the power was still out so we headed back out to the beach and then to the pool. After a while we headed back, but still no power. So we changed into some clothes and headed to dinner. We decided to try the Italian restaurant. The food was very good. Who would of thought great italian food in Jamaica. But it was. I read claims that there was no food to eat the day the power went out. All lies. We ate at the italian restaurant and the buffet and the pizza place in the courtyard was open as well. The staff was frantically working all day trying to restore it. Some didn't even take a break and worked the entire day trying to get things restored for us. They somehow were able to get a tractor trailer with an enormous power generator delivered to the resort to fix things. Sometime before 9pm the power and water was restored. It was not 24hrs like some have claimed in their reviews. All lies. The entertainment was good as well. The staff members again were all friendly and worked hard. There was some that often joked around with us. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much. We have already said we will return again! We love the Jewel and were very pleased.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhodeIslander04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaineG, Guest Services Coordinator at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It's nice to know that our efforts during the outage were appreciated but we do apologize for the inconvenience it caused.

We are glad you enjoyed so much about our resort and hope that you come and see us soon.

Regards,
Tara Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I can't express how well we felt the power outage situation was handled while we were there. I have read many of the preceeding reviews where people complained about their perception of adversity and I disagree completely. The outage was not just within the resort, it was 1/4 of the island. The resort had nothing to do with it. It was a beautiful day, the staff fed us perfectly well and provided us with all the drinks we wanted, we had the best steel drum show I've ever seen that evening...did we really suffer???? Not at all. I commend the staff and management for everything they did during an unfortunate experience.

Morris and Roger were outstanding bartenders and Shanna was so sweet at the Aquamarina Grill! Vidal took us on the best Hobie Cat tour and probably took the best pictures of our whole trip! The front desk girls were wonderfully nice and helpful and a lot of fun to chat with!

Thank you for a glorious, relaxing vacation!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sharyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaineG, Guest Services Coordinator at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Sharyn,

Thank you for your review. We again apologize for that outage but we're happy that you were not too inconvenienced by it. Thank you also for pointing out those team members that made it special for you.

Regards,
Tara Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews