We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Nearby Hotels
$76
$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Beach Resort(St. Ann's Bay)
$91
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Jamaica(Ocho Rios)
$606
$512
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rooms Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,069)
Filter reviews
6,069 results
Traveler rating
3,542
1,683
563
192
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,542
1,683
563
192
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond roompier dinnerblue holejade samuraicoral cafemountain viewentertainment staffpizza ovenocho riosjerk chickenwrapspizza placethe grillitalian restaurantpiano barnature walkour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,368 - 4,373 of 6,069 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had an awesome week in January at the Jewel Dunn's River! The resort is just the right size, it's got everything you need & want for a vacation, but it's small enough that nothing is a far walk. Yes, the beach is small, but getting chairs at the beach or pool was never a problem. There are two pools, one that is more chill and the other is where they have the daily entertainment. Both have big swim up bars. We hung out by the more chill pool all week, but if you are interested, they have activities going on at the other pool or on the beach all day long and the entertainment staff is GREAT! The resort was clean and well-maintained. The staff is constantly walking around sweeping up leaves and making sure everything looks perfect. There is also a lot of security walking the grounds, which made us feel very secure and comfortable.

The staff is awesome, especially the bartenders and servers (Ephraim, Damitri, Cornell, Kevin, Maurice, Garth..). TIP THE STAFF!!! We generally tipped anyone that went "above & beyond", which was most of the staff we dealt with! The staff is wonderful and they take care of you.. they deserve a tip!!

The food is good. We really enjoyed dinner at Moonstone Italian. Jade Samurai (hibachi grill) was a lot of fun and the food was pretty good too. We weren't impressed with dinner at Platinum. The buffet is good and has a pretty wide selection of food and the pizza is awesome! We ate that nearly every day! In the week we were there, the resort hosted a really fun beach party and on Friday night there was dinner on the pier. The beach party was a lot of fun and the food they served was really good. That may have been our favorite meal of the week! After dinner the entertainment staff put on a show, which we really enjoyed. Dinner on the pier was top notch too.

We were in Jamaica to work on completing our Scuba certification and the Dive Shop/water sports staff at the resort is FANTASTIC! We went diving with Hopeton and Jerry all week and they are awesome!!!

We stayed in an Emerald Lanai room, which was just fine for us. The bathroom was rather tiny, but that wasn't a deal breaker since we didn't hang out in the bathroom all day! They keep a fridge in the room stocked with water, juices, and sodas.

Overall, very highly recommend this resort!! You will be happy with your choice and have an amazing, relaxing time!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. It was our pleasure to have hosted you, and thanks for recognizing the staff members that you mentioned.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Such a great trip!! The grounds and amenities were beautiful and clean. We stayed in one of the emerald lanai rooms overlooking the gardens and were so impressed with the room. The staff were so friendly and could help you with just about any request. The food was good and there was plenty to choose from. We went for 5 days in the beginning of January and the weather was perfect, warm with a great breeze. There was so much to do at the resort but was small enough that staff and guests can interact. Everyone was so easygoing and extremely polite. We would definitely plan a return trip to the Jewel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123JS456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you and appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. It was our pleasure and hoping to host you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After having a few bad experiences with the Sandals chain we decided to try a new group out, and I have to say the Jewel exceeded any expectations we had. The service and happy atmosphere was very appealing and made for a great 9 day holiday. We tried something different this time and paid the extra for butler service and suite. To start the room was 5 star complete with dining space, living room, 2 bathrooms, and a huge bedroom. We also enjoyed the 2 patios that came with the room one faced the ocean, the other overlooked the pool area (which is very well maintained and clean). Now to make comment on the butler service Fabian and his staff which included Mario, Larnelle, and Desmond made our stay even better. We would recommend this service these fellows went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. They gave us a cell phone to keep in touch with them and whenever we called they were prompt and professional. The food is good lots of options, I really liked the pizza for lunch and the Jade Samurai, as well as Platinum at night were just excellent. I had an allergenic reaction to a bee sting and had the best attention from the nurse, when things were not getting better she had a doctor on site within 1 hour he gave me the meds I needed and I was good as new the next day. We also enjoyed the piano bar and its bartender Roger he was friendly, fun, and made our stay feel like home. We did a few things going to and from the resort that also made for a easy trip, we rented a private car from Jamaica Tours Ltd the driver was great he even stopped and showed us a great local place with cold beer, and solid Jerk Chicken. The nice thing with this service is that you come and go when you want to maximize time at the resort. We also recommend the Bob Marley tour, it was a great way to see the country as it takes you way up into the mountains. Also when departing we used the Mobay lounge at Sangsters airport a great way to avoid lines when going through security, and the lounge itself is a nice place to relax have a light snack and a beer before departure. So all in all the Jewel was a fabulous experience, unlike our recent trips to Sandals we didn't have to fight for the room we booked, and the experience was better to be honest. Don't forget to bring tip money lots of one dollar bills, it is ok to tip and they really appreciate it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Dean L

Thank you and it was our pleasure to have hosted you, and appreciate you taking the time to list the staff members that went above and beyond for you during your stay. This will be shared with them to continue encouraging them to deliver the service of excellence. Thanks again and happy that we are your new vacation destination choice of hotel in Jamaica.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This resort is amazing! It is smaller but the staff is amazing, They not only remember your name but will bend over backwards for you.I recomend taking the nature walk with Leabert, he really knows his stuff and you learn so much! The entertainment is great the food is amazing. At the buffet they have a daily Jamaican dish and all the resturants are great too! We went here on our honeymoon and plan to go back every year.We felt very at home and their prices arent bad. This is one of the best resorts in Ocho Rios!

Room Tip: The ocean and Moutian view rooms arent great unless you get a room on a higher floor. The mountian view rooms face the parking lot and the ocean view faces the pools where all the entertainment is.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SummerRose21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and it was our pleasure to have hosted you, and happy that you enjoyed our resort and consider us to be one of teh best in Ocho Rios. Hoping to see you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just returned from our stay in Jamaica, and it was hard to return to our cold winter! We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Jewel!
We booked our trip back in November, and I was a little concerned as I read some of the negative reviews as our trip approached. I should not have been worried, the resort is very nice and well taken care of.
We took the shuttle included in the price of our hotel, and yes, it did take about two hours to get to the hotel. However, it is worth the drive, the resort is further away from busier resort areas and is quieter.
We were met in the lobby by hotel staff with cold washcloths and the drink of the day with a greeting of "welcome home". Check in took about ten minutes and we were escorted to our room.
We stayed in the Emerald lanai and it is one of the basic rooms, it was in the far side of the resort and our room was blissfully quiet. It is a smaller room than we are used to in some of the large resorts in Rivera Maya in Mexico,however, this is Jamaica, and we expected things to be different. The bathroom IS small, but how much time do you need to spend in it anyway? We spent our time out and about in the resort. The room was exceptionally clean (I am very picky about this), and the housekeeping staff did an outstanding job. The resort itself and the beach are also well kept.
The staff was very friendly and helpful with a few exceptions (everyone has a bad day).
We would like to thank the entertainment staff who was so much fun, especially Happy Feet whose company we greatly enjoyed. The bartenders were also great and we would like to thank Garnet for great service and for sharing some of his Jamaican culture with us (we are all the same!).
I was disappointed to see very few people tipping for great service, the staff works very hard and they appreciate the recognition of good service.
We did take one excursion, a half day trip to Ocho Rios, the botanical gardens,and Dunn's River Falls. It was fun, but we decided that we could have taken a taxi and gone to the falls and into Ocho Rios to shop, and it would have cost the same or less. The last day we were there, we took a taxi with Rusty (he is contracted with the resort) and he took us to Scothie's (a local jerk chicken restaurant) and then into Ocho Rios. Rusty is very helpful and has lots of suggestions for activities at local areas that tourists don't know about. Rusty charges about $30 for a trip into Ocho Rios. We felt very safe with him and he waits for you while you are shopping.
The food at the resort is pretty good, we especially enjoyed the Jade restaurant and the pizza place. The drinks are good and they use high end liquor, and plenty of it. Ask for a Jamaican smile, it was one of our favorites!
We also enjoyed dinner on the beach and the following beach party. The entertainment was excellent!
One thing to be aware of upon check in, they want to pre charge your credit card $200, and it will not come off your card for up to 14 days or they want a $200 cash deposit. They say that it is for incidentals or if you have spa services. We have never had a resort do this before, only cruise ships. We chose to do the cash deposit, and upon check out, they didn't have the cash ready at the desk and told us that it would take 15 minutes to get it. It caused a temporary stressful moment because the shuttle to the airport was coming. We did get the money back at the last minute, just a lesson to us not to wait until the last minute to check out.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. We have told several of our friends about the Jewel and they are planning too go to the Jewel on their next vacation.
Thanks to all of the staff!

Room Tip: We had a basic room in the Emerald Lanai (5200's room#s). It suited us fine. If you want a room with a view or bigger bathroom, you will want to upgrade.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hobbytraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine G, Guest Relations Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and happy that you felt at home on your first trip to Jamaica. I must apologise if you were not aware of the deposit at check in and the terms of conditions, and also for the time frame it took to get the refund. Am happy thou that despite the minor clitch, you have recommended our resort and hoping to host you again soon.

Regards

Daine Golaube
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews