We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Nearby Hotels
$81
$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Beach Resort(St. Ann's Bay)
$110
$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$108
$102
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Jamaica(Ocho Rios)
$528
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rooms Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,117)
Filter reviews
6,117 results
Traveler rating
3,569
1,691
569
195
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,569
1,691
569
195
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond roompier dinnerblue holejade samuraicoral cafemountain viewentertainment staffpizza ovenocho riosjerk chickenwrapspizza placethe grillitalian restaurantpiano barnature walkour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
5,800 - 5,805 of 6,117 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2011

It has taken me a little while to write the review, as I am still wishing that I was still there... I will list in priority what impressed me about the resort.
1. Staff, Staff, Staff (especially Garnet, Jeff, Sanya, Chapingne (s.p.) and Bauer. They made our trip the best we ever could expect.
2. Food, especially the Italian restaurant all tho all of them were wonderful.
3. The Room was very nice (the bathroom was a little too tiny). But then how much time to sepnd there. The bed was very comfortable and turn down at night was a nice touch.
4. The pools were cool but still refreshing. As far as the beach lovely but would have liked to take some longs walks, but that is beyond everyones control.

So all in all wish we were still there and thanks to the STAFF...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georges051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol B, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Good day, due to glitches in our computer system your comments were not seen or responded to previously. The team at The Jewel Dunn’s River wish to apologize for this and want to express our appreciation for your feedback. Please be assured that we have now corrected the computer glitch and thank you for your comments. We certainly appreciate that you took the time to give us you your feedback as we continue to ensure our service delivery and product exceed your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Having traveled extensively throughout the Caribbean including many all inclusive resorts I have to say this was one of the best. The location is absolutely gorgeous as it is 5 minutes from Dunn's River Falls and only 10 minutes from Ocho Rios. The service was very prompt and always friendly. The food was excellent and had a nice cross section of familiar and local flavors. Transportation was easy and the ride in along the coast was amazing. Activities on property were fun (especially the water sports area) and the excursions were well organized and very reasonably priced. If you go you can't miss the sailing. The staff will take you out if you don't know how to sail. Another must see is obviously Dunn's River Falls; challenging but well worth it. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol B, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Good day, due to glitches in our computer system your comments were not seen or responded to previously. The team at The Jewel Dunn’s River wish to apologize for this and want to express our appreciation for your feedback. Please be assured that we have now corrected the computer glitch and thank you for your comments. We certainly appreciate that you took the time to give us you your feedback as we continue to ensure our service delivery and product exceed your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

My husband and I went to the Jewel in Feb with 5 other couples, as 1 of the couples was getting married!! The resort is stunning! As a small resort the intimacy was great, getting to know and recognize staff and other guests was great. The food was fantastic (but don't take my word for it, I never care what other say about food because everyone has different tastes) - I never had a meal I didn't like - well most of it anyway...the pizza hut was great - wish it was open later tho, and the jerk chicken grill was sooo yum, and open all night!!! The beach was small but well kept, lots of chairs - pools were cool, which was mor than welcome on the hottest days. Night life - horrible!!!! For some reason the disco was empty every night, the talent show was nice on the one night and there was one other night that was enjoyable, but of the 6 nights we were there that was pretty much it, if you were looking for night life beyond a person singing old songs. The Entertainment staff were AWESOME! They definately made our stay that much more enjoyable! Kristin, Duran, Starr, Sasha, had to work their butts off to get people involved in the games and activities...which were great when they got enough people to do them. (Miss Yas) They learned all of us by name, and sought us out when something was going on that they thought we would enjoy. Drinks were great, high end labels as well as local flavour! Bar tenders entertaining, but if you want quick service Cash tips make you king! Make sure you all try a Jamaican Smile drink...mmm yummmy!!
Overall a beautiful spot, but more geared for relaxing getaway, not so much for partying...although any trip is what you make it!!!! Wemade it GREAT!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0ckeym0m0f2b0ys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeweldunns, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your vacation with us at The Jewel Dunn’s River Beach Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of our property. We take all comments seriously and we are reevaluating our night time entertainment to try and make it more appealing to all our guests.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Scott Robbins
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

As this was our first winter vacation and all inclusive resort we were not sure of what to expect. Jamaica was where we were going but where to stay? Different stories from our friends were leaving us somewhat skeptical of what to expect once we got there. 1st thing we had to consider was our budget, so that narrowed the field, then it was to research the reviews of the resorts in the running. Upon reading the reviews for the Jewel the 1st thing that caught my attention was the quick response from Scott (manager) to the negative reviews (I thnik there were 2 and very petty at that; straws too short, give me a break!), 2nd was all of the great reviews I read from people who had just returned.
We spent 12 days at the Jewel and from reading all of the reviews to date, there is only 1 thing left to say is; because of the way we were treated at this resort, it has made it impossible for us to think about going anywhere else for fear of being dissapointed. Scott, you and your staff made us feel like part of your family and we will never forget our experience we had at your resort.
Keep our room available for us as we will be seeing you next winter(budget permitting) and many winters to come.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdc3172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHN M, Hotel Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Good day,

Due to glitches in our computer system your comments were not seen or responded to previously. The team at The Jewel Dunn’s River wish to apologize for this and want to express our appreciation for your feedback.

Please be assured that we have now corrected the computer glitch and thank you for your comments. We certainly appreciate that you took the time to give us you your feedback as we continue to ensure our service delivery and product exceed your expectations.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again at our resort.

John M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

My husband and I have previously not been great fans of all inclusive resorts, but our wonderful experience at the Jewel in mid February helped to win us over. My first positive impression came from reading the questions about Jewell on this forum, which Scott, the general manager, would answer directly. He promised one questioner to personally bring a beach chair to her if she couldn't find one. Once we arrived, we were charmed by Scott's "love my job" attitude and seemingly rather constant availability.
Our rooms were lovely and extremely clean and comfortable. We really appreciated the big walk in closet; the beautiful tile work in the bathroom: the arched doorways; ocean view: and best of all....the most comfortable bed ever. (if you have experienced the mattresses in Mexico...you know what I'm talking about!) It was fun to return to the room in the evening to a turned down bed with romantic music playing on the radio. A real plus was good water pressure and never a lack of hot water!!!!
We were surprised to find that the small size of the property created a wonderful intimacy with other guests and staff. After the 1st day, we were called by name by some of the staff. It was wonderful to make connections with guests and have a opportunity to run into them again the next day. We loved the late afternoon gathering in the hot tub with our drinks of choice...all giving thanks for having escaped the ravages of winter.
The property is beautifully landscaped with blooming plants, statues, and a very cool waterfall. Leaburt, the head gardener, does a wonderful tour of the grounds, which was delightful and very informative....highly recommended!
Over-all, we found the food to be really excellent with very creative presentations. The breakfast buffet was a little limited comparatively, but I never got bored with it. I can highly recommend the turf and surfat the Platinum. On several occasions, we found that we had to wait for a table or encountered slow service, but what the heck...we're on vacation...whats our rush? There was always a bar close by! Our Japanese dinner event was also great fun with our chef, Chris Rock, and the food was excellent. At the outside grill, we enjoyed the jerk chicken and pork. Drinks also were very good. White wine was ok; red wine not so good. Top quality spirits were generally available for those who appreciate such things. I always found the bartenders willing to add additional liquor to my drink when I requested.
The beach was small, but quite clean and adequate for my purposes. We had some wonderful catamaran rides with Vidal who sang to us in his glorious baritone voice as he commanded the sails.
The staff was superb....friendly, helpful, smiling! We felt spoiled in short order. We enjoyed the staff/guest talent show.
Just a few cons that were not the direct responsibility of the Jewel: We missed having an extended open beach to walk. We found the sightseeing excursions to be a bit pricey and there was no convenient or inexpensive way to get off the property on our own.
Luckily, we were pretty happy to just stay where we were!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueE42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol B, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Good day, due to glitches in our computer system your comments were not seen or responded to previously. The team at The Jewel Dunn’s River wish to apologize for this and want to express our appreciation for your feedback. Please be assured that we have now corrected the computer glitch and thank you for your comments. We certainly appreciate that you took the time to give us you your feedback as we continue to ensure our service delivery and product exceed your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews