We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic trip down a beautiful river”

Braco Adventure Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Falmouth Shore Excursion: Jamaica River-Tubing Adventure on the Rio Bueno
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Duncans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the thrill of Braco Adventure Tours offering private waterfall tours, tubing, river boarding, horse riding on land and sea, kayaking, inflatable river rafting, hiking and biking.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Scenic trip down a beautiful river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I along with another couple kayaked down the Rio Bueno last week on an excursion booked through Braco. Our guides, Quwayne and Troy met us on arrival, equipped us with the necessary gear then took us on a hike up the river to view some waterfalls. It was a lovely hike and both of these gentlemen were knowledgeable about the area and very attentive in trying to make sure we didn't slip while making our way over the rocks in the river during our hike.

The trip down the river was beautiful. We did not find it at all difficult but we are all experienced river kayakers. We really enjoyed ending the trip in the Caribbean Sea and paddling to a beach. It was a very nice way to end the trip. Both Quwayne and Troy continued to be attentive all the way down the river. One led and the other brought up the rear. I really appreciated that it was just the four of us and the two guides in our group.

I would recommend Braco if you want to do something other than just go to the beach while in Jamaica. The tour only takes a couple of hours so there is still plenty of time to do other activities as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RabidVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    14
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Minnesota
1 review
“Rio Beuno River Rafting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was a great excursion that we did on our cruise stop in jamaica. Staff and tour guide were excellent. Very relaxing with very little paddling required. The Scenery was Beautiful, the Rope Swing was a Awesome and the Private Beach after was breathtaking. We enjoyed some authentic Jerk Chicken followed up with some rum punch and red stripe beer. We got some great photos from the photographer on a CD after and bring a waterproof camera if you have one, (GoPro worked awesome for it).

Would definitely do it again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“River Rafting on the Rio Bueno”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is by far the best shore excursion I have ever taken. The staff were very professional and they ensured that everyone was having lots of fun every step of the way. This is truly a FUN-FILLED adventure! Melanie provided excellent customer service - even after we got back home. I would recommend this to everyone who visits Jamaica.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hayden W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rafting on the Rio Bueno”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was a truly fantastic expedience. Four of us rafted down the River amid beautiful scenery together with our guide Robert, a friendly and knowledgeable guide. It was huge fun, extremely safe and well,organised. There is a photographer hiding round corners with a cd full of great pictures for purchase as well as individual photographs. At the end of the winding River, a boat tugged us across the bay to a small, beautiful beach which ended our tour. Will certainly do this again when next in Jamaica.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SheilaOxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“River Rafting on the Rio Beuno: Scenic but Short and not for the Thrill-Seeker”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My family of 5 went on the River Rapids Adventure in August. We booked this excursion as a tour package together with Braco’s Horse Ride ‘N’ Swim. A driver (arranged by Braco) picked us up from our resort in Montego Bay and was our private driver for the day. After our Horse Ride “N” Swim adventure, our driver took us to Bengal Bay, a private beach, where he served us delicious boxed lunches of fried chicken with rice and beans and coleslaw. (Lunch was included with the price of this combination tour).

After lunch our driver took us to the start of our River Rapids Adventure where we met our friendly and humorous rafting guide and captain, Garth.

After Garth suited us into helmets and lifejackets we followed him over a swinging foot bridge, through the Jamaican jungle and along the river. Along the way Garth told us stories while pointing out an unusual, knobby tree and a large termite mound located high up in another tree. After a short walk, and stopping to get our photo taken by a small waterfall, we climbed onboard an inflatable blue raft and soon were on our way for our river rapids adventure. The rapids were small and few and although it was fun making a splash over them, it was not what we could call a thrilling experience. However the flowing water amidst the backdrop of an exotic Jamaican jungle where tropical birds flitted about, created an absolutely beautiful and tranquil scene.

During our adventure down the river, Garth entertained us by singing Bob Marley songs, having us solve riddles and also by falling overboard! That’s right, our Captain temporarily deserted us when he flipped out of the raft and landed with a splash in the river! Garth explained to us that he fell overboard on purpose in order to prevent the raft from tipping over—I told you he had a good sense of humor!

After 16 minutes of riding small rapids and paddling along the scenic river, we reached the spot known as the half way point. Here we stopped to swing from a rope and plunge into the cool river water while watching local children jump off a high wall on the side of the road. After enjoying the refreshing river water, we climbed back onboard our inflatable raft and continued on for another 10 minutes. We passed under an old Colonial Bridge and the last set of rapids before we reached the end of the river. Here we were picked up by a speed boat that towed us out of the Rio Bueno River and into the Caribbean Sea. The ride over the ocean waves while meandering in and out of a dock was a fun experience and before we knew it, we were back on the shores of Bengal Beach where our driver was waiting for us.

In general, we found this excursion to be very short and we were disappointed that the actual amount of time spent rafting was completed in less than 30 minutes. On top of that we did not find this river rapids adventure to be that thrilling. Besides a few low-grade rapids, the majority of our excursion down the river was on mild, calm waters.

I had read reviews about professional photos being taken during the river rafting adventure. There was no one taking photos the day we were there, so the opportunity for us to purchase a professional photo or video of our adventure down the Rio Bueno was not even an option. I had also read that souvenirs, snacks and refreshments would be available to purchase at the beach, but again there was nothing available the day we were there.

Braco Adventure Tours runs a very professional and safety-oriented operation. Their equipment was in excellent condition and participants are required to wear a lifejacket and helmet at all times. Although we were required to adhere to this, it was a wonder why our captain did not?

Overall, paddling and floating down the scenic Rio Bueno River is a safe and enjoyable activity for the entire family to experience, however this excursion is short and the few low-grade rapids are sure to disappoint the fun-seeker who is looking for more of a thrilling white-water rapid adventure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Braco Adventure Tours also viewed

Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Braco Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing