We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Degustation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Commons

The Commons
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Degustation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We dined here for a special birthday. We had phoned ahead and enquired and the staff advised that they did do a degustation menu, even though it wasn't advertised. The food was exquisite and the wine matches just left us wanting more. If you're looking for somewhere special, have time to luxuriate in the delicacies - then don't look past The Commons!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K0neW0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    54
    22
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Light and very Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were going to have a full meal, but as we were not very hungry opted for a Tapas type meal, which was great. Service excellent, the young waiters were helpful and chatty, the food beautiful, many flavours well presented,dessert fab. An enjoyable evening.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cher99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place to eat on the shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Food is amazing Fantastic spot this really is the best place to eat on the shore, the outdoor area is just lovely, the staff are friendly and helpful .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Nz
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What's Happened to The Commons?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went today with group of friends for lunch - we eat here once a month as a small group and have always been more than happy with our meals and service. Being a lovely warm day we sat in the central courtyard.
I asked for my usual favourite glass of wine but was told it was no longer on the menu. I chose another, and the waitress came back with "I'm sorry that wine is out of stock today". So I chose wine number three and was met with the same reply! On I went to wine number four - thought I'd try a glass of bubbles instead (one of only two on the menu sold by the glass) - off went the waitress, then came back with … you guessed it … they'd "run-out" of that one too. Maybe I'd have some luck with choice number five? Bingo - I finally had a glass of wine. But wait, there was a dark foreign object stuck to the inside the glass - so back it went. Replacement glass of wine quickly arrived and … would you believe it … this glass too was dirty and sent back. By this stage all I felt like drinking was water and I wasn't going to attempt a try for glass number seven, but my friend took it back and complained on my behalf.
As compensation for the "wine scenario" we were given a plate of six small slices of bread and 2 small dips.
Our meals were ok - certainly didn't have any "wow" factor.
The "background" music was so loud outside we could barely hear ourselves talking. Such a turn-off. Other tables were looking fed-up at waiting so long for service and attention from waiting staff. We ourselves had to direct waiting staff to other tables that were requiring their attention, as they didn't seem to notice raised hands at all.
Such a shame to see it so disorganized, understaffed and understocked.
All in all a very disappointing visit. Thank goodness there are several other good eateries nearby which we will be frequenting in the future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jandm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Updated menu worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have had two light meals at The Commons in the last week. This is a large bar and restaurant complex, with a more formal dining area upstairs. You can choose from various seating options - outdoors in the sunny courtyard, inside or on the deck facing the sea (agree the building in front needs to go). Their tapas menu (try the chickpea fritters) is now supplemented by a range of light meals with a price range of $16 - $23. The range is excellent and the meals are refreshing - especially the Coconut Prawns - superb. Other options we tried are Thai Beef Salad and Linguini with squid and lemon. Extensive wine list with wine by the glass, friendly consistent service and background music at the right level. Great to have a place like this back in Takapuna.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsRemy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Commons also viewed

North Shore City, Auckland Region
North Shore City, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing