We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Horizon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Horizon Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Christina Lake
Spokane WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We scheduled a last minute getaway for the Labor Day Weekend and so I was very happy to get a room at such late notice. The clerk gave me a good deal on a room with a kitchen and separate bedroom. It was just what we needed. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. There was a continental breakfast with fresh fruits, yogurt and toast. They had two selections of delicious homemade muffins as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBotzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    26
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
45
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We arrived after dark & owner guided us to our room. The room is WC accessible with an awesome wheel-in shower. All windows opened so there was a cross breeze and we didn't need the a/c. Everything super clean. Lots of towels. TV & Internet were down due to huge thunderstorm the previous night. We saw Shaw trucks in the 'hood over the 2 days we stayed. Sandy beaches close by. One was literally a 2 minute walk away. Christina Lake is clean and warm, so we stayed in for ages. The continental breakfast was great - yum fresh blueberries. Other guests were friendly and relaxed, I got the impression that some were regulars. We all agree that The New Horizon Motel is a great place to stay, with or without kids.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at a variety of places throughout our trip in Canada and the New Horizon Motel exceeded our expectations for motel accommodation. The complex is spotless, gardens beautifully maintained, there are lots of extras that you would not expect to find at a Motel including a fresh, light breakfast. The owners are extremely helpful and thoughtful. I can confirm the positive reviews are accurate and we will recommend the New Horizon Motel to friends.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sparkle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very pleasant, hard working hosts! We took a trip down memory lane visiting Christina Lake this past week. We spent about 15 years camping at the Texas Creek Provincial Campground every summer when our kids were kids! As our camping days are long over, we decided to stay a couple nights at the New Horizon, based on the positive trip advisor reviews. You can't go wrong with the New Horizon - very clean and spacious with a great bed, fast internet and complementary continental breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Marie_Calary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and i just spent five nights in a king bed suite in the new section of the New Horizon Motel and can verify all the other wonderful reviews here. The owners, Daniel and his wife, are very conscientious, hardworking, and eager to make their residents happy. While in many ways it's a standard motel, it isn't in terms of the time and energy they put into it. They have high-quality products inside and outside the rooms. Though we didn't use any of the gas grills, there were at least four modern-lookng ones on the ground level available for use. It isn't standard either in terms of soundproofing between units. I was amazed that I didn't hear the people staying on either side of us. The only noises come from people talking outside on occasion or the plumbing. It's the first hotel/motel that I have no complaint about. The owners have thought of everything one might need while staying there, including pencil and paper in the desk drawer. I just hope they can stay in business given that their main traffic happens in July and August. Every morning we looked forward to eating our healthy breakfast of a wide assortment of fruit, toasted breads of all kinds, muffins on occasion, yoghurt, coffee/tea, and juices on the patio.

Room Tip: We liked being on the upper level and enjoyed sipping wine on our balcony. It felt more private than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed one night for a business trip. The motel is run by one of the nicest couples you will ever meet. The wifi works great for those who value this while being out of town. My room was large, clean with a comfortable bed. When I went to the main building for breakfast the owners were entertaining an 8 month old baby so the parents could have breakfast. The location is easy to find as it is right off the highway, close to the local drug store and grocery store.

Room Tip: There are two buildings, one at the front which you can access from street level, good for those who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Enjoyed our one-night stay at this very quiet, comfortable, clean motel. The hosts were very caring, polite, attentive, and hospitable. It was such a pleasure to walk into an air-conditioned room given the temp outdoors. The grounds are well looked after. The BBQ in front of our unit was in very good shape. The entire bathroom looks like it was recently renovated. It was spick and span. It's very clear that the owners take pride in this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christina Lake
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#3 of 6 in Christina Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#7 of 14 in Grand Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
24.3 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
10.7 mi away
Johnny's Motel
Johnny's Motel
#1 of 14 in Grand Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
11.1 mi away
Western Traveller Motel
Western Traveller Motel
#3 of 14 in Grand Forks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Horizon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Horizon Motel

Property: New Horizon Motel
Address: 2037 Hunter Frontage Rd, Christina Lake, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks > Christina Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Christina Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Horizon Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 25 Travelers' Choice Award Winners in Canada. A BC Select Property located at the east entrance of Christina Lake community. Executive King or double queen rooms or suites, some Jacuzzi tubs, Free WiFi & complimentary continental breakfast, specialize in golf packages, family holidays & reunions, select corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your New Horizon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing