We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless”
Review of New Horizon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Horizon Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Christina Lake
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This motel is obviously very well cared for - the rooms and outside we're meticulously clean & the price included fruit/homemade muffin/toast/ cereals for breakfast. A little out of the centre of Christina Lake but well worth it. Would definitely stay again

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 117 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our Peewee hockey team just returned from staying here for the week of Provincials. Daniel and Helena went out of their way to help us organize our stay and provided all kinds of outdoor activities to keep the kids occupied. They would get up and make breakfast early for us which was outstanding. We cooked for the everyone during the week, they had fully equipped kitchens and BBQ's that we could use. The hotel was clean, in a great location, and the rates are unbeatable. They made us feel at home and bent over backwards to make our stay so much better. I would recommend this motel to anyone and would stay there again in a minute. The newly renovated rooms were huge and made it easy to stay there with a family of 5. Thanks again for all that you did, it helped us be as successful as we were.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhorizonmotel, Owner at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding the routine duties we have to provide to our guests. More importantly, we were so happy and quite impressed that the team we were hosting was keep winning every game. Congratulations for winning the championship!! We are proud of your team.
Thanks again every family for choosing our motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It has been 16 months since our first stay at New Horizon Motel. We only had one night to stay this time but it was just like going home. Daniel and Helena (the owners) greated my wife and I by name when we arrived to check-in. The room was very clean and very comfortable and the rates are a steal! The breakfast was an amazing selection of fresh fruits, yogurts, fresh baked muffins and assorted breads for toast. Our son had made a desk ornament for the hotel on our last visit and Daniel was proud to show him that it still sat in a place on honor. We would highly reccomend New Horizon if you are in the Christina Lake/Grand Forks area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkTCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhorizonmotel, Owner at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hello Mark & Cathy
Thank you so much for choosing our motel second time. We talked about your wonderful family and believed once again that children learn through their parents. Your should be proud of your son, John, and along with two daughters. They were exceptional. We are going to keep the little piece of artwork forever at our motel. In case people ask about it, we are going to tell them about your wonderful family. Thanks again. All the best!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in a small suite for one night. The hospitality was surprisingly warm and welcoming. The room was warm and comfortable. The breakfast was very good, especially the homemade muffins. The gentleman managing the motel provided us with maps and gave us some great places to visit. It was truly a wonderful getaway for my husband and I. We plan on returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KamilaKylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhorizonmotel, Owner at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your precious time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It was wonderful to hear the positive opinion from our guests. We hope we could see you again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

On our way home, we ended up staying at this motel because of heavy snow. Located next to the highway, it was a convenient choice. The bed was clean, warm, and cozy. In the morning we were provided with delicious home made muffins, fresh fruits, yogurt, and warm coffee. Also, the owners were extremely hospitable. My husband and I will definitely go back in the warmer seasons!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at this motel overnight on our way back home. It was more than what we expected for an overnight stay. Run by a sweet couple, offering a hospitable stay like you are their family. The room was nice and quiet in the newer part of the motel. It had everything you needed and more. We enjoyed the breakfast they serve- consisting of muffins, yogurt, fresh fruit, all kinds of bread and more. It was a nice treat before we headed for another long drive. We absolutely recommend this place for anyone. Would definitely stop by here again or make a trip down to the lake in the summer!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaitliny374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in a King room at the back of the property. The room was well equipped, clean and quiet. We had a few afternoon drinks on the patio outside our room - quite pleasant, but the outlook was a neighbour's 'rustic' backyard. In a small village like this, I half expected the property to overlook the lake. No such luck. There is access to the lake not far from the motel, but it was far from pleasant, squeezed as it was between two private properties. Best access to the lake is from a Provincial Park towards the other side of the village. The motel is on the outskirts of the village, necessitating a short drive for supplies and meals. We had a Thanksgiving dinner at the Pub. Breakfast was in a small room in back of reception and was quite nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrungaSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christina Lake
12 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#6 of 14 in Grand Forks
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#2 of 6 in Christina Lake
58 reviews
24.3 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
80 reviews
11.1 mi away
Western Traveller Motel
Western Traveller Motel
#7 of 14 in Grand Forks
103 reviews
10.2 mi away
Johnny's Motel
Johnny's Motel
#1 of 14 in Grand Forks
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Horizon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Horizon Motel

Address: 2037 Hunter Frontage Rd, Christina Lake, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1E2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks > Christina Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Christina Lake
Price Range: $73 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Horizon Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 25 Travelers' Choice Award Winners in Canada. A BC Select Property located at the east entrance of Christina Lake community. Executive King or double queen rooms or suites, some Jacuzzi tubs, Free WiFi & complimentary continental breakfast, specialize in golf packages, family holidays & reunions, select corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your New Horizon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing