We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we always go back”
Review of New Horizon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Horizon Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Christina Lake
Reviewed May 15, 2012

we have stayed at the New Horizon Motel more than several times, the atmosphere, the hospitality, just the whole pakage of freiendship and feeling like you belong is what i feel at the new horizon. the rooms are very clean , you have so many options fron the one queen , to king to kitchenette, to the exsecutive suites with jacusi tubs. it like your at home , they offer bbqs for usage , nice lawn for relaxing , even a vollyball net was up on the grass for us last year. I cant say enough about the place love it , but to top it off is Daniel and Helena , always there to help and look after you, there was nothing they wouldnt go out of their way to do for us , and i cant forget the breakfeast , very fresh and complete , do ask Helena for a banana muffin , wow they are good , i could take a few of those home . The New Horizen Motel is an excellent place to get away from it all , from an overnight to a complete vacation they can look after you completely , with great access to all amenities and the warmest lake in western canada (christina Lake) its the perfect spot . oh yes we will be back . Devon and Michelle

Room Tip: many options , there is the rustic kitchenets with a seperate bed room , nice king bed rooms with j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhorizonmotel, Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words!! Whenever we hear nice words about our motel, we take it as the encouragement to to do better next time. Moreover, thank you so much for rreminding us about the Volly Ball net in the rear garden last year. We simply forgot to set it up again this Spring. After getting the reminder, we have just finished setting up the Volly Ball net as well as the Ladder Ball nets in the rear garden. Please enjoy the games when you visit us again next time. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 117 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

After a long and rainy drive it was such a nice treat to have such a warm and caring welcome. He really went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. He had already researched what hockey game was playing and had suggestions on what we could do. Great muffins.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELLCranbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Hello,

We truly appreciate your kind words about our motel in TripAdviser review site. We are sure that you are such a wonderful person with a warm heart to share your experiences with other people. We will be better next time.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed at the New Horizon for a business meeting in Christina Lake. The customer service was top-notch, right from my call to reserve a room. The room was modern and very clean, with a number of eco-friendly touches that I appreciated. Breakfast was included in the rate, and was a great spread with lots of fresh fruit and homemade muffins. I highly recommend the New Horizon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Owner at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you for your feedback & wonderful remarks. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Daniel and Helena run a super motel. Our family of 5 enjoyed a spacious two bedroom suite. The rooms are modern and well maintained/clean. Each morning we were treated to a continental breakfast that included toasty warm muffins and banana bread. Daniel and Helena made all of us feel as if we were at home. This is a very reasonably priced motel with fantastic and friendly service. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkTCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Daniel and Helena are truly genuine people and go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms were spacious and extremely clean. The homnemade muffins, fresh fruit, and even hot chocolate for the kids at the continental breakfast were terrific. I would definely stay here again and reccomend it to anyone looking for accomidations in Christina Lake at any time of year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the New Horizon Motel, Christina Lake, on our tour of golf courses and anniversary celebration in the South Kootenays.
We were so impressed by the cleanliness, orderliness, and most of all, our gracious hosts,Daniel and Helena Yu. It was the best!
Enda Bardell

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endabardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Location: Easy to find,on the main road and within 2 minutes of all local amenities.

Our rooms were well appointed, spacious and bright including a full kitchen, sitting room, separate bedroom, front and rear entrances and furnished patio.

The sleep quality was excellent due to comfortable, firm (not hard) beds, good sound isolation from hi-way and other rooms as well as air conditioners that kept up on the low fan setting.

Cleanliness was superior inside and out. Rooms, sidewalks, parking areas and grounds... all immaculate.

The service is what made our stay! The owners, Daniel and Helena went above and beyond in doing everything they could to make us feel welcome. From the home-style continental breakfast (home-made muffins daily) to the recommendations for local activities and amenities, all delivered were with a wonderful, warm heart-ed, sincere attitude. We very much felt like we were staying with old friends and were receiving preferential treatment.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites in the back include full kitchen, sitting room, furnished patio w/bbq, great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retrospeculative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christina Lake
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#2 of 6 in Christina Lake
58 reviews
12 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#5 of 14 in Grand Forks
104 reviews
22.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Western Traveller Motel
Western Traveller Motel
#7 of 14 in Grand Forks
103 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
83 reviews
10.2 mi away
Johnny's Motel
Johnny's Motel
#1 of 14 in Grand Forks
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Horizon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Horizon Motel

Address: 2037 Hunter Frontage Rd, Christina Lake, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1E2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks > Christina Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Christina Lake
Price Range: $75 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Horizon Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 25 Travelers' Choice Award Winners in Canada. A BC Select Property located at the east entrance of Christina Lake community. Executive King or double queen rooms or suites, some Jacuzzi tubs, Free WiFi & complimentary continental breakfast, specialize in golf packages, family holidays & reunions, select corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your New Horizon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing