We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay of our west Canada tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Meadows Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best stay of our west Canada tour”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We were based in a two bedroomed cabin at Alpine Meadows for 3 nights. The cabin had been recently built and, indeed, much of the resort seemed to be under construction or refurbishment. Landscaping and construction work were underway in our area from mid-morning - but the work didn't disturb or affect our stay at all as we were out exploring Wells Gray Provincial Park during most of the daylight hours. We are not sure if the lack of disturbance was by our luck or by the thoughtful design of the resort management, but in any case, we would love to see how the resort looks in summer or in spring next year when the work is complete.

We had splurged on a 2 bedroomed cabin. Its lounge, dining area, kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms were excellently furnished and equipped (air conditioining AND humidity controls!) and the layout was such that my in-law could easily have the privacy she required from our boisterous 4 year old. The living, dining and kitchen areas were arranged as a spacious open plan with large and tall windows which, along with the balcony, afforded us terrific, safe views of our twice daily visitor: a big dark cinnamon-coloured black bear. So we were able to take some ace bear photos that outdid anything we obtained from the national and provincial parks we had visited elsewhere. Things did get a bit hairy when Mr. Bear decided to wander by our front door and peer at us through the side living room window, mere seconds after my mother in law had fetched something from the car. Better luck next time, eh?!

Maybe because it was a quiet time at the resort, we found the staff to be super attentive, caring and informative: not charging us for international calls and faxes to our insurers when my daughter slid in her socks on the wooden floor and hurt her head (in her excitment to see a mother black bear and 3 cubs that had popped out to dig for ants a few metres from our cabin).

We didn't eat out at the resort, so I can't comment on the resort's restaurant. The staff did frequently enquire whether we would be needing the dining facilities, so they were prepared to cater for us. We preferred to buy self-catering provisions and hiking snacks from the supermarket in Clearwater. We used the dining area and balcony of our cabin to eat rather than the resort's picnic or barbecue areas. there was no store at the resort when we stayed, but there was a table in the reception with a small selection of basic necessities (toothpaste, mosquito spray, caps, etc)

The cabin was a great place to come home to after a day of hard hiking and the one afternoon that we stayed at the resort was spent in a row boat on the lake observing the water birds and beaver dams, arguing about who controlled the outboard motor and hoping to catch sight of the moose and its young that the staff reported as being frequent visitors. I've got to say that we hadn't totally believed the resort staff when they told us that we may get bears outside our cabin ("Yeah right." we thought) - and we were utterly ashamed of our disbelief when we got more than our west Canada quota of bears on our doorstep. So, although we didn't see the moose, we don't doubt their presence in the area.

The route to the resort from Clearwater was long and winding - passing old, photogenic barn ruins and a husky kennels. It wasn't too steep for our SUV and, indeed, was a walk in the park compared to the hairy road we (mis)took over Pavillion Mountain later on our tour. However, at around 25 minutes drive from Clearwater facilities/nightlife, the resort may not be convenient for all - you do need a car.

We utterly loved Alpine Meadows - its remoteness, terrific cabins and surroundings. I'm not too sure that we would enjoy it as much later on in the summer season when it undoubtedly attracts many more holiday makers. In fact, scrub everything that I've said above: Alpine Meadows is a terrible place that should be reserved for anti-social Brits on vacation with their mother-in-law and pre-schooler. Avoid, avoid, avoid!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmodyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    84
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
115
197
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Ownership problems and no respect for guests!

Arriving at the resort was amazing. Beautiful BC at its finest. The resort is absolutely beautiful, but don't be fooled by its beauty. The ownership of this resort is to put it lightly terrible. The staff as we found out were being verbally abused by ownerships familly. Our New Years dinner and evening was interrupted by a savage attack on management from the owners daughter. Many guests left the evening early in disgust.

I will not re-visit this resort ever again as i will not support a business that does not respect its wonderful staff.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Canucktraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Stayed in a one bedroom lodge overlooking the lake with magnificent views.

The lodge was superb almost new and very well maintained.

Disappointed that the cafe facility was closed on Tuesdays but self catered with food bought in Clearwater.

Might be a little remote for some tastes - 15 kilometres down well surfaced gravel track but worth it when you get there.

Good chance of seeing interesting wildlife.

Recommended - We wish we had stayed longer

  • Liked — The view over the lake from the lodge
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank honestreviewer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We stayed here late August for two nights whilst visiting Wells Gray Park on our way back to Vancouver from the Rockies. It is a slowly developing resort, very quiet and peaceful with lovely views over the lake from the lakeside lodges, which are very well equipped and extremely comfortable. There is a huge french door/window out onto a balcony with completely uninterrupted views of the lake. Be sure to request the lakefront lodges, and especially the upper rooms.
The resort itself is south of Clearwater some 23 km which is not ideally placed for the Wells Gray Park, and the last 9 km are on quite a bumpy dirt road, but it is really worth this extra distance and the bumpy ride; we thought it was a wonderful place to find. It can also be reached from the south, taking the free ferry across the river at Little Fort and then a full 15 km bumpy ride all on a dirt road to the resort.
I would recommend at least a two night stay as Wells Gray Park is well worth a day's visit. The main waterfalls are quite stupendous and we were very lucky to see a bear cross the road in front of our car. Also worth a visit at this time of the year is the Raft River Salmon Platform just before Clearwater if travelling from Jasper, as many salmon can be clearly seen at the spawning ground.
The only drawback of this resort (apart from the road) is that despite the website and brochure stating that there is a store on the site, this is just not the case. There is NO store of any kind at the resort so be sure to stock up before leaving Clearwater or Little Fort, but overall, we would be quite surprised if anyone found this resort unsatisfactory.

  • Liked — The setting and the view
  • Disliked — False brochure/website information about a store that was non existent
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tumasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We only stayed 1 night on route to the rockies but were very impressed with the room. We were in a 1 bedroom appart and had a livingroom (which also had sofabed) and kitchen which was well equiped and all very new and comfortable. Quite a drive from clearwater but worth it and beautiful setting. As previous reviewer commented buy your food for first nights dinner before leaving clearwater. We payed $140 plus tax for the night.

  • Liked — space and loction
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed at the Alpine Meadows Resort for two night in June and it really was fantastic! Being there before "real" summer holidays began meant that even on the weekend the place was quite quiet and very relaxing (so much so that my husband really didn't want me sharing how great it was on this website!).

We stayed in one of the duplex cabins. It was very large for two people with a great kitchen and balcony. From our balcony was a great view of the lake, on which we took a quiet boat ride in the afternoon. We also ate a number of meals in the restaurant and were very happy with the food there.

The one thing to note is that the resort is a good drive outside Clearwater. Great if you're looking for peace and quiet, but maybe a bit of a drive is you're just looking for a quick overnight stop.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadian_rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, British Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2007

Stayed at Alpine Meadows Resort in Clearwater for 3 nights in March, 2007. Beautiful log chalets, some duplex some individual log homes. Nestled along Hallaran lake. At this time of the year a true winter paradise, quiet, only the sounds of the birds. From Clearwater highway take a right at the Wells Gray Inn. Follow this road for aprox 26 km. Mountain road, partly paved. BE SURE TO BUY GROCERIES IN CLEARWATER FIRST ! Signage is fairly poor, but if you arrive during daylight you really can't miss it. Very friendly hosts will await you. The chalets are really something else, luxurious and spacious, beautiful decks, view of the lake, kitchen with large fridge, stove, dishwasher, dining table, queen size pull out bed in the living room, separate bedroom with queen bed, bathroom with tub and shower, satelite tv. Unfortunately, no wireless internet. Unit does have its own phone. If you have cabin 1a and you stand on the deck, you can get a wireless signal from the main lodge and surf the net while sitting on the porch. Otherwise they will be happy to let you use a table inside the restaurant, no problem.
Highly recommend, we would definately come back here again. Pet friendly too.

Helpful?
1 Thank witsendguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
10.4 mi away
Clearwater Lodge
Clearwater Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
10.0 mi away
Wells Gray Inn
Wells Gray Inn
#3 of 8 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
10.0 mi away
Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Clearwater Valley Resort
Clearwater Valley Resort
#7 of 8 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jasper Way Inn
Jasper Way Inn
#4 of 8 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
27.4 mi away
Nakiska Ranch
Nakiska Ranch
#6 of 15 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Meadows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Meadows Resort

Property: Alpine Meadows Resort
Address: 3400 Dunn Lake Road | P.O. Box 428, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Meadows Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Meadows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Meadows Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing