We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks charming and beautiful. Many of the staff are not polite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Meadows Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were in a one bedroom cottage. There was a nice view of the lake. Be warned though, even though we tipped the housekeeper a large amount she was extremely rude to our entire family. She told us our room was a mess with bits of chips all over the floor. Paying $200 per night, and myself cleaning up the kitchen, countertops, sweeping the floor myself. I would have to strongly disagree. Generally, if there is extra cleaning required the hotel has a policy where there is an extra cleaning charge for whatever reason, this issue the hotel feels it has comes out in the negative attitude of the staff. Part of the problem here is that the hotel does not leave a proper amount of garbage bags in the room, when you provide service to a room only every second day, this does not help either! We were the guests and should not be expected to clean for the hotel. We left a sentimental item behind outside to dry and the staff moved them without mentioning anything to us. Because they were moved we forgot them. I called the next day as I knew exactly where they were left. I was told they had a lost and found, however upon taking the 40km round trip back up, the housekeeper advised me she threw them out! Upon speaking with many people and trying to get a return call, I never did and the attitude that came across to me was they did not care. So, be warned, leave nothing behind, and leave your room really clean upon departure! The feeling I have left with is that many of the staff are unhappy doing what they are doing, very unfortunate as they are in the hospitality industry and have a beautiful location. Unfortunately, even though there was a more suitable cabin for our family, I was told it was unavailable, not because it was rented, just because it was not cleaned!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Whisperingwhilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 461 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

Our rafting group (actually a bunch of middle-aged guys who aren't as young as we used to be) stayed here two nights prior to rafting the Clearwater River. The Resort was fabulous and exceeded our expectations. Sitting on its own lake surrounded by mountains, the views are stunning. The Resort even has its own little restaurant, which was extremely good. Frankly, we didn't think we would find such good food so far north of Vancouver. The Rooms (Chalets and Log Homes, actually) were wonderful, all with views of the lake. The staff went out of their way to make our stay special, even going so far as opening the restaurant early one day so that we could leave for Wells Gray Park early. We didn't have the chance to take advantage of the canoes that were just sitting there for our use (for free!), but next time we will. I certainly would stay here again, and likely will bring my family here one day.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the two Log Homes, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Entrada_Regatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Very surprised at the lack of help with some of the staff. Lazy and in one case outright rude! First time I stayed it was great. Would not go back again. Truly astonished by the rude staff and unwilling to help. Regardless of the beautiful surroundings! You go into the tourism industry to help people have a great vacation. Many of the staff are in the wrong industry

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lookingglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here for two nights to break up our drive from Whistler to Jasper. Initially looked at Kamloops for a stop off, but so glad we chose Clearwater. It's much more scenic and close to Wells Grey Park, which is beautiful. (Wasn't impressed with what we saw of Kamloops.)

Alpine Village is a true taste of Canadian wilderness. It's about 20 miles from the small town up a winding dirt track. You pass a few creepy looking farms on the way and literally are in the middle of nowhere! (The setting reminded me very much of films like Wrong Turn.) The resort is lovely -very peaceful and picturesque. Although we stayed in the peak of summer we barely saw anyone else there! The cabins are very spacious, but fairly basic. Our cabin was as close as they get to the lake, so had a fabulous uninterrupted view, however as the site is on a gradual slope, all cabins appeared to have lake views.

The food in the restaurant was nice, but there wasn't a great deal of choice and it was a little bit pricey with dated decor and style. There is an outdoor barbeque and play area, which is available to guests, with picnic benches and an indoor seating area.

The hot tub was fabulous, with amazing views out to the lake and mountains. It was never crowded and we always had the whole hot tub to ourselves. There are canoes available to take out on the lake free of charge and there was always plenty available. We also managed to spot a deer by the lakeside!

A real highlight of Alpine Village had to be the wolves, which could be heard on the mountain beside the lake at twilight each night and at dawn. It was quite eerie to hear them and sit and watch the mist rise on the lake and mountains after a summer downpour!

Night time was quite scary here, as it's pitch black, VERY remote and you can hear the echoes of the wolves howling across the mountains. It really is a cool place to stay for a couple of nights. I would highly recommend it.

EXTRA TIPS:
There is nowhere to buy food for miles around. We stopped in Kamloops on the way to buy food.
No phone reception but there is a phone in the cabin.
On a sunny day there are LOTS of midges.

Room Tip: all cabins looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmccu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed town nights in a two bedroom cabin. Brilliant accommodation, lovely location, very calming and relaxing. We took canoes out on the lake and ate at the restaurant on one of our two nights. Great staff, good food, highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank PeterW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Thank you to everyone who put their comments on TA or we would never have found such a lovely place. We stayed two nights but could easily have stayed a week, it is the perfect place to relax and get back to nature. We stopped here between leaving The Rockies and making our way to The Okanagan. This place really is in the middle of nowhere and as stated previously stock up before you come on food etc as half an hour on a dirt track back to Clearwater would not be fun! We used the supermarket and liquor store in Clearwater before arriving, both of which had plenty of choice. Once you arrive at your cabin you will just want to stay and chill.

Unfortunately we did not see any bears but we had our fill of birds, deer and unfortunately many many mosquitoes - bring repellent in July!

We stayed in a lakefront luxury cabin which had one bedroom (smallish) with one chest of drawers, a walk in cupboard area on the way to the well appointed bathroom. Towels are provided but remember rooms are only serviced every three days. There was a huge open kitchen and lounge area with tables/chairs which was spacious and airy. The kitchen is fully equipped with lots of space, they really thought of everything. They even provide a box of board games!! Tea/Coffee is provided and you have the use of a satellite TV and free internet access. Our cabin had a balcony with sunbeds and table/chairs but we did not risk the rain or the mozzies.

Kayaks and boats (without battery) are free for guests to use and life jackets are available in various sizes. It is worth taking a trip out on the lake as it is so peaceful and you may get to see a beaver. The jacuzzi was huge and clean and had its own toilet/changing facility, very relaxing. There is a BBQ area in the middle of the resort but that is for corporate events, guests now use a newly created area further up the resort. Wood is provided for the BBQ pit and to use the gas BBQ you need to ask reception to switch on the gas and there is possibly a charge for this. The BBQ area also has an indoor/outdoor area to picnic in with toilets and a large outdoor games section and play park. We would have preferred our own BBQ next to the cabin. There are laundrette facilities.

We did not use the restaurant but staff at reception were very efficient and helpful - esp directions to the Little Fort ferry.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poker-Queen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Come prepared for The Alpine Meadows Resort and you will have a good time. This hotel is a long, windy 20 kilometer plus distance from anywhere! On the one hand, you are guaranteed peace and quiet, beautiful vistas and a gorgeous kayak ride on the lake, on the other hand bring provisions because an hour's round trip for a glass of milk is nuts. The cabins are large with lovely rooms, free internet services, satellite T.V. and a well equipped kitchen (except for tongs for the barbecue as my husband's singed arms prove). The place is clean and the bathroom O.K. although the water pressure is pretty weak. The grounds are well thought out with a children's games area (my kids loved the giant chess set), barbecues everywhere, kayaks of many sorts freely available for guests and a large jacuzzi/hot-tub in the grounds. The restaurant on the grounds is decent but over-priced. Overall, I thought that that Alpine Meadows was rather expensive in comparison to other opportunities but the services were excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msnic69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
10.9 mi away
Clearwater Lodge
Clearwater Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clearwater
321 reviews
10.6 mi away
Wells Gray Inn
Wells Gray Inn
#3 of 8 in Clearwater
119 reviews
11.0 mi away
Clearwater Valley Resort
Clearwater Valley Resort
#6 of 8 in Clearwater
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground
10.8 mi away
Ace Western Motel
Ace Western Motel
#8 of 8 in Clearwater
116 reviews
10.4 mi away
Jasper Way Inn
Jasper Way Inn
#7 of 8 in Clearwater
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Meadows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Meadows Resort

Address: 3400 Dunn Lake Road | P.O. Box 428, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: $199 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Meadows Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpine Meadows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Meadows Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing