We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable one night stay”
Review of Clearwater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clearwater Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
worcestershire
Level Contributor
195 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Comfortable one night stay”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed for just one night between Jasper and Whistler and did not have high expectations. However the lodge was large and seemed pretty empty and we had a huge room which had a kitchen area and a balcony with a view over the grounds. The room was very comfortable and clean but we didn't use the pool as when we went to check it out it was very cold.
We went to investigate the restaurant but it was a bit odd - very small with bright lighting and the menu didn't appeal. Instead we went over and ate at Wells Gray Inn (very good).
There isn't much to Clearwater except for Wells Gray park but it is a handy place for a stopover.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGBWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    111
    84
    24
    13
See reviews for
82
124
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

This few nights was part of a super trip through the rockies. The location is good at the entrance to Wells Grey Park but the hotel itself was poor. The rooms were so-so but were not well cleaned between days and the woman on reception was the most unfriendly canadian we met all trip. The hotel did have a pool- one of the main reasons we chose this hotel- but our son skinned all his toes in the pool and it prevented us making further use of the pool. All this I might have forgiven if it weren't for the reponse we got on reporting this at reception. We were treated as fussy people and no concern was expressed for our son whatsoever.
We wrote all this and left the letter for management as we moved on saying that we wouldn't leave a review until we had a response but here we are 3 months later and nothing yet....
Save yourself a poor experience. Everywhere else we stayed in this rockies trip was comfortable and clean ast the very least and some places were super. We cannot speak highly enough of the Canadian people and the welcome we got eveywhere we went- don't go to this hotel and risk meeting the 1 unfriendly canadian in the country!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Clearwater Lodge for 2 nights in September 2010 as part of our tour of the rockies. The hotel itself we didnt have a problem with and we cant really form opinion on dining/breakfast as we went elsewhere.
We were immediately put off the hotel before we even go to the room because of the attitude of the member of staff who checked us in. We were early for check in at 11:30 but we didnt expect to get to our rooms and were happy to simply check in and come back later. The problem we had was the total lack of welcome and the impression from the particular member of check in staff that they'd rather we didnt exist. We got no hello, no welcome and any politeness was forced.
When details were required such as ID, etc, we werent asked, there was simply a silence and glare as if we should have known what was expected without being asked. Maybe were naive, but if you're in the business of running a hotel then you should be amicable to the people who use and pay for their stay, no matter how much of a bad mood you may be in or what irrational dislike to the guests you may have (before you've even spoken to them).
I'm afraid I would never recommend this hotel to anyone because of the above. First impressions last and because of our initial treatment we had no interest whatsoever in spending any of our time and money there.
We did have a brief 5 minutes in the pool but for any future visitors think twice before you go in it. There is more chlorine in there than a heavily bombarded 1st world war trench and it took about 4 showers for our skin to smell near normal again. I know hygiene is important but having stayed at numerous hotels with pools, hot tubs, etc I cannot imagine why the proprietors of Clearwater Lodge are trying to dissolve their guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matthewreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

As with other reviewers we stayed here as a stop over on our drive from Jasper to Vancouver and were pleasantly surprised. We had 2 rooms, incredibly spacious with kitchen and patio. The chap on reception couldn't have been more friendly and, although we didn't have time to go into Wells Grey we did try out the pool. The restaurant in the hotel was busy in the evening with a party of 12 in there, but the waitress did warn us, the food was excellent and good value for money. All in all a pleasant surprise for what we thought would be a "get in and out as quickly as possible" stay

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We booked this hotel to stop off for a night on our way from Jasper to Vancouver and didn't expect too much. How wrong we were! This is a lovely hotel - clean and spacious with excellent rooms, and we had a kitchen area as well as a balcony overlooking countryside.

What we hadn't realised was that the hotel is right on the edge of a provincial park with wonderful waterfalls. We had a couple of hours to spare and the information centre across the road suggested we should drive into the park - it was one of the best bits of our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Clearwater, like most towns on highway 5 is small. So imagine our surprise finding this great hotel amongst all the run of the mill roadside motels. It's big for starters reflected in the size of the rooms. Very clean, modern hotel with free wi-fi and nice indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Didn't try the restaurant which looked small but were recommended to the Caboose Inn across the road. Great home cooked dinner with very friendly service.
This hotel is perfect for exploring Wells Grey National Park.
If you gave time check out Shook Ranch (in Vavenby) for very good reasonably priced riding trips.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grewalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Definitely the best hotel of our recent 2 weeks in Canada! The room was superb and the staff extremely welcoming and helpful. We only stayed one night using it as a staging post on our way to Jasper, but wished we had at least one more night there. We didn't sample the restaurant, having eaten too well earlier in the day, but took full advantage of the lovely pool. Wells Gray Park was an added bonus, and a short drive into it is not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITravelLighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Wells Gray Inn
Wells Gray Inn
#3 of 8 in Clearwater
101 reviews
10.4 mi away
Alpine Meadows Resort
Alpine Meadows Resort
#1 of 8 in Clearwater
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Valley Resort
Clearwater Valley Resort
#5 of 8 in Clearwater
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ace Western Motel
Ace Western Motel
#8 of 8 in Clearwater
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jasper Way Inn
Jasper Way Inn
#4 of 8 in Clearwater
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Lodge

Property: Clearwater Lodge
Address: 331 Eden Rd, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clearwater Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clearwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clearwater Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing