We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, lovely view”
Review of Clearwater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clearwater Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great room, lovely view”
Reviewed May 3, 2006

The room we had was huge with a king size bed. At check in we were asked if we minded only one bed which as there were two of us was not a problem at all. There was a lounge area and a kitchen area with a balcony to the rear from which was a great view of the mountains in Wells Gray Provincial Park.
The hotel staff advised us that becuase it was easter weekend we needed to make sure we got our tea etc. quite early and then made some recommendations of where we could go. We went to a fantastic great value diner across the road.
There's not a great deal to do in Clearwater itself but Wells Gray is well worth a visit - some fantastic sights to be seen and some terrific hiking trails. This is a great hotel to base your adventures from.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lcj1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    120
    94
    28
    14
See reviews for
90
138
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2005

Situated right next to the turn-off for Wells Gray Park, this hotel is ideal for an overnight stop or longer if you want to explore the Park's many delights. We received a warm welcome at reception (indeed, lifetime friendships may have been established discussing the bathroom lighting system). Our room was huge with a kitchenette and well as a bathroom. There was a very useful washer and dryer in the basement, only C$1 for each, and an indoor pool and hot tub. There was genuine home-cooked food in the unpretentious restaurant. We had to wait for our apple pie as it was still being cooked.
Recommended.

Helpful?
6 Thank lily_schultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich uUK
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2005

We stayed at Clearwater Lodge for 2 nights on our way from Vancouver to Jasper. Rooms were a good size and the small kitchenette useful. We were on the ground floor (although had requested a first floor at time of booking) which had door out to a small patio area. Restaurant seemed a bit small for the size of the lodge - but they called our room when they had a table free. Excellent location for Wells Gray park. I used the pool and jacuzzi - only problem being there are no changing rooms so you need to return to your room to dress.
Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SueandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2005

We stayed one night in Clearwater Lodge on 30 August 2005 on our way from Jasper to Vancouver, and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The room was basic but extremely clean with a well equipped kitchen area and balcony over looking the lake.

There was an indoor pool with Jacuzzi tub and sauna and a useful guest laundry facility.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the on site restaurant was reasonably good.

In summary, I would recommend this place as a base for exploring Wells Gray Park or as a one night stop-over.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PopMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 12, 2005

We were staying in the Cleatwater Lodge for 2 nights and visiting the wonderfull Wells Gray Provincial Park.
The combination is a perfect one, a first class hotel and a first class Park.
We will recommend both to all the visitors to Canada

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2005

Great hotel, lovely and clean with large rooms. Really nice pool and jacuzzi.
Really good location for going into the Grey Wells Park. Not a very big park, although the only place we saw any bears throughout the whole trip through the Rockies.

Food wasn't the best but local bakery was top notch. 5 min walk from hotel.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank AKWKirkcaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2004

We stayed here in July 2004, for 1 night having driven from Jasper. The 2 storey hotel design meant no noisy lifts, a sizeable foyer and wide corridors with slopes up to the 2nd floor. Our room was extremely spacious, airy, spotlessly clean and modern. We had a kitchenette and a balcony on the 2nd floor all for a room rate of £50.00. It is well located to visit Wells Gray Provincial Park which is nearby. The small restaurant adjacent to the foyer was pleasant. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
16 Thank gjm_wjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Wells Gray Inn
Wells Gray Inn
#3 of 8 in Clearwater
108 reviews
10.4 mi away
Alpine Meadows Resort
Alpine Meadows Resort
#1 of 8 in Clearwater
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ace Western Motel
Ace Western Motel
#8 of 8 in Clearwater
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Valley Resort
Clearwater Valley Resort
#7 of 8 in Clearwater
126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Watauga Village by the river
Watauga Village by the river
#5 of 16 in Clearwater
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Lodge

Property: Clearwater Lodge
Address: 331 Eden Rd, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clearwater Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Clearwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clearwater Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing