We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a stopover on the way to the Rockies”
Review of Clearwater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clearwater Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed September 24, 2013

When we arrived at the Clearwater Lodge, our initial thought was that it looked more like a Motel.
The greeting by the gentleman at reception was brilliant, he was very amusing and made us all laugh, he made us feel very welcome.
The rooms are a little tired and dated and the decor could certainly do with a freshen up, but the beds were very comfortable and the room had everything we needed for the one night that we stayed there.
We were on the ground floor so had a small veranda area outside where we could sit and watch the sun go down, there is a bar / pub over the road which was ok, we visited and had a couple of drinks but didn't eat there as we had eaten earlier.
The lodge also has a grill attached to it, it seemed popular but we didn't eat there either, we just went in and got a couple of take away bottles to go and enjoy on our veranda.
We were travelling with another couple and their room was next to ours, in the morning we noticed the the door leading out to their veranda had a hole against the lock and this meant that the security of the room was comprimised - if you are staying on the ground floor, check the back doors are totally safe!!
The pool area looked ok, but as we only had one night there we didn't have time to use it as we wanted to check out the local area and do a bit of sight seeing instead.
Continental breakfast was provided and was adequate if you like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtf0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Clearwater Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 311 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We drove from Calgary to Whistler and stopped at this Lodge.
Unfortunately, the "whole" highway was under construction. So, the view wasn't very nice.
The concierge gave us a warm welcome. Our room was okay.... just a bit old-fashioned that's it.
Right next to the hotel there's a independent (doesn't work for the hotel) restaurant called "Gateway Grill". To be honest, we didn't expect a lot but our supper was fantastic! Thumbs up for the chef!
Back to the hotel..... Our breakfast was for free which was really nice.
In the morning we entered into the diningroom for eating breakfast and were a bit upset.....
Despite, I said twice "good morning" the employee of the hotel didn't reply (maybe she couldn't understand any English?). So, the atmosphere wasn't really nice. We ate just a bagel and had a coffee to go but what I was really bothered about were the dishes. Plates, forks, cups, knives and spoons... everything was made of plastic. This isn't really environmental friendly.....
Well, to sum it up, if you're not fussy nor too choosy where to stay, the Clearwater Lodge will be the best for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadianspirit_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We are always a bit concerned Bout staying in hotels in small towns but were pleased with the stay here. The beds were comfy and really loved the deck off the room. And it was a view of a nice courtyard. The only negative thing I can say is wished they would get rid of the bedspreads. A small kitchenette was also in the room,not sure if they were on all rooms. But overall a really great place and would definitely stay again. They have breakfast but we didn't have it as it was a busy day so just grabbed coffee and went, but did look okay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moe217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stopped here on our drive through the Rockies, the hotel was excellent for what we needed as a stop over. the hotels amenities were excellent, there was a pool, & somewhere to eat I would recommend this hotel. they supplied breakfast, cereals, toast, eggs yogurts, coffee & tea. We couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susybwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our group arrived too soon at the hotel, since we had been hiking in the rain and were very wet. Not all of the rooms were ready, but they allowed us to change clothes in the rooms that were ready. We had planned a pick-nick, but unfortunately the weather did not allow to eat otside. So the hotel gave us the possibility to have our picknick in one of their rooms, which was very much appreciated by our group. Large room with kitchenette, light in the bathroom a little difficult to find.Breakfast was ok, though I do not like at all the idea of using paper and plastic plates for breakfast. Is this really so cost reducing?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YolandeRousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in June and were very happy with the accommodation. It is a little dated, but the room had everything we needed, including a little kitchen area. The breakfast was included, which is a bonus in Canada, and although on paper plates, was quite sufficient. The restaurant in the hotel serves a good meal in the evening. The close proximity to Wells Gray National Park is the main reason for staying in the hotel and we enjoyed our stay. We also had a lovely meal in a restaurant nearby called The Painted Turtle at Dutch Lake, a 5 minute drive away. Not cheap, but excellent food overlooking a lovely lake.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank denros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is the newest of the motels in Clearwater. The room was large with a kitchenette, couch, chair, and a decent size bathroom. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were very soft. If you like to sleep on your stomach bring your own pillow. The only places to eat that were close to the motel were the A&W and a restaurant in the motel that only opened for dinner from 5 - 9. That being said the food was excellent. Lots of variety and really tasty. The wireless internet was up and down all through our stay. When we asked the front desk they were not very helpful. About day three of our stay the hairdryer fell off the wall and broke. When we mentioned to the front desk they said they would come and replace it. When we left 2 days later it was still not done. The continental breakfast was basic with juice, coffee / tea, bagels, eggo waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and fruit. There seemed to be ample amounts of food. If you are going to venture to Wells Gray Provincial Park this would be a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the motel and was very quiet. The second floor rooms have small private...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 mi away
Wells Gray Inn
Wells Gray Inn
#3 of 8 in Clearwater
113 reviews
10.9 mi away
Alpine Meadows Resort
Alpine Meadows Resort
#1 of 8 in Clearwater
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ace Western Motel
Ace Western Motel
#8 of 8 in Clearwater
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Valley Resort
Clearwater Valley Resort
#6 of 8 in Clearwater
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jasper Way Inn
Jasper Way Inn
#7 of 8 in Clearwater
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Lodge

Address: 331 Eden Rd, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: $120 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clearwater Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clearwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clearwater Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing