We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay on the farm”
Review of Kicking Horse Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clearwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kicking Horse Farm
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The cabin is very clean and pleasant. The owners Liz and Russ are very friendly and helpful.

The breakfasts are brilliant and can be eaten whilst watching the hummingbirds outside. The dogs are friendly and there is a nice patio area outside where you can sit but do use insect repellant as I did get bitten.

The only thing missing was a fridge - that would have been useful as it was quite warm whilst we were there. We also found the light curtains did not keep out the light and being June we woke very early - perhaps a heavier curtain would be better.

Room Tip: Wells Gray Park was brilliant - so many wonderful waterfalls and saw a bear and chipmunks whilst we...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindyLou105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Kicking Horse Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 28 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here in early July and what a lovely place. Russ and Liz are a lovely and helpful couple. Breakfasts by Liz are superb but be prepared to put on a few kilos. If you like horses, dogs, and loads of chickens this is heaven. You have a separate annex to the house with 2 large beds and a lounge area, separate room for shower, toilet etc. We went horse riding and white water rafting with the help of Liz. you need to drive when eating out and again Liz will point you in the right direction. When sitting on patio at night watch out for mozzies as we had one or two bites. All in all a great place, location and very nice hosts. thank you, Kevin & Michelle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doylie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

You love animals, delicious breakfast and enjoy a cosy little cottage? Then Kicking Horse Farm is the right place for you. Unfortunately we didn't happen to meet Russ but Liz was just great and we just kept on asking her everything about Canada that we wondered about during our trip. Her breakfast was delicious and rich. Marmelade, honey, bread were homemade and eggs are from their chicken running around in the backyard. She had something special for us every day and we felt so well cared for. The cats came around for cuddeling at breakfast and the dogs were quite playful and loved to be cuddled all the time as well. The cottage is just cute - wooden, big windows, Quilt blankets - just as I imagined a farmhouse to be. You can borrow plates, cook tea, coffe or hot chocolate (complimentary), but there is no microwave or cooking facilities if you might expect these. Riding Lessons or Horse back rinding is not possible on the farm but can be arranged. Wells Gray Provincial Park is just a short drive away (5min), so is the supermarket and visitor's centre. If it was for me - I could have stayed quite a bit longer than 2 days on Kicking Horse Farm!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flugdrache77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The guests of Kicking Horse Farm sleep in the private cottage in the garden of the farm. Everthing was very clean, the bed slept perfectly and Liz' breakfast was really good.

Kicking Horse Farm is a great place to stay when you want to visit Well Gray Park.
Also very suitable for families with children.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

In June 2011 we visited the Kicking Horse Farm during our roundtrip through West Canada. What a great hospitality!

When we arrived, after a long drive, the dogs came greeting us enthousiastically. Liz came up and showed us our room. On the property they have a separate, quite big, cabin with a porch. This is used as the guestroom, so you stay in a separate building from their farm. The interior is abit outdated and the beds could be replaced but the admosphere and hospitality made more then up for it.

Liz gave us a tour around their farm and showed us all their animals. Most of them were running around free on the property. Everytime we would come back to the cabin the dogs would stand there and waiting for us to play with them. Every morning Liz would make us breakfast in their own kitchen so we would eat at their farm. Breakfast was great and so, so much!! Every morning she would make something with eggs. Also she would have alot of fresh fruit, scones, cereals and so on.

The property is quite close to the entrance of Wells Gray Park, we saw so many bears there. It is a beautiful park to visit! We would recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank franwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Reisende76H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sling5892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
4.1 mi away
Clearwater Lodge
Clearwater Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clearwater
310 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wells Gray Inn
Wells Gray Inn
#3 of 8 in Clearwater
113 reviews
7.5 mi away
Alpine Meadows Resort
Alpine Meadows Resort
#1 of 8 in Clearwater
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground
6.6 mi away
Cedar Haven Cabins and Resort
Cedar Haven Cabins and Resort
#1 of 16 in Clearwater
47 reviews
21.3 mi away
Wolfwood Guest Ranch
Wolfwood Guest Ranch
#9 of 19 in Clearwater
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicking Horse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicking Horse Farm

Address: 1106 Old North Thompson Hwy, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range: $110 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this lovely cottage on our small working farm. It is a private cottage with one double and one queen size bed. It has a sitting area with a small library and board games, wireless access, a coffee/tea center and a table and chairs if you would like to eat in. There is a private bathroom with a shower and a lovely deck to sit out and enjoy some quiet time for reading or relaxing. A great country style breakfast is served in our home. You will never leave hungry after a full selection of fresh fruit, cereals, fresh baking (scones, cinnamon buns, muffins)as well as a baked egg dish with our farm fresh eggs. Coffee, tea and juice accompany every breakfast. Families with children are welcome and so are farm friendly pets. We have dogs(lab and golden retriever) and cats that are always excited to meet our guests. You are welcome to visit on the farm and collect eggs, feed the horses or just have a little walk and enjoy our rural lifestyle. We will help you plan your stay in the area and your visit to Wellsgray Park. There is lots to fill your day; hiking, sightseeing, whitewater rafting, horseback riding and walking or just take a day off and relax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing