We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service, basic and dated accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Helmcken Falls Lodge
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon in Canada. In all we stayed in 10 different hotels across West Canada, and this was the only bad experience we had.

The rooms, while spacious and in a secluded location are extremely dated and basic. The bed linen looked as though it had been in service for 15 years or more, and the bathroom had one soap dispenser on the wall - we had to request a bar of soap and that request was given a lukewarm response from the housekeeper.

However, worst of all was the service at reception. This was the only hotel (aside from Whistler) that charged for Wifi ($5.60), and yet unbelievably they also put a cap on usage at 250 megabytes - barely enough to send an email, and certainly no good for surfing the net (ours cut out after 10 mins use). We complained and begrudgingly were given another token free, but they seemed to miss the main point of our complaint - don't charge for something that you then limit the use of, especially at such a ridiculously low amount.

The hotel is run by Brits, and the level of service is akin to a poorly run hotel in the UK. Far below the service level we received everywhere else, from what is an amazing country with a warm and friendly people, and good hospitality.

For the record, we are British ourselves!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SibboLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 204 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is Canada. It's massive. It's wild. It's very natural. This is the quintessential back country Canadian style lodge. If you don't know what I'm talking about, but want to, stay here. If you come from the big city, and have never seen mineralized well water come out of a tap that is the color of brown (wow! Iron content!) when you first turn it on and think this is TERRIBLE, then stay at home. We stayed in the log cabins (have you ever done that?) and saw 5 moose, went cross country skiing, and ate 3 meals a day, thanks to Andrew and family. It's amazing that anyone would complain, you're lucky someone back in the day even figured out how to get you running water in the middle of no where...PS. the wilderness around is beautiful, and Andrew also took me snowmobiling to help pack ski trails....is was SICKLY Great, as it had just dumped a couple feet of snow. ...braaaaappp!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank It_is__my_oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

If you want friendly service, sound sleep, spectacular views, stimulating winter sports, and great food then we recommend Helmcken Falls Lodge. If you want city style hotels and all the city luxuries for soft people then you will not find this here - thank goodness. The lodge is just what you want in this type of location, personal, friendly and simple. Not false and artificial.

The park itself offers both groomed and back country cross country and snow shoeing trails, and the Lodge rents equipment. Moose and wolf tracks abound, though the best wildlife encounter we could manage was a packrat in one of the skiing warming huts (which themselves come well equiped with firewood, firestarter, axes for kindling.)

Photographic opportunies also intrigue, as the falls, Helmcken, Dawson, Mushbowl, all form unique ice formations.

Concerns expressed by Europeans about brown water is hilarious, given all the chemical treatments they suffer to get their crystal clear variety -- though one may wish to import bottled water for drinking if they're uncomfortable with the sulphur smell of mineral water, which didn't bother us, two mature outdoorsy types.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnQ1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

There are so many bad reviews of this place that I hesitated before booking. But the location won through and I am glad that I stayed here. Yes the rooms are basic but our room was huge and nice and warm. We got a great deal including dinner (which was very nice and i am a fussy eater) and a packed lunch for the next day. (again they catered to my fussy requirements) I would recommend that you take bottled water with you though as the water was not very pleasant. It was not brown (as other reviews suggested) but it did stink!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soundofmusicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Some friends and I recently stayed at the lodge on an ice climbing trip. My friends had stayed at the lodge before and couldn't stop talking about how great it was. The owner Andrew treated us like family and would share great stories about the adventures he'd been apart since owning the lodge.
The food was amazing and even after a full day of ice climbing we'd struggle to finish our 5 course meals. During dinner, a conversation is usually struck up between the different tables of guests and soon we are all telling stories, and having a laugh. For us, this is a part of the Helmcken Falls Lodge experience.
Our room was super clean, and beds were comfortable and warm. The water does contain a lot of minerals so it can taste a bit funny, but Andrew would always have bottled water for us.
If you want to go cross country skiing, snow shoeing, ice climbing, or just relax and read a book, in a real Canadian wilderness lodge, it doesn't get any better than this! I've never been there in the summer, but the photos I've seen are nothing short of spectacular. If you want a cookie cutter "name brand" hotel to stay in that feels like every other hotel you've ever stayed in then maybe this isn't the place for you. If you're looking for a place with loads of character, a brilliant setting in the Canadian Wilderness, great food, and a trip to remember then defiantly stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tundra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Although the location was fabulous, the accommodation left much to be desired!! The room looked old and shabby with dirty marks all over the carpet. The bathroom had rusty pipes and didn't feel very clean and the water in the bath was brown!! I couldn't put my children in the first bath I ran - and the second was not a lot better! There was no shower curtain - although there were shower rings and everything could have done with a jolly good lick of paint!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_hodnetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

So many varied reviews - we were unsure whether to stay here or not. But if you want friendly service, sound sleep, spectacular views and great food then we recommend Helmcken Falls Lodge. If you want city style hotels and all the city luxuries for soft people then you will not find this here - thank goodness. The lodge is just what you want in this type of location, personal, friendly and simple. Not false and artificial. Only advice is to bring bottled water as the tap water comes from the local springs which smell strongly of sulphur. Helmcken Falls Lodge was one of the highlights of our 2 week trip to Canada, even our 10 year old daughter ranks it as a high point. Stay here and become part of the family, or drive by and miss a unique experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank symbol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
19.8 mi away
Clearwater Lodge
Clearwater Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clearwater
322 reviews
20.1 mi away
Wells Gray Inn
Wells Gray Inn
#3 of 8 in Clearwater
119 reviews
30.1 mi away
Alpine Meadows Resort
Alpine Meadows Resort
#1 of 8 in Clearwater
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Nakiska Ranch
Nakiska Ranch
#8 of 16 in Clearwater
146 reviews
18.8 mi away
Cedar Haven Cabins and Resort
Cedar Haven Cabins and Resort
#1 of 16 in Clearwater
49 reviews
19.9 mi away
Ace Western Motel
Ace Western Motel
#8 of 8 in Clearwater
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helmcken Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helmcken Falls Lodge

Address: 6664 Clearwater Valley Rd | Wells Gray Park, BC, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range: $19 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Helmcken Falls Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helmcken Falls Lodge was constructed in 1948 as a Hunting Lodge in Wells Gray Park.The Lodge itself now houses our reception and gift shop and also the 110 seat licensed restaurant and lounge with a balcony overlooking the Trophy Mountains.We have 33 rooms in total comprising 25 standard rooms and 8 log cabin rooms.The original heritage cabin, built in 1926 offers 2 self-contained rooms both with Queen beds.All our rooms have ensuite private bathrooms.Our standard rooms have 2 double beds and our log cabin rooms have 2 extra long double beds.We also offer horseback riding and guided canoeing and hiking in Wells Gray Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Helmcken Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmcken Falls Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing