We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant b&b”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clearwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canadian Bear Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 19 Clearwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant b&b”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our tour of BC, wish we could have stayed longer as we were made to feel very at home by Shauna and Ron. Rooms were perfect, breakfast was great, especially in front of the roaring log fire on a rainy cold morning! We all loved little dog Stuart!!! Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherbell14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
68
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Canadian Bear Guesthouse log cabin for a couple of nights during our tour of the Rockies...what a place! Not only is it a lovely, immaculate, cosy lodge set back with great views over the valley a few steps away but it's also fully kitted out with everything you need for it to be a real home from home! Our hosts Shauna and Ron made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and also made sure we knew exactly all the 'must see' places to visit around the Wells Gray park and recommended a lovely lakeside restaurant nearby for dinner - Painted Turtle. Highly recommend stopping in Clearwater and definitely staying at the Canadian Bear Guesthouse particularly the separate cabin we were in, we'll hopefully be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomandEmW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely people and a fantastic cabin not far from the road to Wells Gray. Incredible attention to detail, wish my own home was as well built! Spent a great couple of nights here, very comfy and cosy. Hope the chocolate zuccini cake worked out Shauna!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful b&b during our vacation and it was truly fantastic. We were received with such a warm welcome and Shauna and Ron made us feel at home right away. They are really wonderful people and their home is beautiful, clean and better than most 5 star hotels.

Outside our room was a common area for the guests with tv, couches, microwave, tea- and coffee maker. The breakfast we were served was great and we were surprised to hear that they had driven a long way to a German bakery to get bread for their guests from Europe! We wished we had stayed longer. They gave us also some good advice about Wells grey park which was also really gorgeous.

I wish I could go back right now...!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sommar-sol_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
321 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed with friends from Australia at the Canadian Bear for one night and it was fabulous.
Ron is understandably proud of his log home and cottage that they built themselves and told us lots about the building of it...even showed us some photos of it coming along. The way the home is decorated is so warm, inviting and very 'bearish'! My Australian friends just loved staying in such a beautiful home located on such a great view property...we could see runs on the ski hill.
Both our rooms were large and airy and absolutely spotless. One room had an ensuite and ours had a private bath, but as it was one step out the door and pivot right, it might as well have been ensuite. There is a very comfortable common area for guests to use, complete with fridge/microwave and tea/coffee/hot chocolate and popcorn to help yourself to.
It was a beautiful evening and after we returned from an excellent dinner at the Painted Turtle, Ron had a camp fire going and we were able to toast marshmallows....a first for our Australian friends.
Breakfast the next morning was fabulous...and another first for our friends...waffles with fresh strawberries and whipped cream/bacon and fresh fruit/yogurt to start. It was lovely to converse with Ron and Shauna as they were serving us breakfast, getting lots of tips on where and what to see in Wells Gray Park.
The Canadian Bear could not have been a better experience for us all and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here with our twin 9 year old boys. We are always worried about staying in B&Bs with our boys but Ron and Shauna made us feel so welcome that our boys thought we were staying with family friends. The B&B is of the highest quality - a hand built Canadian log cabin with amazing views. Everything about the accommodation and hospitality was excellent and it was definitely one of the highlights of our trips. Wells Gray Provincial Park has some lovely hikes and is a great place to stop off. Hope to return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carterv100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

If you are staying in Clearwater then this would be a great place to stay. Ron and Shauna are very nice peoplel. Ron gave us some great tips for the Welsh grey park.
Breakfast is excellent. And they have also a very nice dog.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.1 mi away
Wells Gray Inn
Wells Gray Inn
#3 of 8 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clearwater Lodge
Clearwater Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
10.4 mi away
Alpine Meadows Resort
Alpine Meadows Resort
#1 of 8 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wyndhaven Cottage Bed and Breakfast.
1.5 mi away
Jasper Way Inn
Jasper Way Inn
#4 of 8 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watauga Village by the river
Watauga Village by the river
#7 of 15 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Bear Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Bear Guesthouse

Property: Canadian Bear Guesthouse
Address: 580 Park Dr, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a fully-furnished log home decorated in Mountain-Alpine décor to begin living the Canadian Dream!Conveniently located on a well-traveled holiday route for Canadians and International visitors between Jasper, Alberta and Vancouver, BC. This B&B is in the small town of Clearwater, BC on a quiet road in a treed area with superb views of the Thompson River valley and local ski hill. Clearwater is at the gateway to Wells Gray Provincial Park where spectacular waterfalls, wildlife, and hiking trails are abundant! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing