We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$135
View deal
Priceline$143
Agoda.com$143
Official Site$144
FindHotel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
47
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
47
7
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 54 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2011

A beautiful wooden cottage in the woods, with the Grouse-creek closeby. We have been there two nights and loved the quiet atmosphere and the spacious cabin. Joan (the hostess) welcomed us and made sure we had everything we needed. She provided us with rations for breakfast and advise about the best places to go in the park. The kitchen contained all utensils to cook a good meal which we enjoyed very much.
Great place to stay for a visit to Wells Gray park!!!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

There are in total 3 cabins totally removed from civilization. It was perfectly quiet at night and we slept great there.

The cabins are very new and clean. Facilities include oven, microwave, TV etc.

As others have mentioned the shower was a little "weak".

All in all we had a great stay here and can recommend it to others.

Date of stay: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donvegardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Kingfishers Wood (which is a more common name for this location) very much. The hosts are very kind people and the surroundings are beautiful. The cottage are very cosy and equipped with everything you might need while your there. At night it's very dark and quite which is a nice experience if you live in an urban area (like we do).

We did a long hike during our stay which is a very nice way of discovering Wells Gray Provincial Park.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jethroborsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I am pleased to be the first person to review this location.

This is a MUST STAY location in Clearwater. Joan of "Across the Creek Cabins" (also known as Kingfishers Wood)

Here you have 3 beautiful, clean and MODERN cabins on a nice private property 1/2 way up Wells Gray. Don't let the location fool you. You are 1/2 way to town and 1/2 way to the top of the "driving portion" of Wells Gray (Clearwater Lake) There is so much to see and do from the time you leave Clearwater until you get to the cabins and then all the way up. It took us about 20 minutes to drive to the cabins from the info centre.

The cabin is perfect for an overnight stay or two... with stuff planned during the day. Bring your kids if you want because there is a pull out couch. This place is MODERN with modern furniture, bedding, flat screen tv, newer appliances, etc.

We opted for the $10 breakfast package. In our fridge we had a container of juice, a 500 ml of milk, 4 eggs, 4 slices of bread, 2 muffins, 2 oranges, 2 yogurt, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, creamo, jams, butter etc. It was perfect! We brough bacon and extra fruit and had a FABULOUS breakfast!!

They have a mini office for processing your payment. When we got there we just picked up the phone and dialed the owner who came right over and took payment at the office. She is VERY NICE and helpful. Very pleasant! She left us menus for local restaurants, brochures etc.

There is a perfect little patio set in front of the cabin (we stayed in #2) where we had a glass of wine and enjoyed the natural setting around us.

These cabins come fairly equiped. If you are staying a couple of days let me suggest a few things to bring with you from home: (or a few things that Joan might want to consider putting into the unit)

*wine opener
*large frying pan (only 1 and it is tiny)
*steak knives or carving knives if you want to actually cut anything with requires more than a butter knife
*frying pan flipper (your choices are wooden or slotted spoon)
*a couple games (they do have cards and dice which we were SO happy about!)

The bed was not the most comfortable bed I have stayed in, and it's a double. Strangely enough we couldn't find many accomodations in Clearwater that had Queen or King size bed. hmmm... Our backs hurt pretty bad the next day. Also, water pressure is awful.

BUT... the hospitality makes up for all of these things. IE: I left my nightgown behind. The owner Express-Posted it to me in the mail.

How is that for service? Can't say I have had an experience that can beat that.

We will absolutely be back. Next time we are going to take our kids!

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scorpion1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 25, 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews