We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe bet roadside motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Safe bet roadside motel”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Ok stop on the way and to visit Grey Wells park. Roomy rooms, bathroom had
some dust accumulation behind the door and in the fan. Nice outdoor yard on
the lakeside. Not too noisy. Blue Loon restaurant just a bit back towards Jasper was nice, good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisaapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
21
46
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Able to book in early and spend afternoon exploring Wells Gray Provincial Park without all our possessions being left in the vehicle. The motel has lovely views from the bedroom and a very attractive garden where we were able to enjoy our lunch and watch the birds as we had our lunch. Motel staff very helpful. Having a kitchen available to make drinks, sandwiches for lunch and a quick breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Extremely small RV sites and horribly rude manager. I would tell everyone not to go to this facility.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank binkey36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The small town of Clearwater, and the Dutch Lake Motel is an excellent midway stop berween Vancouver B.C. and Jasper Alberta. The town is also adjacent to Wells Gray Provincial Park with it's excellent network of hiking trails and viewable waterfalls.

On first approach this motel is not much to look at. Hidden behind it however, is a lovely lakeview, and enough greenspace for relaxing. The rooms are located on two levels, all with walk-out sliding doors facing the lake. The rates quoted were fairly reasonable.

The good news stopped there. Our room was in need of updating, and a bit of upkeep. The paint on the ceiling above the shower stall was peeling from what looked like a major leak in the room above. The queen size bed was either worn so badly...or so cheap....that you could feel the springs. (Note to management - if you cannot afford to replace the bed, then perhaps a mattress topper!).

We had booked a room with a kitchenette, so that we would have access to a fridge and have some way of heating water for a thermos. Unfortunately there was an additional charge of $10 to access a pot (or kettle) to boil water, so this meant filling our thermos a cup at a time in the microwave.

We wanted to like this Motel, there was so much potential, and as we have had friends stay here with no major complaints, perhaps we were just unlucky with a room still on their renovation list. But we can only review for what we received, and unfortunately our rating is lessened because of it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keskeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

great motel was pleasantly surprised upon entering the motel as the initial look of the motel from the outside isn't great! upon entering we found the roomsto be spacious & very clean with a lovely view from swinging seat in the gardens over lake!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We rolled into the Dutch Lake Motel mid afternoon. My son and me were on the final stages of a motorcycle tour of BC and Alberta. We'd booked into the Dutch Lake Motel purely because it was the furthest we wanted to ride that day and it just happened to be there. It's a motel - we weren't expecting too much.

As we turned into the car park, it did appear to be just another motel - nothing much to say about it really. We booked in and headed for our room, surprise number one. We opened the door and the room was really nice - clean, and very cozy. Surprise number two was when we saw what was lurking at the back of the place. We took a short walk down a path and found an idylic little lake (Dutch Lake) which had a small RV park on the bank. This motel must be in the nicest location of any motel anywhere.

Opposite the motel is a restaurant where we went to eat, It's run by a nice little Asian guy and his Canadian wife. We're not sure if it''s a regular nightly thing but he had a Chinese buffet going - which was really good, this fella can cook, it was excellent.

So, in all we had a a very pleasant stay here when we weren't expecting anything special. I've stayed in a few motels in Europe but nothing better than this.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This motel has a beautiful view, generous-sized rooms and great potential, but the management (we understand it recently changed hands) doesn't seem to know what they are doing.

We were there for a family reunion and had no hot water for the three days of our stay and heard through the "maid grapevine" that problems with the boiler were not new. They apparently had no contingency plan for this kind of problem All they did was offer us a 20% discount. As we had all booked months in advance and this was one of the busiest weekends of the year, we felt we had not choice but to take the offer.

Another relative, also attending the reunion, had booked a lake-side camping spot months earlier through former management, but all those prime spots had been given away under an apparently new "first come; first served" basis. She did get a spot but not the one she wanted.

Maid service was very hit and miss throughout the weekend as well. As far as we could tell the maids came into our room once but did very little. We didn't even get more coffee for the coffee maker.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aquamaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Clearwater Lodge
Clearwater Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clearwater
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wells Gray Inn
Wells Gray Inn
#3 of 8 in Clearwater
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clearwater Valley Resort
Clearwater Valley Resort
#6 of 8 in Clearwater
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ace Western Motel
Ace Western Motel
#8 of 8 in Clearwater
105 reviews
10.0 mi away
Alpine Meadows Resort
Alpine Meadows Resort
#1 of 8 in Clearwater
415 reviews
0.7 mi away
KOA Campgrounds
KOA Campgrounds
#10 of 16 in Clearwater
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground

Property: Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground
Address: 333 Roy Rd, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground in Clearwater, BC is a charming motel with a campground in a natural setting. Both business and leisure travelers will enjoy modern suites with beautiful balcony overlooking Dutch Lake. From Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground, you can explore Wells Gray Provincial Park, also known as "Water Falls Park" featuring Sparhat Falls, Dawson Falls and Helmken Falls(480ft. high) and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dutch Lake Motel And Campground Hotel Clearwater
Dutch Lake Hotel And Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing