We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oriental food in an Occidental setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Grill

Silver Grill
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Fort Macleod
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Oriental food in an Occidental setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Talk about a clash of cultures! Restaurant has a gorgeous Western bar and a kitchen serving the best Chinese food in town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    4
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Surprise, surprise.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Ew. Sometimes a dive has good food and friendly people, but we weren't so lucky at the Silver Grill. My burger tasted really good until halfway through, when I bit down on a 3-inch long gristly piece of I-don't-want-to-know what. The sweetly condescending server mused that perhaps it was a vein. He also pointed out that I had made it through 80 percent of the burger (we had a show to see at the Empress, so rather than reorder, I finished off the bun). I asked the server to knock a few bucks of the price of the entrée. I was granted a discount of two dollars.
I did not appreciate the disgusting surprise, and the assumption that I was out to save a few measly bucks on a meal at a crappy little greasy spoon. If you want a burger in Fort Macleod, go to the A & W.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GimmeANameFFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Excellent service. The food is good. Always feel welcoming when coming in here. Usually order Canadian food there. There are many Chinese food options and there are better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrEvil1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Surprisingly good small-town restaurant...fresh ingredients, very nice historic interior. I wouldn't call it pricey - mains were $10-$15.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

excellent food little pricey but good service I have tried all the chinese restaraunts in our area and consider this one of the better ones

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank grandmacabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Grill also viewed

 
Fort Macleod, Alberta
Fort Macleod, Alberta
 

Been to Silver Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing