We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Campground” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daisy May Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Macleod
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Daisy May Campground
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Campground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We found out about Daisy May through Good Sam. We were only going to stay for 2 days while we had our truck repaired but we stayed for 5 nights as it was such a nice place. Our site was under the trees away from the highway. We were there during the week so it wasn't very busy. When we did have neighbors, they were really nice people. The upper area where we stayed was grassy and the sites had power and water. WiFi was available near the office. The people were very friendly. The store has a few basics and even some RV supplies that we thought were cheaper than the RV store in town. There is lots of walking room as you can walk all around the campsites that are adjacent to the Oldman River. There is a playground and a pool. We didn't try the pool as we were too busy touring around. We would go back because the people were so friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

DO NOT STAY IN LOWER CAMPGROUND!! We made a reservation for 4 nights but only stayed 3. Mainly because when it rained in the lower campground (no hook ups) it was flooded out. I'm talking about a 30 minutes rain would leave ALL sites with puddles of water for half a day and then all mud for a day in a half. At least 3 other sites packed up as well. Mosquitos were brutal however your camping so bring off. They even had a sign saying no refunds for the mosquitos! I thought they were kidding! The mud and lack of privacy in the upper campground were also pretty bad. In the upper site they do not have campfires, you have to rent them in a little fire pit they bring you. The pool they have for the kids is the only thing a have to say is good, kids had fun in the pool. Someone said these guys are the 3rd owners in the past 5 years! it needs a closure for a couple of weeks, loads and loads of gravel for the road ways and sites. Will not return and would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: If you go to the fort, a must is a the ma and pa restaurant next to the fort. Homemade sandwiches an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Macleod hotels

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a great campground! Set on the shore of the Old Man River, the grounds are nicely treed and the sites are quite private, if not a little close. Still, we enjoyed privacy and a real peacefulness. A playground and pool kept the kids busy and allowed them to meet other children on site. We also ambled the shoreline with an eye for interesting rocks. The owner was very friendly and welcoming. For a reasonable fee, they provided nice fire pits and enough wood for the evening and then some. We would definitely return. Full-service sites 16-24 are across the road from the River which was just right for us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family4Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a group of 60 people, ranging in age from 2 to 85. Most of us were in tents in their group campground, but they also have a couple of rustic cabins for rent. We also rented a large covered tent area for our family BBQ. As it turned out the weather was perfect, so we were able to stay outside, but the large grill was perfect for feeding a lot of people. The washrooms and showers were clean, they have a nice little pool which is great for the kids and there is a nice 9 hole golf course across the street (the Fort MacLeod Golf and Country Club). We couldn't find a better location for our family reunion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Macleod
0.8 mi away
DJ Motel
DJ Motel
#5 of 5 in Fort Macleod
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
21.3 mi away
Best Seven Inn
Best Seven Inn
#1 of 3 in Claresholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
22.5 mi away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#2 of 3 in Claresholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Century II Motel
Century II Motel
#4 of 5 in Fort Macleod
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort Motel
Fort Motel
#1 of 5 in Fort Macleod
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Coat Inn Motel
Red Coat Inn Motel
#3 of 5 in Fort Macleod
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daisy May Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daisy May Campground

Property: Daisy May Campground
Address: 249 Lyndon Road, Fort Macleod, Alberta T0L 0Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Fort Macleod
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Fort Macleod
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Daisy May Campground Fort Macleod, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing