We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.91*
and up
Old West and First Nations Heritage Day Trip From Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located 18 km north & west of Fort Macleod, Alberta, Canada at a location where the foothills of the Rocky Mountains meet the Great Plains, one of the world's oldest, largest, and best preserved buffalo jumps can be found. Head-Smashed-In - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - has been used continuously by aboriginal peoples of the plains nearly 6,000 years.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

World heritage site that totally lives up to its status. From the approach you could easy be misled into thinking there was very little to see but once inside you are given a fantastic inside into the history and development of the First Nations people and their dependence on the buffalo/bison. All was brought to life by the videos and re-enactment of the buffalo hunts. Worthwhile taking both the higher and lower walks to see the jump from both sides - prairie wind and crickets add to the experience

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank maryo297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSIBJ, Public Relations Manager at Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello Mary,
We appreciate you taking the time to visit and review our centre. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your visit.
Safe travels,
The HSIBJ Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    120
    17
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Impressive - well worth it”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Centre has a wonderful view over the Great Plains, and is itself pretty wonderful. It's quite an architectural feat, blending a modern multi-level centre into the rocky outcrop where the buffaloes in question jumped to their deaths thousands of years before.

The subject is presented to optimum advantage, for instance by using beautiful animations, realistic, full-size dioramas, exhibits and voice recordings of living members of the tribes.

Every aspect of this phenomenon - sociological, political, geological, paleontological, archeological and even linguistic has been researched and painstakingly presented. It is sometimes sad, in some aspects shocking, but more often valuable and memorable.

It is really excellent and absolutely worth the drive - it's a UNESCO World Heritage Site for a reason. You definitely won't be bored.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chez-Mob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSIBJ, Public Relations Manager at Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello Chez-Mob,
Thank you for visiting Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump and taking time to rate us on TripAdvisor.
We hope that all our visitors will have a five star experience when visiting, and we would love to know what we can improve.
Safe travels,
The HSIBJ Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Collins, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Jump site was interesting but the museum was quite good. Movie and displays brought it all together.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RockyFtCollins_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSIBJ, Public Relations Manager at Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello RockyFTCollins,
Thank you for visiting our site and taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We want all of our visitors to experience a visit worth five stars and we would love to know what we can improve. Your feedback is appreciated.
Safe travels,
The HSIBJ Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fascinating day out”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We took in a trip to Buffalo Jump on our road trip through western Canada. Didn't really know what to expect, but spent much longer here than anticipated. The interpretive centre was fascinating - we learned so much about the lives of the First Nation people, and the artefacts were really interesting. The centre was run by helpful and welcoming people who really knew their stuff! We enjoyed the short trail out to the jump, and the outdoor viewing platform. The food in the cafe was fresh, well prepared and tasty, and made a change from the usual 'fast food' found in similar places. A really worthwhile day out - one of the highlights of our holiday. I can only think that the person who rated it as 'terrible' missed the interpretive centre altogether, judging from their review!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank S8C11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSIBJ, Public Relations Manager at Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello S8C11,
Thank you for visiting our site and taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your positive review and are pleased that you enjoyed your visit!
Safe travels,
The HSIBJ Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bringing the past to the present”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The name intrigued me, but the visit enlightened me. Seeing the ingenuity of our Native Americans locating a food source, capturing it, and preserving it in this unique manner was a marvelous look at our history. The museum, with the related artifacts, was magnificent experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rnvetrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSIBJ, Public Relations Manager at Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello De Pere,
Thank you for visiting our site and taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the review!
Safe Travels,
The HSIBJ Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump also viewed

 

Been to Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing