We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so over-rated and consistently disappointing”

Smitty's Oyster House
Ranked #10 of 51 Restaurants in Gibsons
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Canadian, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“so over-rated and consistently disappointing”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

great oysters, weird condiments. i don't think the chef has taste buds. strange cumin worcestershire or whatever sauces. yuk!
hot salmon on a cold zucchini salad with mint. yuk! and everything stacked with balsamic reduction. is it 1998?
amazing location. awesome view. generally competent staff although they can be pretty damn confident about how downtown cool they are, like every customer who comes in is a peasant and wow-ed by their presence.
i am not rushing back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mondodelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    74
    35
    13
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The attitude of the waitress made it all bad!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We traveled up there from the States. This was a reccomendation from the information guy on the BC Ferries. We found the place and to our delight it was a nice day and wanted to sit out side. There was no one there to greet us so I walked into the restaurant. My welcome was a tall blonde young lady (very pretty) with a HUGE BAD ATTITUDE (very ugly). You could tell she took offense of me walking into the restaurant. We asked to be seated outside (mind you there were 3 people at the big table outside that fits at least 24 or more). When we both took the side to face the small boat harbor (the view) she said we had to sit across from each other...which is fine but she was a be-eye-tee-sea-h about it. If it was me I would have said we prefer you sit this way but since there is no one here right now please feel free to sit next to each other and take in the view and if it starts to get crowded please move around...much kinder way to accomodate all needs. We ordered a dozen oysters and two glasses of wine. She then went down the table and took an order from another cople and proceeded to explain the type of oysters they were getting the price points, etc. When we heard how she accomodated them with information we asked her for more details and once again we were meet with a BAD ATTITUDE. I come from a big city where prices are expensive but with that comes great service and I glady pay it....so you woo me into spending more. It was all I could do to leave the place quickly. If she was my waitress at my restaurant she would have been fired. I also found this place to be overpriced for the location and the poor service. I mentioned this to others around the area in our 5 day stay on the Sunshine coast and no one locally was shocked to hear about the BAD Attitude waitress and how over priced it was. If you want oysters this is what I reccomend...drive into Seschelt, go to the Fish Market and buy their oysters ($7.95 for approx. a dozen in a container). Take them to a beautiful look out point with and enjoy! Don't waste your time with this place...until they get a new waitress and give you more bang for your buck!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Colleend55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sitting on the dock of the bay...”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent seafood in a charming seafront setting. Great outdoor seating with a fantastic view of the marina with sailboats and seagulls. The oysters are choice, the halibut and chips one of the best on the Sunshine Coast. The beer on tap is also excellent. A little pricey but the atmosphere makes it worth it. The outdoor seating comprises of large polished wood trestle tables and so you do sit with strangers but I found this made for interesting conversation and was fun.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Expensive, but Delicious!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We've been trying to visit Smitty's for 3 years now - every time we've come to the Sunshine Coast, it's been closed for some reason. We were so excited to finally be able to go, and happily we weren't disappointed. It's certainly not cheap - but portions are large, and the inventiveness of one of our meals was exceptional! They offer oysters done in a variety of ways, an we opted for the fried oysters and the baked oysters in their shells topped with chevre. The fried oysters were fresh, plump, well cooked and were accompanied by a very tasty house-made tartar sauce and salad, but it was the baked oysters that stole the show - they were amazing! It's too bad that they were unaccompanied, but they were so rich and delicious we forgave the lack of a salad or bread (which would have been wonderful to sop up the cheesy goodness in the shells). Although we'd read reviews that complained about the service, our guy was helpful, attentive and pleasant. We'd also read reviews complaining about the overly-loud music, and it was so loud we had trouble carrying on a conversation across our table; however, there is outside seating which we will request when we next visit - the sound level was much more tolerable there. All in all, a very good dining experience, especially if you're an oyster fan!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty08Vancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
2 reviews
“Fun and friendly”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stopped by for some snacks and drinks on a busy night and they were able to get us a spot at the bar pretty quickly. The oysters were clean and fresh and they shucked them in front of us at the bar. They make a really good caesar and the bartender was friendly and lots of fun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smitty's Oyster House also viewed

Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Smitty's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing