We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but Delicious!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smitty's Oyster House

Smitty's Oyster House
Ranked #10 of 51 Restaurants in Gibsons
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Canadian, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Expensive, but Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We've been trying to visit Smitty's for 3 years now - every time we've come to the Sunshine Coast, it's been closed for some reason. We were so excited to finally be able to go, and happily we weren't disappointed. It's certainly not cheap - but portions are large, and the inventiveness of one of our meals was exceptional! They offer oysters done in a variety of ways, an we opted for the fried oysters and the baked oysters in their shells topped with chevre. The fried oysters were fresh, plump, well cooked and were accompanied by a very tasty house-made tartar sauce and salad, but it was the baked oysters that stole the show - they were amazing! It's too bad that they were unaccompanied, but they were so rich and delicious we forgave the lack of a salad or bread (which would have been wonderful to sop up the cheesy goodness in the shells). Although we'd read reviews that complained about the service, our guy was helpful, attentive and pleasant. We'd also read reviews complaining about the overly-loud music, and it was so loud we had trouble carrying on a conversation across our table; however, there is outside seating which we will request when we next visit - the sound level was much more tolerable there. All in all, a very good dining experience, especially if you're an oyster fan!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty08Vancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    73
    35
    13
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons, Canada
2 reviews
“Fun and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stopped by for some snacks and drinks on a busy night and they were able to get us a spot at the bar pretty quickly. The oysters were clean and fresh and they shucked them in front of us at the bar. They make a really good caesar and the bartender was friendly and lots of fun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spring Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

what a great place! Enjoyed the atmosphere, loved watching the cooks (very young guys) cooking up the sea food, it smelled fantastic and all of the food was excellent. I bet it would be difficult to get in here in the summer - arrive early!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LDicksonRevelstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The "pearl" of Gibsons....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our recent trip to the Sunshine Coast turned out to be a real "treat". If you like oysters, and even if you don't you will love the food and fun nature at this little hidden "pearl" ie: (something precious or choice; the finest example of anything!) With an extensive menu of trendy cuisine, there is something delectable for everyone.

Everyone seemed to have the chili lime prawns in front of them, how could I say no?... So after ordering an obvious 12 of the buck a shuck and devouring those, the prawns were really some of the best little morsels I've ever tasted. Their arugula salad accompanied the meal perfectly.

The service staff is fun and young, with a fresh, professional vibe. Their focus on excellence and atmosphere makes for a fantastic experience.

Kudos Smitty's and best of luck with your newest venture the Saltwater Chophouse, I'm certain it will be a smashing success!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B.C.Puma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Oysters.....Great Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you can get a seat at Smitty's then grab it and enjoy a wonderful meal! Fresh oysters on the half shell! Delicious seafood and many other options to choose from. The outdoor seating is a great way to make new friends and enjoy the hustle of the marina! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smitty's Oyster House also viewed

Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Smitty's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing