We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and friendly”

Smitty's Oyster House
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Gibsons
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Gibsons, Canada
2 reviews
“Fun and friendly”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stopped by for some snacks and drinks on a busy night and they were able to get us a spot at the bar pretty quickly. The oysters were clean and fresh and they shucked them in front of us at the bar. They make a really good caesar and the bartender was friendly and lots of fun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    76
    35
    13
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spring Break”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

what a great place! Enjoyed the atmosphere, loved watching the cooks (very young guys) cooking up the sea food, it smelled fantastic and all of the food was excellent. I bet it would be difficult to get in here in the summer - arrive early!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LDicksonRevelstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The "pearl" of Gibsons....”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our recent trip to the Sunshine Coast turned out to be a real "treat". If you like oysters, and even if you don't you will love the food and fun nature at this little hidden "pearl" ie: (something precious or choice; the finest example of anything!) With an extensive menu of trendy cuisine, there is something delectable for everyone.

Everyone seemed to have the chili lime prawns in front of them, how could I say no?... So after ordering an obvious 12 of the buck a shuck and devouring those, the prawns were really some of the best little morsels I've ever tasted. Their arugula salad accompanied the meal perfectly.

The service staff is fun and young, with a fresh, professional vibe. Their focus on excellence and atmosphere makes for a fantastic experience.

Kudos Smitty's and best of luck with your newest venture the Saltwater Chophouse, I'm certain it will be a smashing success!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B.C.Puma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Oysters.....Great Night”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you can get a seat at Smitty's then grab it and enjoy a wonderful meal! Fresh oysters on the half shell! Delicious seafood and many other options to choose from. The outdoor seating is a great way to make new friends and enjoy the hustle of the marina! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great oysters, Yaletown prices”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a bit of an outlier when compared to the average Sunshine coast restaurant. On a recent weekend trip I visited them twice in as many nights and other than the uptick in my Visa balance, I have no complaints.

Very similar in style to to their Rodney's location in Yaletown, it's a casual but upscale spot right on the docks in Gibson's Landing.

The good?

Fantastic and fresh oysters

Entrees are top notch and priced accordingly

Great staff and service

The odd?

Getting up or down the dock staircase in the dark, after a few drinks is a challenge

It seems pricey for the location but hey, you get what you pay for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smitty's Oyster House also viewed

Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Smitty's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing