We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Frida's Mexican Restaruant - CLOSED

Frida's Mexican Restaruant
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Madeira Park, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Frida's is located in an old renovated house overlooking the harbor & it's an awesome view from the patio. We had excellent service from a very pleasant staff but our food was just OK. The menu is limited & the portion size for the money wasn't worth it. We'd stop again but only for a drink & appetizer while sitting on the patio. Hoping they expand the menu!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank bcarney07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mexican in Gibsons”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Just had my first fresh lime margarita at Fridas, Gibson's newest restaurant. What a treat to relax on their lovely deck overlooking Keats Island. Gibsons really needs more ethnic food choices and Fridas delivers with fresh ingredients and great flavours. The menu is small at the moment but staff promised wider choices in the coming months. Service is great, atmosphere wonderful and I really enjoyed my fish taco. Looking forward to some more kid-friendly choices but will definitely go again for a date night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gambierkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Salsa is not made out of ketchup!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Frida's has a lovely patio. That's the best I can say. Chips were made out of store bought tortillas and the salsa was a bowl of ketchup with a sprinkle of cilantro. The chicken enchilada with mole can best be described as awful, the chicken breast on salad, not too bad. The servers were inexperienced and the menu lacking variety. So disappointing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefMedina, Owner at Frida's Mexican Restaruant, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you Kathy for taking the time to post a review. I would like however to clear a couple of things up. The chips and house salsa are served as a free appetizer to all our guest in following the Mexican tradition of "bontanas". The chips are not store bought but rather are made fresh daily from Dona Elsita corn tortillas. Also, the house salsa (which is only served with the chips) is not made from ketchup but canned tomatoes and in fact IS the only ingredient we use that is canned. Our vision at Frida's is one of using only scratch made, sustainable, local and organic (as much as possible) as well as ONLY ethically treated hormone,-antibiotic free and free range meat. Our tomatoes for our pico de gallo (fresh salsa) come from Roosendale farms in Pender Harbour and our beautiful salad greens come from Henry Reed farms in Gibsons. Our chickens come from Salmon Arm the day they're butchered from the only farm in Western Canada that grows their own feed, raises and butchers their chickens. Our pork comes from the Fraser valley. We even go as far as making our own queso fresco (fresh cheese) to top our mole. As for our mole, it is a sophisticated unusual combination of chilies and chocolate that takes about 4 hours to make every day(: We do however realize that because of it's complexity it's not suited to everyone's taste so will therefore be adding a green chili enchilada as well. We do hope you come see us again and invite you to visit our kitchen and see what we do here (:
Chef Medina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you build it, they will come.”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

What a refreshing dining experience nestled in the heart of lower Gibsons. Upon entering the intimate dining room we were surrounded by a joyful atmosphere of bright colors, local art and hand made mexican decorations. The service staff were
attentive and took pride in their work. The menu was limited but had most of what I wanted with the promise of new additions soon. I ordered the chicken mole and the fish tacos, both favorites of mine. I was soon greeted by a bowl of fresh corn tortilla chips and salsa along with the best Margarita I've had in Canada. The mains arrived a bit late but were amazing. The mole was perfect. Strong notes of chocolate and chili up front, tapering off to a belly warming heat. Then I learned of the food philosophy at Frida's. People need to know about this..... To start with all the meats are local and organic as well as the vegetables. Nothing is frozen and everything is made fresh everyday!!! They need to do a better job of telling us this! That is my major complaint if you can call it that. While touring the kitchen I was surrounded by bales of dried chili's and masterful hands. Frida's is a diamond being polished so get there and try it yourself.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank coastalcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It's Mexican not Mexicant!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

What a great little restaurant! It's like eating at someone's home it's so quaint but don't let that fool you; the food is quality and fairly priced. Both my partner and I had the chicken enchiladas and they rocked our world! Yes menu is small but that means they aren't stretching too far and get good at what they have. Maybe a burrito for future but we will be back nonetheless. Highly recommend and staff are super friendly and efficient. Go try and don't think of this as fast good Mexican. No. This is good, slow food Mexican that you'll love. We are in no way affiliated with this restaurant. We just thought it was great and a fantastic addition to cuisine on the Coast.

Helpful?
3 Thank moae111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frida's Mexican Restaruant also viewed

Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing