We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, with out-of-this-world breakfasts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gibsons
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Gibsons B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I could go on and on about the lovely suites, the spacious garden, the excellent location, the cleanliness etc. But the really astonishing feature of this marvellous B&B is the cooking! We stayed for three nights, and every morning it was something completely different and wonderful. When I told Kathleen that I was returning home ten pounds heavier, she considered our stay a success. A success, it truly was. Thank you not only for the great breakfasts, but also for being warm, friendly and accommodating hosts.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view from your room, book the Palm suite. The Bamboo suite is large and cozy, w...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

I'm so glad you enjoyed our breakfasts. The cooking and serving of breakfasts to our guests is the fun part of running my B&B. I still have a few recipes that you haven't tasted so come back and try them sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was fortunate to be referred to this lovely Bed and Breakfast. I was in town on business for a week and wanted a quiet place to relax after some very long days. It was so quiet and peaceful, just what I needed to recharge. Kathleen was such an accommodating and caring hostess....not to mention she provided some absolutely delicious breakfasts with a pot of coffee delivered right to my room. I hope to visit again on holiday to take advantage of her beautiful garden. There is a huge movie and book collection too if you need a little something to while away the time with.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstringer, Owner at Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

I'm so glad that we met your needs on your recent business trip. Thank you for sharing your experience with future guests and I look forward to your return when you are on a less hectic schedule. There is a soft chair and a pot of tea waiting for you in the gazebo this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Just stayed 2 nights at the Secret Beach B&B and was very satisfied. Besides having a good, clean room with all the necessities, the owner Kathleen and Peter were very warm and welcoming and helpful. Most notably, the breakfast was AMAZING. Home made, scones and wild salmon omelets just to name a few. Also, as we were mountain biking on the last day, they let us come back and use the shower after our check-out time had elapsed which was very unexpected and generous. There was no view from our suite, but the ocean view from upstairs is quite nice. 2 minute drive to all the restaurants, coffee shops, grocery store, etc. Would I go back? Absolutely. The only thing I would recommend to the owners is maybe get a larger television and a cooking apparatus for couples, families that are staying for longer periods.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phatty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstringer, Owner at Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments about our B&B. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfasts and the amenities. There is a large screen tv in the lounge with a comfortable reclining sofa in front of it. And the two suites have microwaves, fridges and toaster ovens, while the Guest Room is for shorter stays. Alas, zoning regulations do not permit the installation of stoves in the suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at Secret Beach B&B a couple of years ago and enjoyed our stay completely. We returned this October and although we didn't believe it could be better - it was. Last time was in the summer and the gardens and weather were beautiful. At this time of year we sat in front of the fireplace in the lounge and relaxed in the big soaker tub in our Bamboo Suite. The short walk to the beach was wonderful and there wasn't another soul on the beach. It was so peaceful. Kathleen and Peter were again the perfect hosts and Kathleen has added some new breakfast recipes which are out of this world. Secret Beach B&B is everything we wanted for a wonderful peaceful and luxurious getaway. We can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onlythebestwe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstringer, Owner at Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for giving us such a nice review. You were lucky to experience another season than summer here. While summer is filled with sunshine and warm weather (and guests) the other 3 seasons on the Sunshine Coast each have their unique charms and especially a peacefulness which comes from fewer visitors in those seasons..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We had the best few days at Secret Beach B&B in Gibsons, B.C. We had wonderful breakfasts in the shaded gazebo while watching deer graze in the beautiful gardens. Our suite was really big, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. We had the garden view suite, which we loved, but we also loved sitting in the upper lounge, sipping a little something and gazing at the fabulous view of the ocean and all the ships and ferries sailing by. Kathleen and Peter were great hosts, providing local tips and interesting conversation. This is the best B&B we have stayed in and we wish our hosts all the bookings they can manage. They deserve to be full every night.

Room Tip: The Bamboo Suite has a fireplace, heated bathroom floors and a lovely view of the garden. We were a...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstringer, Owner at Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

The gazebo is my favourite place in the summer too. When I have a few minutes I often take a pot of tea out there and sit with a guest in the cool shade of the grape vines. Come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent two nights in the Palm suite, which was much bigger than we thought it would be, and very clean. The kitchenette is actually a kitchen with everything except a cooktop, which we didn't expect or need. The bathroom is huge. You can almost move in there. The view is fantastic. The area is very very quiet. There is easy access to a supermarket about 2 minutes away and to town about 5 minutes. There is also a large garden which we didn't get to use, there is so much to do in the area... the library is stocked with dozens of DVDs and hundreds of books. Breakfast was very good - just what we asked. We'll come back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank QandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in August and it was perfect for us. The Bamboo room is a suite on the ground floor that is very private and opens up to outside through patio doors front and back. We had breakfast on the back patio every morning and it was fantastic (Kathleen is an excellent cook)! The yard is beautiful and the location is great. There is a plum tree in the back yard that had hundreds of delicious ripe plums first week of August. We'll definitely be back to the Sunshine Coast and specifically this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmwicent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibsons
1.3 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
148 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bonniebrook Lodge
The Bonniebrook Lodge
#1 of 15 in Gibsons
94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caprice Bed & Breakfast
Caprice Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 15 in Gibsons
118 reviews
10.5 mi away
Beachside by the Bay
Beachside by the Bay
#3 of 11 in Sechelt
51 reviews
23.0 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast

Address: 995 Grandview Rd, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Gibsons
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gibsons
Price Range: $110 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for business or pleasure. Spectacular ocean views at this luxurious B&B. These romantic suites are located in a separate wing of the home. They are private, spacious, beautifully appointed and include such extras as free wifi, ipod docks, plush robes and slippers, fireplace, deep soaker tub, oversize shower, vaulted ceilings, heated slate floor, kitchenettes and warm from the oven baking with your full breakfast each morning. Golf, kayaking, hiking, horseback riding, diving, hot tub, or relaxing - the choice is yours at Secret Beach B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Beach Bed And Breakfast Gibsons, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing