We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food substition w/o telling us was a problem!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of SweetWater Bistro

SweetWater Bistro
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Gibsons
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Refreshingly uncomplicated and delciious food. Service with excellence overlooking Gibsons Landing and the Harbour. Outdoor patio. Join us in historic Gibsons Landing.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food substition w/o telling us was a problem!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

3 in our party of 4 ordered the Seafood pasta. We were told that the fish of the day in that dish was Salmon but they were not serving one of the shellfish items in that dish b/c of safety issues, which was fine with us. Then part way through our meal we noticed that none of us had Salmon in our dishes!!! We all had ordered this dish because it had Salmon in it. We mentioned this to our waitress, who was pleasant throughout dinner, and she said "they ran out of Salmon". She acted like it wasn't a big deal and we aren't ones to make a big deal out of things, and we had half eaten our meals before we noticed so we excepted her offer of free desert. Guess what they brought ONE dessert for the three of us even though the Salmon was missing from all 3 meals. This was an extremely important detail that we should have been informed of before it was served to us. Not impressed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    20
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“How lucky we were to miss our ferry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Sweetwater Bistro gets a rare 5 rating from me. It is one of the few places that I would sacrifice to eat at.

We made the mad dash south to catch the ferry back to Horseshoe Bay but got stuck behind some slower vehicles as well as a few roof strobe enhanced cars. As a result we missed our ferry by about a minute. With a couple hours to spend, we decided to head into Gibsons for dinner. Using the TripAdvisor mobile app from our parking spot on the street we hit the places near you option. Low and behold we'd parked in front of Sweetwater Bistro.

A couple of 5 rated reviews by people with slim review histories is often a dubious sign of quality. We decided to chance it. I can tell you that the reviews are legitimate. This place is excellent. We each ordered one of the daily specials, and I wish I'd written this review a couple weeks ago so I could tell you what it was... apart from "some wild salmon thing", but it doesn't matter, everything we had was terrific.

Others have said the Sweetwater Birstro is the best place on the Sunshine Coast and while we haven't tried many places so far, I can see no impediment to this claim. The staff was warm and welcoming. They provided excellent service without being obsequious. This is not a tourist restaurant. Extra points for making it plain that children are discouraged, and if present must be well behaved and quiet.

It looks like we will have to miss our ferry again, and again. ;-)

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food, great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We've been several times. Terrific value! Simple bistro menu means everything is excellent! Vegetables always fresh and flavourful, like home cooking. Pasta is impeccable, Chicken is delish. and get this: a FIVE DOLLAR glass of wine. In a restaurant of this calibre! Shows that the proprietors have their priorities right. We'll be back often.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank deli24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a special evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

This place was a fine surprise. We weren't sure what to expect, and had booked based on their website. The event was a special birthday, so we'd hoped for a good outcome. We'd specifically asked for the patio, regardless of weather....and when we arrived we found a table set for us, in the light rain, under a large umbrella, with blankets to keep us warm.
What followed was even better. The food exceeded our expectations. Well prepared, beautifully presented, with the added bonus of excellent service despite the fact that we were the only ones on the patio, in a restaurant otherwise full.
All round worthwhile! Wish this restaurant was closer to home. We'd be more than happy to spend more time there.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mossyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Gibsons!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

The best food and service on the Sunshine Coast. We've been twice and both times were excelent. The staff make you feel like a VIP. The food was fresh and very tasty. I would, and have, recomend to anyone.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garnat07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SweetWater Bistro also viewed

 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to SweetWater Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing