We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well appointed, good staff”
Review of Sunshine Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gibsons
Kelowna, BC
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Clean, well appointed, good staff”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed for three nights for a little getaway. We had a large bedroom with one queen bed (only down side - would have preferred a king). The room, although a little dated in decor, was clean and very large. It was equipped with a largel, wall mounted, flat-screen TV that had lots of cable stations. There was a full size fireplace - which we didn't use as it was the height of summer, and very sunny. Patio doors led to a large cement patio at the back which looked out on a treed hill complete with blackberry bushes. The kitchen was reasonably well equipped with a frying pan, a pot, and dishes and silverware for three or four people. There was a full size barbeque by the pool which we did not use. Also around the pool was a large picnic table and a large patio table and chairs. This was a great place to enjoy the continental breakfast provided. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The place is in walking distance to Molly's Reach and the harbour front - although be warned, it's a long hike back up the hill!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisKelowna_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
24
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My husband and I have stayed a this Inn twice and both times very satisfied with our stay. This is a quaint Inn located within walking distance of town, which has a small mall, Starbucks and you can walk down to the water to all the cute stores, the marina and restaurants. The Inn has a poolside rooms, which I recommend as you are surrounded by flowers and beautiful plants & shrubs for a garden like visit. They also have two outside eating areas to enjoy having your dinner outside on a summer night. The rooms are not updated, however are very clean and the hotel staff are very accommodating. The continental breakfast is good, they provide great brand name cereals, yogurts, bagels and juice! Definitely recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: Recommend poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Sunshine Inn Lodge was a good find. We tried to find a B&B but they were all full. To our delight, the lodge was clean and comfortable. The young man at the front desk was very helpful with choosing a place for dinner. My wife and I were pleased overall and enjoyed the continental breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean room with large bathroom, kitchenette, and fireplace. Friendly staff. If you're looking for high-end luxury you won't find it here, but it's charming and comfortable. I would recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation on the Sunshine Coast.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank SHawryluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had booked into another place close by, checked in, went into the room and it smelled very musty. Looked at the windows and there was mould all around them. Checked out immediately and set our to find another place to sat. Not far away we found Sunshine Lodge Inn. What a refreshing site. Sean (hope the spelling is correct) at the reception was very friendly and very helpful. He put us in a room by the pool for $5.00 more then we were going to pay at the other place. The difference was like day and night. The room was so clean with nice up to date furnishings and a new flat screen tv. It had a little kitchenette, nice bathroom and even a fireplace (needed to purchase presto log from the reception). What a nice idea. If we had spent more time in the room we would have done this.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The advertised wifi in this place sucks completely. Only one bar when there are any bars at all, and often there is no wifi at all. The TV in my room did not work when I arrived, and I had to ask multiple times before someone came up to look at it. Even when someone said he would be up "in two minute" no one came. The table and chairs in the room are not suitable for computer use unless you want to strain your back, though it's doubtful you'll be using a computer anyway since the wifi sucks.The only good thing about this place is its location. It is conveniently on a public transit route and close walking distance to a shopping mall, Molly's Reach and the downtown waterfront. You can even take public transit to and from the ferry if you don't mind walking a block or two.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wage S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

After a week in various BC hotels whose mattresses tended toward overly soft, we were delighted with the ones here, firm but not hard. But, everything else about this family-run property was top-notch as well. The gardens around the small pool were lovingly tended; the room was one of the largest, as was the bathroom; a kitchenette is included, which would be helpful for some travelers; and the continental breakfast was more than adequate.

Other pluses: TV screen larger than most, with ample selection of US and Canadian channels; double sink in bathroom; location right on 101, not far from the ferry; near several decent restaurants; an in-room fireplace (for winter use); and friendly staff. The pool towels are bigger and thicker than the bath towels in the room, so we used those for showering.

The pool is small, but quite deep at one end (3 meters, 10 feet), for no apparent reason. The shallow end is one meter, three feet. It was clean and refreshing after a day's drive.

Unfortunately, smoking is allowed on the patio. Our neighbor's ashtray had six butts in it.

Although this was just a one-night stopover on the way back from the Sunshine Coast, we wished the other places in which we had stayed were as nice.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms opening onto the pool patio (an ideal place to enjoy breakfast) are delightfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HarveyL759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibsons
0.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
141 reviews
22.8 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
804 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Bonniebrook Lodge
The Bonniebrook Lodge
#1 of 15 in Gibsons
92 reviews
12.1 mi away
Royal Reach Motel
Royal Reach Motel
#5 of 5 in Sechelt
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Lodge Inn

Property: Sunshine Lodge Inn
Address: 679 North Rd | PO Box 1768, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Gibsons
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gibsons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Lodge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sunshine Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Lodge Inn Gibsons, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing