We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picture Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soames Point Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gibsons
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Soames Point Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 15 Gibsons B&B and Inns
Delta, BC
1 review
“Picture Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Picture perfect? – you bet. We felt like being immersed in a living picture. We watched the sun break through the mist in the morning. Gradually the gentle rays crept on to our faces and enveloped us in a soft warm blanket. With the whisper of swaying leaves around and rhythmic lapping of water at our feet, we felt like a new born in warm cradle arms. When we had enough, we could retreat indoors and catch a second sleep of the day. The fresh air and comfort of the homelike setting relaxed our tired bodies and minds. We felt compelled to pursue our slumber. When we regained consciousness, we actually had to push ourselves out the door to do some excursions.

Hospitality – superb. We got all the information we needed for the day about the area and the activities we were interested in. Tom and Judy are available to answer questions at any time, or talk, when we felt like chatting. They seem like friends whom we have known for a long time, who know our needs of the moment.

Food – Sometimes we did not feel like having a full breakfast in order to try out the local eateries, so we enjoyed the delicious home baking, homemade jam, yogurt, fruit and cheese. Other times, the scrumptious breakfast made us want to forget our lunch or maybe even some of our dinner.

Mystery and adventure on site – The narrow winding footpaths among lustrous groves of flora and fauna led us to different vantage points down the slope toward the water. The firewood was already in the fire pit waiting for us to do the hardest work of the evening - lighting a match –before we were comfortably sandwiched between the sea and the starry sky. If that was not enough, we could swim from there or climb down the rocks during low tide to do some beachcombing nearby. But we chose kayaking this time.

Not surprisingly, we booked our next year’s vacation at – Soames Point B&B. It is less than two hours from Vancouver. Half of that time, we were relaxing on the ferry. This was the best way to maximize the enjoyment of a short vacation for nature lovers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSmithDelta_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the last night of our visit to the Sunshine Coast and it made getting back on that ferry so difficult! The views are amazing. I wished we had booked for longer. It also helped that we had been provided with a pre- laid chiminia on the private deck!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emily g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a wonderful place, ideal for a getaway to the Sunshine Coast. Judy and Tom have built a beautiful home perched on the rocks overlooking Howe Sound less than a five-minute drive from Gibsons. There is only one guest suite, occupying the ground floor on the ocean side. The views are spectacular, and Judy and Tom are wonderful hosts. They have do most of the work on the extensive gardens themselves. One of the highlights of each day we stayed there was chatting with them when they brought our breakfast down to us each morning. We have stayed in some very nice B&Bs over the years, but we think this one is the best!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GandGWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

A comfortable stay to do some business and have some personal time. We felt at home the minute we arrived - quality furnishings with a touch of family antiques, book-laden shelves, a large flat-screen TV, views in 3 directions, binoculars to appreciate ocean life and beaches, a contemporary bathroom with a huge deep tub to relax in, a well-stocked kitchen with wine glasses, etc. We could have stayed a week - next time! Wood-burning stove on a slope-hugging deck above the ocean provided an evening relaxation. Everything was at our finger-tips but with a casual touch to share Judy & Tom's home. A continental breakfast (we wanted light repast) was warm croissants, fresh berries and juice - perfect the next morning after a great dinner at Sweetwater Bistro and a bottle of wine on that little deck in the air. Thank you again.

Room Tip: Arrive early so that you can enjoy the beach and sitting by the sea. Wear runners to climb paths and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gingercatVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Soames Point Bed and Breakfast is the best we have stayed in -anywhere, and it is unique! To begin with, you have a suite of about 600 square feet. In addition to the bed and bath rooms, you have a large living room area looking out on to beautiful Howe Sound, with snow capped mountains in the background. You have your own private deck; in fact, since you are the only guests in the house, you have your own private floor. You also have a kitchen with frig and microwave, along with any dishes etc. you could possibily need. Better yet, it is supplied with a good varierty of nibbles. In this magnificant setting, you are surrounded with beautiful gardens.

For any B&B to be successful it all depends on the hosts. Tom and Judy are outstanding! You receive a warm welcome, with an assisting hand from Tom with the luggage. First hand information is given regarding local restaurants, shopping and tourist sites. The crowning glory is the breakfast, which is served at your selected time, at a table allowing you to gaze out at the fabulous view. Tom and Judy both arrive in the morning carrying trays of juice, fresh fruit, yogurt and some major egg dish. There were always muffins, scones or croissant and if you had any room left, one could enjoy Judy's home made granola. How could one possibily eat all this? You don't; but you do have more than enough to see you through lunch.

Spa treatments are available, in your suite, with bookings through Judy. Each of the two time we have stayed at Soames Point my wife has had a treatment and was most pleased with the service.

Yes, Soames Point is an unique gem, and we will be back! Don

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

A fantastic peaceful and private retreat, overlooking the water from the luxury of a very spacious suite. Several options inside and outside to sit and enjoy the spectacular views. Wonderful hospitality and breakfasts from Judy and Tom. Simply cannot imagine a better place to enjoy the Sunshine Coast at its best during an entire sunny week in spring (Tim and Cheryl).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QualiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at Soames Point twice and have booked again this summer. As soon we came up the driveway we were amazed at how gorgeous the landscaping was. The suite is a good size for two people and is equipped with a fridge, microwave and the cupboards are stocked with hot chocolate, tea, coffee and even popcorn. The view is spectacular from the suite and has huge windows. There are two fire pits, one on the deck and the other right on the water. We used them every night and enjoyed sitting drinking wine and roasting marshmallows by the fire in the peace and quiet. Tom and Judy are a very sweet couple and were very helpful with any questions we had about the area. We looked forward to our breakfast every morning. They do an amazing job not only with the food, (Judy's homemade granola is the best!) but the presentation. We highly recommend Soames Point to get some R&R or if you are looking for a romantic holiday. We can't wait to go back!!
Jenn and Andrew Brendon Langley BC

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibsons
2.0 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bonniebrook Lodge
The Bonniebrook Lodge
#2 of 15 in Gibsons
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
23.8 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arcturus Retreat B&B
Arcturus Retreat B&B
#6 of 15 in Gibsons
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#2 of 26 in Sechelt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soames Point Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soames Point Bed & Breakfast

Property: Soames Point Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1000B Marine Dr, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Gibsons
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gibsons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious luxurious 1 bedroom waterfront suite overlooking picturesque Howe Sound & islands, stunning ocean views, surrounded by woodlands & gardens; private entrance & oceanfront decks & peaceful spaces overlooking the water & nestled in the trees; soaker tub; kitchenette; gas fireplace; cable TV/DVD; wireless internet; scrumptious full breakfasts served in-suite; a variety of soothing in-suite spa services offered. Only minutes away from Gibsons Landing with its many restaurants, shops, museum, local artisans, and theater. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Soames Point Bed & Breakfast Gibsons, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing