We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of home ... a little bit of discovery”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gibsons
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Soames Point Oceanfront Suite
Ranked #4 of 15 Gibsons B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A comfortable stay to do some business and have some personal time. We felt at home the minute we arrived - quality furnishings with a touch of family antiques, book-laden shelves, a large flat-screen TV, views in 3 directions, binoculars to appreciate ocean life and beaches, a contemporary bathroom with a huge deep tub to relax in, a well-stocked kitchen with wine glasses, etc. We could have stayed a week - next time! Wood-burning stove on a slope-hugging deck above the ocean provided an evening relaxation. Everything was at our finger-tips but with a casual touch to share Judy & Tom's home. A continental breakfast (we wanted light repast) was warm croissants, fresh berries and juice - perfect the next morning after a great dinner at Sweetwater Bistro and a bottle of wine on that little deck in the air. Thank you again.

Room Tip: Arrive early so that you can enjoy the beach and sitting by the sea. Wear runners to climb paths and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingercatVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 69 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Soames Point Bed and Breakfast is the best we have stayed in -anywhere, and it is unique! To begin with, you have a suite of about 600 square feet. In addition to the bed and bath rooms, you have a large living room area looking out on to beautiful Howe Sound, with snow capped mountains in the background. You have your own private deck; in fact, since you are the only guests in the house, you have your own private floor. You also have a kitchen with frig and microwave, along with any dishes etc. you could possibily need. Better yet, it is supplied with a good varierty of nibbles. In this magnificant setting, you are surrounded with beautiful gardens.

For any B&B to be successful it all depends on the hosts. Tom and Judy are outstanding! You receive a warm welcome, with an assisting hand from Tom with the luggage. First hand information is given regarding local restaurants, shopping and tourist sites. The crowning glory is the breakfast, which is served at your selected time, at a table allowing you to gaze out at the fabulous view. Tom and Judy both arrive in the morning carrying trays of juice, fresh fruit, yogurt and some major egg dish. There were always muffins, scones or croissant and if you had any room left, one could enjoy Judy's home made granola. How could one possibily eat all this? You don't; but you do have more than enough to see you through lunch.

Spa treatments are available, in your suite, with bookings through Judy. Each of the two time we have stayed at Soames Point my wife has had a treatment and was most pleased with the service.

Yes, Soames Point is an unique gem, and we will be back! Don

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A fantastic peaceful and private retreat, overlooking the water from the luxury of a very spacious suite. Several options inside and outside to sit and enjoy the spectacular views. Wonderful hospitality and breakfasts from Judy and Tom. Simply cannot imagine a better place to enjoy the Sunshine Coast at its best during an entire sunny week in spring (Tim and Cheryl).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QualiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at Soames Point twice and have booked again this summer. As soon we came up the driveway we were amazed at how gorgeous the landscaping was. The suite is a good size for two people and is equipped with a fridge, microwave and the cupboards are stocked with hot chocolate, tea, coffee and even popcorn. The view is spectacular from the suite and has huge windows. There are two fire pits, one on the deck and the other right on the water. We used them every night and enjoyed sitting drinking wine and roasting marshmallows by the fire in the peace and quiet. Tom and Judy are a very sweet couple and were very helpful with any questions we had about the area. We looked forward to our breakfast every morning. They do an amazing job not only with the food, (Judy's homemade granola is the best!) but the presentation. We highly recommend Soames Point to get some R&R or if you are looking for a romantic holiday. We can't wait to go back!!
Jenn and Andrew Brendon Langley BC

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I had the chance to get away for one night, and chose Soames Point, and were not disappointed. The hosts are welcoming, yet respected our space and privacy. The suite was bright, clean, and had amazing views of the water. The breakfast served to our suite in the morning at our requested time was fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend this B and B to any friends looking for a quiet place to get away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

After a 3 day conference in Vancouver it was a welcome break to arrive at Soames Point B & B.
A peaceful retreat overlooking the water and islands of Howe Sound. A home away from home with plenty of room to relax. Wonderful cooked breakfasts and just 5 minutes drive from Gibsons.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife had been to Soames Point last year on a retreat and had raved about it, this time we went together so I could see what she was on about. Her enthusiasm was not misplaced.

Hard to think what could be better. The suite is roomy and clean, there is a deck on one side of the suite and a grass sitting are on the other (both with their own chairs). There is a small kitchen area with microwave and a hot plate, and the kitchen is well provisioned with necessities for cooking light meals if you choose to do so.

There are seating areas below the house closer to the water. The first level down has a deck and an enclosed fireplace, which you can cook on if you so desire. I'd like to try this the next time we go. Were it not October, we could have plunged right into the ocean from the lowest-level area. This spot has been created as a result of a lot of manual labour and was so very pleasant a spot to read or draw or just enjoy the view and the sights and sounds of the water.

Breakfasts were abundant and very good (lunch not necessary!), hosts Tom and Judy were gracious and very helpful in assistnig us finding good local eateries and places we could walk (some of which you wouldn't find without direction).

An excellent B&B experience, highly recommended. We are going back next year, hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbyEmptyNesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibsons
2.0 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
66 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bonniebrook Lodge
The Bonniebrook Lodge
#1 of 15 in Gibsons
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
1.2 mi away
Arcturus Retreat B&B
Arcturus Retreat B&B
#6 of 15 in Gibsons
34 reviews
3.1 mi away
Caprice Bed & Breakfast
Caprice Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Gibsons
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soames Point Oceanfront Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soames Point Oceanfront Suite

Address: 1000 Marine Dr, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Gibsons
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gibsons
Price Range: $125 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious luxurious 1 bedroom waterfront suite overlooking picturesque Howe Sound & islands, stunning ocean views, surrounded by woodlands & gardens; private entrance & oceanfront decks & peaceful spaces overlooking the water & nestled in the trees; soaker tub; full service kitchen; gas fireplace; cable TV/DVD and Netflix; wireless internet. Only minutes away from Gibsons Landing with its many restaurants, shops, museum, local artisans, and theater. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Soames Point Oceanfront Suite Gibsons, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing