We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arcturus Retreat B&B
Ranked #6 of 15 Gibsons B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I planned a weekend away for 3 couples. This was a perfect spot for us all to unwind and relax. Perfectly clean accomm, really comfortable beds. Awesome hosts who served a deluxe breakfast. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jauulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 34 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

This B&B is located close to the Ferry Terminal near Gibsons Landing on the Sunshine coast of British Columbia. It features an open concept home with dual patio doors to an extensive balcony / deck where breakfast is served. The balcony provides an amazing view across the strait to the mainland mountains and also provides access to a large hot tub around the side of the house. Our main floor suite was bright and airy with a large private balcony and an ensuite bathroom with a walk in glass enclosed shower.

The owners were very helpful and offered suggestions for day trips and local attractions. The breakfasts were simply amazing and made with locally grown ingredients. We enjoyed yogurt garnished with local fruit, home made fruit juice and smoothies, fresh homemade muffins, locally roasted coffee, belgain waffles, and delicious frittatas that were both light and fluffy.

There are plenty of places to visit in the area. For anyone who grew up watching the "Beachcombers" on CBC, a pilgrmage to Molly's Reach in Gibson's is a must. For those who like dining next to the water, the lower level of Grandma's pub or Smitty's oysterhouse are both recommended. And, for those who don't mind a longer hike, the "skookumchuck" rapids are well worth the walk, but be sure to check with a tourist office for the best viewing times as the rapids change constantly with the tides.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

beautiful view, wonderful breakfast of local produce, accommodated gluten free diet. Lovely hot tub and balconies and deck. Very sweet and accommodating couple. They even picked us up at the ferry. Highly recommend this place if you are looking for a nice, relaxing getaway. Make sure you plan time to just hang out at the B n B (on top of lots of time to explore the area).

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcureton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

It was a challenge looking for a B&B on the Sun-Shine coast that would take small children and let us stay for one night. We were directed to Arcturus Retreat by another B&B. From the booking to checkout we were met with friendly, warm service.

The place has a lovely vibe, very relaxed and boasts gorgeous views. Our room was very comfortable, and our 2 year old enjoyed all the stuff toys and books. Stan and Celie gave us fantastic tips to help us discover the best of the Sun-Shine coast in two days, and prepared a delicious waffle breakfast to get us started on day 2.

Its a lovely place and we all felt very comfortable there. We'll be going back there!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbgirlbc, Owner at Arcturus Retreat B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2011

We are so glad you had a wonderful first visit to the Sunshine Coast. The stuffed animals & colouring books are waiting for your daughter anytime.

Thank you for choosing Arcturus Retreat B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

My fiance and I stayed in late October for a weekend and used Arcturus as a base to explore some of the sunshine coast. We found the B&B to be comfortable, clean, light and airy and our hosts to be fun and welcoming. My fiance has a gluten allergy and this was catered for easily and without fuss and we really enjoyed our few days.

The view from the balcony over the islands and the straight was breathtaking and despite becoming accustomed to the wonderful sunsets in Vancouver, the sunrises we experienced even in October were incredible and a pleasure to view from the comfort of our room!

Our hosts helped us out with info about the busses and timetables and even had 2 bus tickets to get us on our way as well as information about walks in the area.

Good fun!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Arcturus Retreat B&B. The home has the most stunning views of the mountains and the water. Our room was impeccable and the bathroom with it's heated tiles and fantastic shower was a real treat. The common living area and upstairs den made it seem like home.

Celia and Stan were so friendly and welcoming. They gave excellent recommendations on local hikes and biking trails. They could not have been more thoughtful or accommodating.

It's located so conveniently to the Langdale Ferry terminal and provides excellent access to a myriad of hiking and biking trails.

I recommend the Arcturus Retreat B&B to anyone looking to travel to the Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcneicerachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

A beautifully situated B&B overlooking Howe Sound. Very comfortable, great home-cooked breakfasts, & a welcoming atmosphere. Very friendly helpful hosts, & easy access to Gibsons & the coast. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nutan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibsons
2.9 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
154 reviews
14.9 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
2.5 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
852 reviews
14.3 mi away
At The Shore B&B
At The Shore B&B
#7 of 27 in Sechelt
166 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Bonniebrook Lodge
The Bonniebrook Lodge
#1 of 15 in Gibsons
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcturus Retreat B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcturus Retreat B&B

Address: 160 Pike Rd, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Gibsons
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gibsons
Price Range: $129 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcturus Retreat B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning mountain and water views from our spacious deck. Relax in our quiet coastal setting. Stargaze from the hot tub or your private balcony. Home baking and warm hospitality our specialty. Full breakfast & afternoon snack. Walk to ferry, bus, beach & trails. 5km from Gibsons Landing and many shops, galleries & artisan studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Arcturus Retreat B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcturus Retreat B&B Gibsons, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing