We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeview Inns & Suites - Slave Lake
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Slave Lake
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Business Trip Review”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

On past business trips to Slave Lake, I’ve always stayed at the Holiday Inn, however due to the last minute nature of this visit, the hotel was fully booked. After looking at the Tripadvisor reviews, I decided to try out the Lakeview Inn (over the Super 8). Booking online was easy and the cost was average. The hotel is the first one you come across when coming into the city, however it is a little way out from the main roads, so I would recommend having a vehicle if you stay here.

Upon check-in, I discovered that they had put me into a smoking room (they still have those?!?) although I had specifically selected ‘non-smoking’ when booking. The staff was quick to try and solve the problem, and moved me into another room without much fuss. The front desk clerk was very nice and pleasant, however as English was not her first language, there was a miscommunication when I asked for a restaurant recommendation in the area. I eventually just went and did a tripadvisor search to find what I was looking for.

Wifi worked well. There is no business center and the ‘guest computer’ was broken while I was there. The staff was very helpful in getting a document printed for me at no cost.

Room was nice, and was actually very large. I was put into a “Business Suite” so I had an entire office addition to the room. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was basic.

Overall, it’s a nice, basic hotel. Did not use the gym or hot tub.

Room Tip: Business Suite was large
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Tash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
7
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here May 2012 for work for 3 nights. It was a wonderful stay, great staff, spacious clean room, lots of hot water, decent internet (LAN, didnt try wifi).
Checked-in in the evening, unfortunately they overbooked the normal rooms, and one of us had to play musical rooms. I had a two queens room. Comfortable enough bed, very nice clean bathroom. The hotel was rather new, rebuilt after the fires.
The hotel had free popcorn bags, cookies and soup(in the evenings), it was a real treat to get a fast quick tasty and free meal. The hotel is on the "far edge" of town, but still no more than 5 minutes to restaurants.

The breakfast is good, sausages, eggs, bread, yogurt, fruit, cereal, juice, milk, etc. The eating area is kind of small, but we never had to wait for a table around 7:30am.

I'd recommend the hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brittanyncomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily B, General Manager at Lakeview Inns & Suites - Slave Lake, responded to this review, June 17, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words and the amazing rating! My staff and I work hard to give each guest an amazing and memorable stay. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Room was nice, staff friendly and helpful. Internet service was good. Nice plus is the fact that the room where brekfast and evening soup is served is actually open all the time - so you can get fruit, juice, cereal whenever you'd like. I was disappointed by the limited hot tub hours, though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband & I stayed here in 2010 during the Sawfest Music Festival in Slave Lake a special rate for music festival. Free breakfast with fresh cooked eggs & bacon, wonderful waffles, just about anything you could think of in a great dinning area.Soup & fresh rolls for lunch & Wed. night is pizza night. Left overs are quickly wrapped then put in fridge for hungry guests. Free internet, free movies with micro-wave popcorn, a fresh fruit bowl & candy bowl. The best workers in a clean hotel. The only bad thing was the hot-tub was out of order, but we had the honeymoon suite with our own big tub in our room. Comfy beds too. The hotel survived the Slave Lake fires in 2011.

Room Tip: I chose the top floor, I like the views & elevators. If you are not happy with your room then sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This hotel is not like it seems in the pictures badly maintained, hot tub not working, gym equipment not working peoperly.
Told the day manager about the issues and basically sorry about your luck next time I will stay at saw ridge inn.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I called the night before to make my reservation for a 2 night stay, the hotel operator said the hotel was full , however I was able to get a non-smoking room for the 1st night and a smoking room for the second night, at the government rate of $119.00, also since it was two separate rooms it required two separate reservations. I gave the hotel operator my credit card and received confirmation for my reservations. I work for the government and travel frequently, however this was my first time staying here as it was recommended by my co-workers. I arrived the next day to check in and was asked for my credit card, I then said I would be staying 2 nights and asked if possible that I could stay in my same room. The clerk said I would have to check back in the morning to see if a room was available, however I would probably have to change rooms. The clerk swiped my credit card and it was declined. I asked how much she was swiping it for, and she said $350.00, I said $350.00 for both nights and she said no, it was for only one night. I said that I had been travelling quite a bit and had used up almost all my credit on my credit card, however, I had cash and offered to give her cash. She refused and said, we only take credit cards. I said I know my card will allow a $200.00 swipe and then I could give the rest in cash. She absolutely refused. I said, please I need a place to stay, I work for the government, this has never happend before, I don't understand why you require $350.00 from my credit card, at most places they charge you the daily rate with taxes which would have been no problem. She said it was policy. I was embarrassed with how loud her voice was where everybody could hear - people were in the lobby another fellow was hanging at the desk listening, it was totally enbarrassing. I beg her to take the cash, she refused and then said she would call her managers on their cell. She spoke loudly into the phone, telling them my credit card was declined, however I was offering to pay cash, or pay cash and do partial on my credit card. After begging for a room and for them to take my cash, and after the hotel clerks 15 - 20 minute call with the managers, they decided to take $150.00 cash, as well as swipe my credit card for $200.00. I was then given a room key. I asked about my reservation for the next day, and she simply said, they've cancelled it since I didn't have enough credit on my credit card. Again, I said I have cash, that wasn't good enough, my room for the next day was promptly cancelled. When she gave me the key, she said that there was a continental breakfast available in the morning, first come first serve. The next morning when I went down, the room was full of people, it appeared management was having a meeting with staff (as the people in room looked like employees) and they used all up all the chairs and tables, so with no place to sit, I left.

Room Tip: Stay at Holiday Inn express, always good service and they charge only room rate, nothing more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Nice hotel, with good breakfast, always snacks at the front desk. Beds are mediocure, tv's are cheap for a newer hotel, and there is really nothing around the hotel for food or services

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naetnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Slave Lake hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Slave Lake
0.9 mi away
Slave Lake Inn & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Big Lake Inn
Big Lake Inn
#6 of 6 in Slave Lake
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Slave Lake
Travelodge Slave Lake
#5 of 6 in Slave Lake
13 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Slave Lake AB
Super 8 Slave Lake AB
#3 of 6 in Slave Lake
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Inns & Suites - Slave Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Inns & Suites - Slave Lake

Property: Lakeview Inns & Suites - Slave Lake
Address: 1550 Holmes Street SE, Slave Lake, Alberta T0G 2A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Slave Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Slave Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Inns & Suites - Slave Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Lakeview Inns & Suites - Slave Lake, we go above and beyond to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere. We offer a wide range of room types to meet any traveler's requirements. This home appeal carries on into the morning with a free deluxe continental breakfast. Our guests are welcome to relax in our hot tub and use the high-end fitness equipment in our exercise room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lakeview Inns & Suites - Slave Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Inn & Suites Slave Lake Hotel Slave Lake
Lakeview Inn And Suites Slave Lake
Lakeview Inns & Suites - Slave Lake Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing