We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Whitecourt
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good hotel, nothing special”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is your standard Holiday Inn Express, nothing special.

The room was clean but the staircases looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a few days. The halls seemed a bit grungy as well. Seems to be a lot of oilfield workers in the hotel, which would account for all of the dirt. That being said management should step up the schedule and keep on top of the cleaning.

I was concerned about traffic noise the but the room was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
13
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponoka
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed for a quick overnight stay for a meeting the next day. Rooms were as usual for other holiday inns I stayed at, the rates are higher then other Holiday Inns I have stayed at. Location was a great location except the road was not on my GPS yet...will need to upgrade my maps. No real complaints.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Everything in the hotel was great. Unfortunately, I was kept up all night from the engine retarder brakes of big trucks coming down the hill. Ask for a room on the West side of the Hotel, you may get a better sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
joeb367,

Thank you for your recent stay, and providing feedback. I'm sorry your stay was disturbed by freeway noise, but pleased the rest of your time with us was enjoyable. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedDeer
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

100% it took me 3 nite's & 2 hotels to find the rite one, Holiday inn was 30 bucks more but worth every penny, Quiet, clean, and the best beds, & pillows 3 types to chose from. The best continetal breakfast i've ever had any where. i'll pay the extra to stay here. we were in town for 6 days, wish i stayed here the first 3..

Room Tip: Higher floors, less chance of truck idling noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePolisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMONTON
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Holiday Inn is where I have been staying on my most recent trips to Whitecourt. I travel for work and stay in town about 6 times a year. I have been very happy with my stays here. From the large rooms with King size beds to the cookies at check in, to the great breakfast bar in the mornings, I am very rairly disappointed with my stays. There are resteraunts within walking distance and food stores too if you prefer.

The location is a bt of a challenge to find, if your not familiar with the town, it is easy to miss it. But if your looking to the right as you come down the big hill, it is there. Just turn at the lights and it is easy. The locaton is far enough off the highway to really dampen the road noise. I never have an issue with highway noise in this hotel.

The place is kept clean, surely a challange with the local constructon and oilfield crews in the area. and the breakfast bar in the moring is nice, just stop wrapping the cheese slices so well...darn they can be a challenge to open up. A nice selection of hot items are available along with the typical cold items too. Lots of fruit and other goodies too.

Overall it is cleaner and quieter and has a better breakfast bar then my second choice in town, so I keep returning. I will be back in October too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falling_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Staff welcomed us, were helpful in answering our questions about the area. And the room was great! Clean and up-to-date ... asked the clerk if it was new, he said that it was a couple of years old. They have kept it up. Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller68845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Reserved a Jacuzzi Room a month in advance and when I got there (perfectly on time) they had given it away. On top of that, they then charged me the full rate for the Jacuzzi Suite, even though I was forced to stay in a normal suite. Not once was I even offered a discount. The breakfast was also terrible with over cooked powdered eggs. Definitely a hotel to avoid.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitecourt hotels
2.3 mi away
The Kanata by BCMInns Whitecourt
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Whitecourt
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Whitecourt
Quality Inn Whitecourt
#6 of 15 in Whitecourt
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Whitecourt
Days Inn & Suites Whitecourt
#3 of 15 in Whitecourt
144 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lakeview Inns & Suites - Whitecourt
0.2 mi away
Whitecourt Conference Centre & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt
Address: 4721 49 St | Box 359, Whitecourt, Alberta T7S 0E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Whitecourt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Whitecourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Whitecourt, Alberta Hotel Offers Convenient Location The newly built Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Whitecourt, AB is right next door to all the amenities Whitecourt has to offer. Within minutes of all local attractions and business parks. Our Whitecourt hotel is ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in the area. Our free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access will keep you connected during your stay, and the business centre and meeting facility will help you conduct business while on the road. Leisure travelers will enjoy lodging at our Whitecourt, AB hotel while they experience everything the area has to offer. During your stay at our hotel in Whitecourt, take the time to enjoy a workout in our fitness centre, and be sure to try one of the many choices at our Express Start hot breakfast bar each morning. Check out our great Whitecourt hotel deals and book with us today. This hotel does not have a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing