We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for reunion”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alliston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nottawasaga Inn Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alliston
Toronto Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for reunion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

I stayed there this past weekend enjoying my 40 yr Nursing school reunion . Everyone seemed to have a good time as there was golf , access to shopping and outdoor pursuits for all .
The food included in our package was good and we were able to sit together. We also had a hospitality suite for the evening.
Well worth what we paid.
My only complaint was the bed . Having become used to the quality of bed and bed linens available at Hampton Inns ,the Nottawasaga Inn is lacking their quality . The first time you turn over in bed , the very thin bottom sheet comes loose and you end up sleeping on the bare mattress. The Nottawasaga needs to up the quality of their bed linens if they want to remain competitive with the more upscale resorts.
It is unlikely that our reunion organizers will choose the same place five years from now as we have never gone to the same place twice.

  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nurse02818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    149
    105
    48
    37
See reviews for
221
81
9
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

I stayed for three nights at the end of July paying a corporate rate of C$115 plus taxes. The hotel isn't bad as long as you keep your expectations in check. It has everything that you may look for in a resort, golf, walking trails, pools (indoor and outdoor), a hockey arena, exercise facility, etc. It's just that with the exception of the hockey arena, everything seems to be dated and need of some renovation.

The room I stayed in wasn't bad. It offered a view out on to the courtyard and golf course which was nice but on one night, a group of beer drinkers were out there until late in the evening. I used some earplugs and went back to sleep. I was told the next day that the policy is silence after 11:00 pm. The only thing memorable about the room was the poor water flow from the showerhead.

We had a barbeque dinner reception one night. The meat was very tender but the sauce was bland and unfulfilling. I would have preferred just salt and pepper to the sauce they put on it.

Overall, it was a so-so experience.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank ka7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

We stayed at Nottawasaga for 2 nights over the March Break with our 2 children ages 6 and 3. The accommodations were dated but clean. The beds were horrible, very incomfortable and hard. Everyone who worked at the hotel were very friendly. The best thing about the hotel was the buffet which had theme nights. The staff were great and the Riverview restaurant was filled with other families. The pool was nice especially for younger children since it had a wading area. They did offer some activities for kids (i.e. kids club and the nic nac daycare). I think they need to add more activities since there wasn't anything organized after 4pm. There should be more activities for preschoolers as well especially during the winter months. Overall, it was an okay stay. My kids had fun since we went with another family. My husabnd and I came home tired since the lack of sleep on hard beds and noise from a travelling hockey team one night.

  • Liked — The pool, the riverview restaurant, the friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The beds, dated decor, not enough children activities compared to other resorts.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Liana40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

Did not stay at the hotel but did have the brunch and thought we had a good time until we were on our way out to our car and I steped in a pot hole in the parking lot and fell and really hurt my ankel my parents went into the hotel to get someone and let them know what happend they did coem out to see and said they would call me in a couple of days to see how I was never did get that call ended up at the hopital monday morning and was told i had sprained my ankel. Talked to a don hickson after still no call to see if i was ok or not i had asked him if they were planning on doing anything about it and they said no why should we. So i saw i was getting nowhere with this person i decided to talk to the owner got a recoding left 3 messages over the week for the owner and to this day being almost 2 weeks later still no one has called me back. A lawyer says i do have a case and could sue for up to $10,000.00 but all i am looking for is my lost wages which is much less the the amount i could end up with. Do the right thing mr. biffis and pay my wages.

thanks carrie mayor

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsrocketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights on the Thanksgiving long weekend. The place was packed with guests for 2 weddings and 2 conventions. There really wasn't anything to do for the kids other than the pool however it was so crowded with 20 somethings that the kids barely got a ride down the slide and I felt like we were in a frat house. The dinner buffet was pathetic. Overdone beef, chicken and fish. Dry pasta dish and some package potatoes. The salad bar looked like something from a fast food restaurant ($16 for adults). The mini golf and arcade are so dated as was the whole place. This is not a resort, it is what it is a sub-standard dated hotel. Good for a stop-over or if you were there for a convention or event such as the weddings. Other than that don't go there for romance, food or tranquility. By the way the spa is an open concept windowed whole in the wall beside the arcade. (all of this is in the bsmt). The rooms remind me of vacations as a kid at the holiday inn.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2007

The Nottawasaga Inn is located in a beautiful part of Ontario. It is a shame that such an ugly building would ruin the scenery. Its somber, morose façade offers an unwelcome feeling as you approach the hotel. The reception area is outdated, the carpets are ragged, and the furniture has a tired look. The rooms are no better, as they look like they haven’t been renovated in quite some time. The view from the balcony is breathtaking (on the upper floors only, and only if you face the golf course), but the balcony itself is dirty and the patio furniture is cheap and uncomfortable. Furthermore, the 2 elevators, which look like service elevators, are very slow and inadequate. The concrete patio or “deck” on the lower levels seems to serve no purpose. The Nottawasaga Inn’s saving grace is the beautiful golf course, the decent food and the helpful and cordial staff. If the management doesn’t make major renovations to this complex, it will become a real dump within the next few years

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Melibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2007

We stayed here just this past weekend. We went with kids. They could not do enough for us when it came to them! The staff were very kind. The room was average..Perhaps the decor was a little "tired" looking, but it was clean and the room service was good. The beds were a bit hard, but the pillows and blankets were nice! The hotel was oddly set up. It was east to get lost for sure and not everything was ina convenient location. The pool was very nice and the food was excellent. We loved the restaurants and breakfast buffet. A bit expensive for the room we received.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — the beds, confusing hotel layout
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travlincrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alliston
2.2 mi away
Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre
17.9 mi away
Hockley Valley Resort
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Bolton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
14.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
13.0 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottawasaga Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottawasaga Inn Resort

Property: Nottawasaga Inn Resort
Address: 6015 Highway 89, Alliston, New Tecumseth, Ontario L9R 1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > New Tecumseth > Alliston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alliston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for both meetings & getaways we offer more recreation than any other Ontario resort! 45 holes of golf, NHL arena, indoor pool, waterslide, fitness centre & more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nottawasaga Hotel Alliston
Nottawasaga Resort Alliston
Nottawasaga Inn Resort Alliston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing