We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people make a great place.”
Review of Duncan's Pub

Duncan's Pub
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great people make a great place.”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Very accommodating to those "from away". The pub is nice and the food is ok. Nothing fabulous to hand your hat on here. However, what you can hang your hat on is the staff. The asst manager is the best thing since sliced bread and all of the folks here make you fell welcome, even when your from away. Thanks to all at Duncan's from NC, USA

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    83
    25
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Stereotypical Scottish Pub”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This was a lunch stop, on a travel day through the area. Thoroughly enjoyed the Maritime seafood chowder which came in a large bowl with a tasty fresh roll. You will not go wrong with this order and you'll enjoy excellent and friendly service, in a pleasant (non-smoky) atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Look Twice”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This place was recommended to us by a local. We would probably have walked past it if we were looking ourselves. It was a wet night and it looked closed, but when we entered it was buzzing. The food was excellent and good value. Well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlBeKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,630 reviews
424 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,310 helpful votes
“Big Surprise in Amherst”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were looking for a place to dine after a rather foul weather day and decided to take a chance on Duncan's Pub. Upon entering it appeared to be dark and gloomy until you get settled and begin to feel like it is more a restaurant than a bar. The big surprise is the decent wine for a very fair price My wife ordered Cream Lobster on Ciabatta and I the seafood Linguini. Both were delicious and generous portions. The waitress was efficient and attentive. People of all ages were present and it turned out to be a comfortable place to dine. I would return for sure. Right on the main street. Hint: Beware, there are panhandlers about at the dinner hour on the side streets.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Local's Hangout, Average Food”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Highly recommended by our hotel staff, we dined on a Thursday, which is open mike night. The AC must have been broken, because it was sweltering inside, and packed. We sat on the front porch, which was very comfortable until dusk, when the mosquitos became overpowering. My wife ordered a wrap with chicken noodle soup. She received a tomato stew instead, which was delicious. I ordered fish and chips. Both were quite average. Our hotel door cards gave us a free desert, which was a cheesecake. It was one of the best we'd ever had! Loved Tom the server....very interesting guy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulDaytona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duncan's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Duncan's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing