We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bay of Fundy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amherst Wandlyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bay of Fundy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed overnight on a drive along the Bay of Fundy. Good value for the money (3 star; paid less than $100; booked directly). Check-in was efficient and the person was friendly and helpful. the room was basic but clean, including the bathroom. We had a view of the Tantramar Marsh and windmill farm. There was some traffic noise but we did not have any difficulty sleeping. It is not within walking distance to the downtown core but the drive there is easy and parking was not a problem. Based on past reviews, we opted not to eat at the restaurant (ate dinner at Duncan's Pub and breakfast at Connor's Family Restaurant). We would stay there for an overnight again).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weigela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    31
    19
    14
See reviews for
18
33
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delran, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We passed through Amherst and stayed here. The front desk person the day we checked in was not all that helpful and kept giving us wrong information.

The room was clean. The pool was run down and kind of dumpy. But clean.

The dining room was okay. Not anything to get excited about about. The morning breakfast included with the room fee was okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieSchwedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amherst hotels

Durham, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in the Amherst area on two separate occasions. On one of those occasions we stayed in the Wandlyn Inn, not the best decision we made that day.
We were able to access our room from the outside, which was the plus of staying in the inn. The bedside table had not been cleaned from the last guest's coffee, the heater in the bathroom was full of dust and above the TV was the largest dust web I have ever seen.
We went down for breakfast around 0900hr. There were about a dozen tables of which only one was clean. We had to lay down newspaper on the floor to set our feet on as, possibility, yesterday's food scraps were still there. Another group of people had come in and when they saw the condition of the room stated they would go to the nearest Timmies for breakfast. I went out to speak with the desk clerk about the cleanliness of the dining room. I was told she would clear a table for me as this was her job. I told her this now was unnecessary and I was astounded as to this was also her job in the inn. I then told her this would be the first and last time I would be a guest in there inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Ns
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

One of the reasons that I stay at the Wandlyn Inn in Amherst when in the area, is that the dining room always had such great food. the menu was well-planned, and I was never disappointed with the quality of the meal - until they did the 'renovation'. I'm sure that the dining room needed a reno, but why did they 'renovate' the menu? The meal I had wasn't just disappointing, it was actually bad. The haddock was overcooked and hard and the 'greens' consisted of something that looked like it came from a bag at the supermarket. And THAT was the entire meal. No hot veg, no starch. Cold greens and two chunks of fish. And the bread rolls were cold, whole wheat. (I'm not a fan of whole wheat, and tough, cold rolls aren't very palatable. The room was okay, and the staff, as usual, was friendly and helpful. But I have lost my 'taste' for the Wandlyn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DorothyGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We slept well once the social event going on there quieted down. The room we stayed in was old and a bit outdated but the bed was good. Priced competitively with others in Nova Scotia but a bit expensive for what USA Midwesterners expect to pay. The continental breakfast was average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Large and very clean rooms with TV. You will find that staff is very friendly and helpful. There is also a small shop where you can purchase local, hand made souvenirs. Did not use swimming pool. Good place to stay after long driving day. Breakfast could be and should be better for the price of stay. It is more expensive than hotel in Halifax.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are very large with patio overlooking wind mills
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pictou, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very comfortable place to stay really good service from the staff.Some rooms have an outside door which is great for people who don't want to walk through the building to get outside.Breakfast was simple but great.Rooms are dated but very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSAdventureSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn - Amherst
Comfort Inn - Amherst
#2 of 5 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
12.9 mi away
Coastal Inn Sackville
Coastal Inn Sackville
#1 of 2 in Sackville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
11.3 mi away
Tantramar Motel
Tantramar Motel
#2 of 2 in Sackville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Amherst NS
Super 8 Amherst NS
#1 of 5 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
3.6 mi away
Apothic Inn
Apothic Inn
#2 of 5 in Amherst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Wandlyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Wandlyn Inn

Property: Amherst Wandlyn Inn
Address: Trans Canada Highway 104, Exit 3 | P.O. Box 275, Amherst, Nova Scotia B4H 3Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Amherst
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amherst Wandlyn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 Star Hotel and Convention Center, conveniently located near the New Brunswick/Nova Scotia Border. On site restaurant, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, lounge, wireless internet and free continental breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Amherst Wandlyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wandlyn Inn Amherst Hotel Amherst
Wandlyn Hotel Amherst
Amherst Wandlyn Inn Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing