We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok, improvement needed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Amherst
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stopped at this Comfort Inn late at night and from our past experience with other Comfort Inn's we figured it would be up to par. While the beds were quite comfortable, the bathrooms were rather lacking in the clean department. There was gunk and hair bristles left behind around the faucet from one of the past guests shaving, it was truly unappealing while brushing my teeth. Again, while other Comfort Inn's have been fantastic with their hot continental breakfasts, this place left a lot to be desired. Breakfast was only being offered until 9am, there wasn't enough room to accommodate the guests lined up in the lobby for their breakfast (only 3 small tables accommodating only 6 guests), tables were not cleaned off after use and certainly not cleaned up under the tables (lots of food all over the floor) by the lady managing the breakfast, and not much in the way of selection. While the lady managing this continental breakfast was quite friendly, her time would have been better spent cleaning up and restocking rather than hovering over the last of the guests trying to acquire their breakfasts all to be told, "I am on a time crunch here, you'll have to get what you want and go". All in all, with no other amenities namely a pool or the hot breakfast as most other Comfort Inn's offer, I would suggest passing on this stop.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

I sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issue and guarantee that the Housekeeping Supervisor will be made aware. Staff retraining will then follow. We will soon be under renovation and the free hot breakfast will be introduced. The dining room will also be increased in size. When we are fully renovated I hope you will return to compare your stay experience. Thank you again for your review.
Kind Regards
David Smith
GM Amherst Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn - Amherst
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 134 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and, much like I've come to expect from Comfort Inns, the bed was comfortable, the staff friendly, and the location convenient. The decor is tired, the carpet stained and no real "extras" but it was adequate. Far too small breakfast area but decent offering. Overall no major issues but nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrownVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us. The planned renovations to the hotel will increase the dining area and we will be providing a free hot breakfast.
Kind Regards
David Smith
GM Amherst Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel. Nothing fancy. The girl at the reception was very nice. Room a bit faded as well as the carpet... but clean, bathroom clean, comfy bed. Found it very quiet at night. Breakfast in the morning was good. The lady taking care of the breakfast area in the morning was very nice and helpful. Not many places to sit though in the morning. I think there was only 3 tables. But there is trays so you can take what you want and go back to your room. Would stay there again for a night or two.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gway72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We appreciate that you took the time and effort to recommend our property on TripAdvisor and we certainly would love to see you again. Renovations are planned soon and you will see a huge difference to the dining room space that is planned.
Kind Regards
David Smith
GM Amherst Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

we stayed over here to break up the trip from Acadia to Halifax and were pleased with the motel. It was older and a bit dim, but a pleasant experience. the bed was comfy and there were no noises that woke us up through the night. the breakfast was English muffins, bagels, etc., cereal and juice. there are 5 fast food places within walking distance. there is no business center.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stairscase4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We not only appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of our property but also for choosing to stay with us on your trip from Acadia to Halifax. We will soon be under renovation and providing a free hot breakfast. There will also be a business center. Again thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
David Smith
GM Amherst Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Clean, comfortable and quiet motel. Well located with restaurant Tim Horton's and others establishments within a few minutes walk. It is a typical Comfort Inn designed Motel so if you expect something else this is not your location. I understand it is also being renovated this summer. .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HsppyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and I am very glad you enjoyed your stay. We are all very excited about the renovations. We look forward to providing service for you in the future.
Kind Regards
David Smith
GM Amherst Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice this month. Hotel seems clean and well run - staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast area consisted of 3 small tables and 6 chairs jammed into a tiny space with no other furniture - forcing us to eat in our room. As is the case with all Comfort Inns that I've stayed in, the wifi is very slow and unsecured.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuleLot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your repeat business and providing feedback. We appreciate your kind words about the staff. We will soon be under renovations and part of which will be a much larger dining room. We hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future and show how your remarks were used constructively.
Kind Regards
David Smith
GM Amherst Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed 2 nights in this motel. We were first surprised and disappointed to discover that there was no elevator. When we mentioned our dismay, we were told that we could have put in a special request when booking for the first floor. She did not offer to move us to the ground floor nor did there appear to be a porter to assist us with our luggage up the stairs.

We are both tea drinkers. There are are only coffee makers in the rooms, but tea made through them tastes like coffee! We asked if there was a kettle we could use. The front desk checked but there was none, however she suggested we could go to Walmart and buy one! I consider that to be an unacceptable response in a service industry.

The room was fine, what we expected for a motel and the decor didn't bother us. There was a distinct lack of seating for breakfast, but I understand there is a renovation in the works. We enjoyed talking with the delightful young lady in charge of breakfast, Suzanne. She made sure that we had whatever we needed and that the area was kept tidy.

In all, the room was fine, but the service from the front desk decidedly lacking. "No elevator - you should have asked. Want a kettle - buy one." I have to say that this soured our stay at this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We appreciate that you took the time to share the positive and negative aspects of your stay as this allows us to know what’s working and identify areas for improvement. I will be discussing the attitude of the front desk with the Front Desk Supervisor.
The hotel will be renovated soon and a larger dining area will be provided with a free hot breakfast.
Thank you again for your comments.
Kind Regards
David Smith
GM Amherst Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
0.9 mi away
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
#4 of 5 in Amherst
109 reviews
10.5 mi away
Coastal Inn Sackville
Coastal Inn Sackville
#1 of 2 in Sackville
95 reviews
8.9 mi away
Tantramar Motel
Tantramar Motel
#2 of 2 in Sackville
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Amherst NS
Super 8 Amherst NS
#1 of 5 in Amherst
512 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apothic Inn
Apothic Inn
#1 of 5 in Amherst
39 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Amherst

Address: 143 Albion St S, Amherst, Nova Scotia B4H 2X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: $103 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Amherst is now All New Just for You. Newly-Renovated Guest Rooms and Lobby, Free Hot Breakfast, and now 100% Non-Smoking. Our friendly and helpful staff will be happy to assist you from the moment you arrive to ensure that your stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable. Our newly renovated rooms provide the best in convenience and comfort including, 32' Flat screen TVs and Free WiFi. Our central location offers easy access the World Heritage Site at The Joggins Fossil Centre or go exploring in nearby Parrsboro at the Fundy Geological Centre. Make the Amherst Comfort Inn your base for an exciting family vacation or productive business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn - Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - Amherst Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing