We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Amherst
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice this month. Hotel seems clean and well run - staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast area consisted of 3 small tables and 6 chairs jammed into a tiny space with no other furniture - forcing us to eat in our room. As is the case with all Comfort Inns that I've stayed in, the wifi is very slow and unsecured.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuleLot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your repeat business and providing feedback. We appreciate your kind words about the staff. We will soon be under renovations and part of which will be a much larger dining room. We hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future and show how your remarks were used constructively.
Kind Regards
David Smith
GM Amherst Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    45
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
29
36
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed 2 nights in this motel. We were first surprised and disappointed to discover that there was no elevator. When we mentioned our dismay, we were told that we could have put in a special request when booking for the first floor. She did not offer to move us to the ground floor nor did there appear to be a porter to assist us with our luggage up the stairs.

We are both tea drinkers. There are are only coffee makers in the rooms, but tea made through them tastes like coffee! We asked if there was a kettle we could use. The front desk checked but there was none, however she suggested we could go to Walmart and buy one! I consider that to be an unacceptable response in a service industry.

The room was fine, what we expected for a motel and the decor didn't bother us. There was a distinct lack of seating for breakfast, but I understand there is a renovation in the works. We enjoyed talking with the delightful young lady in charge of breakfast, Suzanne. She made sure that we had whatever we needed and that the area was kept tidy.

In all, the room was fine, but the service from the front desk decidedly lacking. "No elevator - you should have asked. Want a kettle - buy one." I have to say that this soured our stay at this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to share the positive and negative aspects of your stay as this allows us to know what’s working and identify areas for improvement. I will be discussing the attitude of the front desk with the Front Desk Supervisor.
The hotel will be renovated soon and a larger dining area will be provided with a free hot breakfast.
Thank you again for your comments.
Kind Regards
David Smith
GM Amherst Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked 3 Comfort Inns in a row - Corner Brook, NL, Amherst, N.S. and Levis, QC.
We were thrilled with Corner Brook and Levis, but Amherst was very disappointing.
The room was too warm and a/c didn't cool at all, the room was dated and the carpet warn out, the water pressure was poor, the room could have been cleaner and the most annoying thing was the bathroom light - it was a sensor so it would go on when you went in, but if you were in the shower it would keep going out, thinking there was no one there - maddening!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel in Amherst, Nova Scotia. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It was with a view to doing our part to help the environment that we selected the automatic light switches in our guest rooms and service rooms. The next time you encounter this in a hotel, a quick call to the front desk would provide simple instructions on how to over ride the on / off function of the sensor lights in our bathrooms. As well, our AC / Heat untils utilize a dual thermostat control and must be switched to "cool" in order to engage the AC unit. Complete intstructions are found in the guest register in every room but a quick call to the front desk will also get you whatever assistance is required.

We do apologize for any inconvenience that this guest expereinced and appreciate the opportunity to respond to their review.

We hope that you have happy travels this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were to a funeral and decided late in the day to travel from New Brunswick to Amherst because of an impending tropical storm. We checked into this Comfort Inn. The receptionist was welcoming and checked us in with friendliness and whit. She told us about a local restaurant called Conners where we ate our evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us in Amherst while here for a funeral. We were pleased to accoodate you at a difficult time and were happy that you found our hotel to be welcoming and comfortable.

Our hotel is scheduled for a complete renovation later this summer, with a new lobby, breakfast rooms and all new guest rooms so please stop by the next time that you're traveling through Amherst, Nova Scotia.

Have a great summer - Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed there in October on a business trip and this Comfort Inn is located in the little town of Amherst, NS. This is an honest location and you have the regular Comfort Inn amenities. The only problem is that there isn't much higher scal restaurants close to the hotel so you have to drive downtown and go eat there otherwise you have a chinese, subway, Tim Hortons, Pizza Delight and a Jungle Jim's... Not bad but if you don't want to go in a chain you have to drive!

Room Tip: Higher floors so you are not stepped on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eandre68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us while in Amherst Nova Scotia on business. We appreciate your comments and fortunately there is a new family restaurant close by us now; Connors Family Restaurant. It is within walking distance and has a nice (separate) lounge area besides the large main dining room. Give it a try on your next stay in Amherst.

Thank you for staying with us, I hope we can serve you again on your next business trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Rooms were super clean and the service was great. Rooms on the first floor open to the interior corridors and have a "back door" that leads you right into the parking lot which is convinient to bring your bags to and from the car directly into your room. Also the hotel seemed to be within a five minute drive to anything we wanted to do. My friend and I stayed one night only and we were as comfortable as we could possibly be. Would stay here again anytime I found myself in this part of Nova Scotia and recomend you do too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us in Amherst, Nova Scotia. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value all of our guests and appreciate getting feedback which helps us to continue to provide excellent service and value to every guest.

Whenever travelling, please consider staying at one of our sister properties, Comfort Inns are safe, clean, comfortable and affordable and we're in nearly every major centre.

Again, thank you for staying with us - have great travels this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the years. The current staff is friendly, & I've always had an uneventful check-in. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants, malls, gas, a grocery store, etc.

The hotel has been around for a number of years, and they've done very little to update it. It's not in bad shape, but you can see its starting to show its age. I've usually found my rooms to be clean, although there was something sticky on the desk last time I stayed.

The most annoying thing to me about this location is the use of motion sensor light switches. I've seen this in a few hotels now in the bathrooms, where when you walk in, the light automatically turns on, and then after a while of no motion, it will turn off. Although I'm not a fan of these, I understand that not everyone is cautious about the use of electricity, and this is a good way to save electricity, by turning off a light that someone has forgotten to turn off after a period of time. I've gotten used to these in many hotel bathrooms, and its not that big of a deal. But this particular hotel has these sorts of lights for the main hotel room. So what this means, is that light when you get up in the middle of the night, to go to make a bathroom visit, the main hotel room light comes on, lighting up the entire room, fully waking you up. This is annoying enough when you are in the room alone. It's worse when you have your family with you, because the light wakes up everyone inthe room. And with 4 people in a room, you'll probably see a few people get up in the middle of the night, so count on being woken up repeatedly by these lights. Poor design if you ask me.

I gave this hotel 2 stars. I would have given it 2 1/2 stars if I could. Its not poor, but it is a little below average in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
First of all thank you for being a repeat visitor to our hotel, and thank you for your review of our property, we value our guest's comments and want to do all that we can to make each and every stay as comfortable as possible.

We do apologize for any disturbance you encountered because of our sensor lights, we are mindful of anything we can do which saves on energy and automatic lights has been proven to accomplish this at our property. In future, please check with the front desk how to override the sensor to provide for manual lights only in your room.

Also, I am pleased to tell you that our hotel is slated for a full update this coming summer - so it will be like staying at a new hotel the next time you are with us.

Thanks again for your comments and being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
0.9 mi away
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
#4 of 5 in Amherst
104 reviews
10.5 mi away
Coastal Inn Sackville
Coastal Inn Sackville
#1 of 2 in Sackville
87 reviews
8.9 mi away
Tantramar Motel
Tantramar Motel
#2 of 2 in Sackville
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Amherst NS
Super 8 Amherst NS
#1 of 5 in Amherst
491 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
1.5 mi away
Apothic Inn
Apothic Inn
#1 of 5 in Amherst
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Amherst

Property: Comfort Inn - Amherst
Address: 143 Albion St S, Amherst, Nova Scotia B4H 2X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Amherst is now All New Just for You. Newly-Renovated Guest Rooms and Lobby, Free Hot Breakfast, and now 100% Non-Smoking. Our friendly and helpful staff will be happy to assist you from the moment you arrive to ensure that your stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable. Our newly renovated rooms provide the best in convenience and comfort including, 32' Flat screen TVs and Free WiFi. Our central location offers easy access the World Heritage Site at The Joggins Fossil Centre or go exploring in nearby Parrsboro at the Fundy Geological Centre. Make the Amherst Comfort Inn your base for an exciting family vacation or productive business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn - Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - Amherst Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing