We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Amherst
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked 3 Comfort Inns in a row - Corner Brook, NL, Amherst, N.S. and Levis, QC.
We were thrilled with Corner Brook and Levis, but Amherst was very disappointing.
The room was too warm and a/c didn't cool at all, the room was dated and the carpet warn out, the water pressure was poor, the room could have been cleaner and the most annoying thing was the bathroom light - it was a sensor so it would go on when you went in, but if you were in the shower it would keep going out, thinking there was no one there - maddening!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel in Amherst, Nova Scotia. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It was with a view to doing our part to help the environment that we selected the automatic light switches in our guest rooms and service rooms. The next time you encounter this in a hotel, a quick call to the front desk would provide simple instructions on how to over ride the on / off function of the sensor lights in our bathrooms. As well, our AC / Heat untils utilize a dual thermostat control and must be switched to "cool" in order to engage the AC unit. Complete intstructions are found in the guest register in every room but a quick call to the front desk will also get you whatever assistance is required.

We do apologize for any inconvenience that this guest expereinced and appreciate the opportunity to respond to their review.

We hope that you have happy travels this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn - Amherst
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 133 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were to a funeral and decided late in the day to travel from New Brunswick to Amherst because of an impending tropical storm. We checked into this Comfort Inn. The receptionist was welcoming and checked us in with friendliness and whit. She told us about a local restaurant called Conners where we ate our evening meal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Amherst while here for a funeral. We were pleased to accoodate you at a difficult time and were happy that you found our hotel to be welcoming and comfortable.

Our hotel is scheduled for a complete renovation later this summer, with a new lobby, breakfast rooms and all new guest rooms so please stop by the next time that you're traveling through Amherst, Nova Scotia.

Have a great summer - Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed there in October on a business trip and this Comfort Inn is located in the little town of Amherst, NS. This is an honest location and you have the regular Comfort Inn amenities. The only problem is that there isn't much higher scal restaurants close to the hotel so you have to drive downtown and go eat there otherwise you have a chinese, subway, Tim Hortons, Pizza Delight and a Jungle Jim's... Not bad but if you don't want to go in a chain you have to drive!

Room Tip: Higher floors so you are not stepped on!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eandre68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us while in Amherst Nova Scotia on business. We appreciate your comments and fortunately there is a new family restaurant close by us now; Connors Family Restaurant. It is within walking distance and has a nice (separate) lounge area besides the large main dining room. Give it a try on your next stay in Amherst.

Thank you for staying with us, I hope we can serve you again on your next business trip to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Rooms were super clean and the service was great. Rooms on the first floor open to the interior corridors and have a "back door" that leads you right into the parking lot which is convinient to bring your bags to and from the car directly into your room. Also the hotel seemed to be within a five minute drive to anything we wanted to do. My friend and I stayed one night only and we were as comfortable as we could possibly be. Would stay here again anytime I found myself in this part of Nova Scotia and recomend you do too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Amherst, Nova Scotia. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value all of our guests and appreciate getting feedback which helps us to continue to provide excellent service and value to every guest.

Whenever travelling, please consider staying at one of our sister properties, Comfort Inns are safe, clean, comfortable and affordable and we're in nearly every major centre.

Again, thank you for staying with us - have great travels this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the years. The current staff is friendly, & I've always had an uneventful check-in. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants, malls, gas, a grocery store, etc.

The hotel has been around for a number of years, and they've done very little to update it. It's not in bad shape, but you can see its starting to show its age. I've usually found my rooms to be clean, although there was something sticky on the desk last time I stayed.

The most annoying thing to me about this location is the use of motion sensor light switches. I've seen this in a few hotels now in the bathrooms, where when you walk in, the light automatically turns on, and then after a while of no motion, it will turn off. Although I'm not a fan of these, I understand that not everyone is cautious about the use of electricity, and this is a good way to save electricity, by turning off a light that someone has forgotten to turn off after a period of time. I've gotten used to these in many hotel bathrooms, and its not that big of a deal. But this particular hotel has these sorts of lights for the main hotel room. So what this means, is that light when you get up in the middle of the night, to go to make a bathroom visit, the main hotel room light comes on, lighting up the entire room, fully waking you up. This is annoying enough when you are in the room alone. It's worse when you have your family with you, because the light wakes up everyone inthe room. And with 4 people in a room, you'll probably see a few people get up in the middle of the night, so count on being woken up repeatedly by these lights. Poor design if you ask me.

I gave this hotel 2 stars. I would have given it 2 1/2 stars if I could. Its not poor, but it is a little below average in my opinion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

First of all thank you for being a repeat visitor to our hotel, and thank you for your review of our property, we value our guest's comments and want to do all that we can to make each and every stay as comfortable as possible.

We do apologize for any disturbance you encountered because of our sensor lights, we are mindful of anything we can do which saves on energy and automatic lights has been proven to accomplish this at our property. In future, please check with the front desk how to override the sensor to provide for manual lights only in your room.

Also, I am pleased to tell you that our hotel is slated for a full update this coming summer - so it will be like staying at a new hotel the next time you are with us.

Thanks again for your comments and being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We booked 40 rooms to accommodate our staff who were travelling from out of town to attend our Company Christmas party at a local venue and they had a wonderful stay! Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and tidy, location was perfect for our purposes and breakfast was much appreciated. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travelmorewityou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for your review! We were pleased to host your corporate group at our hotel in December. One of the services we are pleased to offer is providing large group bookings like yours with 50 rooms or more. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while on a hockey tournament with our son's hockey team. I really expected something tired and worn, and was pleasantly surprised. The halls were clean and in good repair (a first warning signal for me), the room itself was clean and had everything we needed including coffee maker, 2 beds and lots of towels. I was impressed that the lights and TV are on motion sensors (which you can turn off if you don't want all the lights coming on if you get up in the middle of the night) as an energy conservation effort. The water pressure was a bit low for my liking, but not ridiculous. The fact that breakfast is included was a real plus if you want something light.

Location wise for Amherst and highway access is was perfect, as we could walk to multiple family-style restaurants close by as a group. Tim Horton's is right across the street, and grocery, etc very close by.

There was an issue checking out as all charges were posted to one account, so I haven't yet seen the posting on my credit card for the stay.

I would definitely consider staying here again if the opportunity to visit Amherst arose.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGKM_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Amherst. It is our pleasure to host many hockey Moms and Dads and their families when in town for a sporting event. We offer great group rates for all of our sporting partners and look forward to hosting you again!

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
0.9 mi away
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
#4 of 5 in Amherst
108 reviews
10.5 mi away
Coastal Inn Sackville
Coastal Inn Sackville
#1 of 2 in Sackville
95 reviews
8.9 mi away
Tantramar Motel
Tantramar Motel
#2 of 2 in Sackville
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Amherst NS
Super 8 Amherst NS
#1 of 5 in Amherst
511 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apothic Inn
Apothic Inn
#1 of 5 in Amherst
39 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Amherst

Address: 143 Albion St S, Amherst, Nova Scotia B4H 2X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: $102 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Amherst is now All New Just for You. Newly-Renovated Guest Rooms and Lobby, Free Hot Breakfast, and now 100% Non-Smoking. Our friendly and helpful staff will be happy to assist you from the moment you arrive to ensure that your stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable. Our newly renovated rooms provide the best in convenience and comfort including, 32' Flat screen TVs and Free WiFi. Our central location offers easy access the World Heritage Site at The Joggins Fossil Centre or go exploring in nearby Parrsboro at the Fundy Geological Centre. Make the Amherst Comfort Inn your base for an exciting family vacation or productive business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn - Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - Amherst Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing