We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gotta eat here!”

Tims Fish and Chips
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Creston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“gotta eat here!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

we strolled into this great little fish and chips place around 8:30pm after a long day of traveling and even though they were about to take off for the night the food was great and the service was even better. The owner himself went above and beyond to make sure we had a great meal. We had the cod and chips with the coleslaw. Followed by a couple deep fried mars bars. And then the owner served up two of the biggest ice cream cones either of my kids had ever seen. We will absolutely stop there again and if your a fan of English style fish and chips you should too. (they also serve halibut)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lethfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    26
    8
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“AWFUL”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We decided to try this place due to the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. The owners must have their friends write the reviews. The fish was truly awful! We decided to share the 3 piece and took it to go. While we were waiting, we overheard one of the customers ask if they had any specials. The clerk stated they had all you could eat fish and chips for $9.99. Why were we not told of this special? We obviously had never been there before as it took us a while to read the menu and place our order. Another customer came in and asked for a refund as he claimed he was not given more than 1 piece of fish with his special. He was told "we don't give refunds." The man asked for his money back and was told "We don't give anyone their money back." I should have known better after this. We went to a little park to have our supper. It was AWFUL and possibly the worst fish and chips we have ever eaten! The fish was the size of a tea bag with more batter than fish. The batter was completely burned and inedible. There were maybe 10 fries for us to share. My husband also ordered the mushy peas which were actually cold canned peas. I don't know how the owners can serve such awful food and stay in business. The health department should close this place!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank newlywed612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Fish and Chips an the Chowder are just excellent, no words to describe it. Quick, good prices and a table outside is just perfect!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HariSeldon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful English-style Fish and Chip Shop”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I were looking for takeout food for supper for our extended family while visiting Creston in late July, and we came across this restaurant. Because we had eight people to feed we ordered fish and chips and poutine with extra gravy. Wow! The food was amazing! I always think it's best to serve a few things and do them very well and this place has it down. Perfectly fresh lightly battered crispy fish, great fries and the poutine was to die for! About $80 worth file sue all up to the gills, leaving us very satisfied and happy. I am sad to find out this shop is for sale now. I hope the new owners carry on the tradition of fine food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
280 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best ratio of fish to batter one can find in a low-cost fish and chip restaurant.”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Talk about an enthusiastic server---and this was at the end of the day! Absolutely delightful.

One of the best chowders I've had in a while, and you really get your money's worth with the fish and chips. Not like some of those other places where it's virtually all batter. Lots of fish in this one!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryTheRadioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tims Fish and Chips also viewed

 
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
 
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Tims Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing