We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable accomodation at a reasonable price”
Review of Skimmerhorn Inn

Skimmerhorn Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skimmerhorn Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Creston
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Not much to choose from in Creston but read some reviews and gave it a try . The rate was very reasonable and the room was small but clean and appeared to have been recently redone . The walls seem very thin as we had to turn up the volume on the TV very high when someone beside or below was having a shower , One other annoyance is that the fan in the bathroom has no seperate switch and is very loud so if you are having a bath it is very noisy and unpleasant . Sign out front says LCD TVs but the one in our room was an old and definately LCD . Fine for one or maybe two nights but that all .

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 70 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2009

Hosts were exceptional, & friendly. Room OK for 1 night; bed hard

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Look4-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

I had opportunity to be in Creston on the July long weekend, which I spent lodged at the Skimmerhorn. The rooms were very clean, large and comfortable. I think the best part of the Skimmerhorn was the pleasant and helpful staff and management. I would definately recommend this motel to anyone planning a trip to Creston.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

There are not many choices for Motels in Creston BC and all appear to be be older, properties and of a lower category. We were passing through and booked two rooms for one night and on arrival the Skimmerhorn appeared new with fresh white aluminum siding and a blue metal roof and we were quite hopefull we had lucked out with our selection.
As it turned out, the motel was an older property that had been renovated with better results on the exterior than interior. While the bathrooms were newer and clean, the light colored carpeting was stained and dirty. One of the rooms had a strong musty smell and we immediately asked for a change but no other non smoking rooms were available.
We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TeeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icemanRBP, Owner at Skimmerhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2009

We are very sorry your stay in July/07 was unsatisfactory. We have been the new owners since May/08. The hotel has over the last 2 years had new carpets, lino, paint in the rooms. All of our rooms are also now non-smoking, cutting down on the odors. We have since upgraded our family facilities with new pool furniture and toys. We have installed a new family play/fun area in the rear with a new playground, bar-b-que area, picnic tables, horeshoes and pet area. We pride ourselves on customer service, and have since had very few complaints. We are also finding alot of customers are returnees or referals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Creston hotels
0.6 mi away
Creston Valley Motel
Creston Valley Motel
#1 of 11 in Creston
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creston Hotel
Creston Hotel
#3 of 11 in Creston
101 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Creston
Ramada Creston
#2 of 11 in Creston
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Creston
Magnuson Hotel Creston
#8 of 11 in Creston
87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Downtowner Motor Inn
Downtowner Motor Inn
#7 of 11 in Creston
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavarian Orchard Motel
Bavarian Orchard Motel
#10 of 11 in Creston
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skimmerhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skimmerhorn Inn

Address: 2711 3 Hwy, Creston, British Columbia V0B 1G1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Creston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Creston
Price Range: $65 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Skimmerhorn Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Skimmerhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing