We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great two bedroom room!”
Review of Skimmerhorn Inn

Skimmerhorn Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skimmerhorn Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Creston
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great two bedroom room!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Best place to stay in town!! We stayed in a 2 bedroom, and it was perfect for us. One of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in, Eco friendly SOLAR HEATED POOL is a big plus. Free to use BBQ's, firepits, playgrounds out back make a great place to spend a evening and meet some new friends!! I only wish all hotel stays elswhere where this pleasant.. Keep up the good work. Only negitave is no online booking, but well worth the phone call to book.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwysOnTheRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
22
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langley, Bc
Level Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I chose this motel due to the Tripadvsior reviews, and it certainly was good value. That being said, some of the rooms are a bit strangely laid out, with renovations having been done by the owners. You must telephone for a reservation; so there's no proof you have one or what the price was. (She said "What price did be quote you? Is $75 OK?) The pool was not open when we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Really clean! Amazing value. We have 3 teenagers who require a bit more space for travel now... Our suite had 2 bedrooms and and nice couch that pulled flat in the sitting area. The kitchen table was great for games and small kitchen allowed us to bring our own snakas and drinks. We stayed here in Dec 2012 for my dad's funeral. During the night a HUGE amount of snow fell. We woke up to a cleared parking lot and the female owner/manager shoveling around our vehicles with a bad leg injury so that we could load our luggage and get around in our dress cloths. Nice personal service.

Room Tip: Ask for the updated renovated section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotogirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We left the Ramada because of an allergy to the air quality there and ended up here. We are so glad we did. The couple running this hotel we so helpful, understanding and friendly. We had a sparkling clean king room with kitchenette, comfortable bed and sofa. Best of all, this motel does not use chemical smells or scented air fresheners and it was such a relief to be able to breath in this room without having a reaction. We had a great rest and were ready to continue on our trip the next morning thanks to this excellent motel.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in a king unit which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookmon45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
431 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Pros: Clean well maintained and updated, friendly staff, pet friendly
Cons: Quite noisy near highway, beds are hard not pillow tops, hear bathroom noise from adjacent rooms, marked depths in pool are 1 foot at least wrong, quite pricey for what you get
In summary this property is over rated in TA and we would give it a pass next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birtleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel has recently been renovated and the rooms are nice. What really impressed us was the couple that runs the hotel. My brother's family and mine met in Creston to see our sick uncle. We didn't book rooms in advance thinking that it wouldn't be an issue. Once we got there we found out that most of the hotels in town were booked solid for a bike jamboree that was in town. The hotels that were'nt booked up were not very clean. The Skimmerhorn had one doublr room left and let both our families with our four kids cram in for the night. can't thank them enough. Nice pool and playground in the back for the kids too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funcouple11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Beautifully quaint hotel. Lovely person running the hotel gave us great restaurant advice. room was recently updated. Water pressure was like nothing I had ever experienced - very very strong and hot! Room was clean - TV was a good size. Price was also great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Creston hotels
0.6 mi away
Creston Valley Motel
Creston Valley Motel
#1 of 11 in Creston
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creston Hotel
Creston Hotel
#3 of 11 in Creston
85 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Creston
Ramada Creston
#2 of 11 in Creston
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Creston
Magnuson Hotel Creston
#8 of 11 in Creston
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Downtowner Motor Inn
Downtowner Motor Inn
#7 of 11 in Creston
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#11 of 11 in Creston
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skimmerhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skimmerhorn Inn

Property: Skimmerhorn Inn
Address: 2711 3 Hwy, Creston, British Columbia V0B 1G1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Creston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Creston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Skimmerhorn Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Skimmerhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing