We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awsome trails and wildlife”

Creston Valley Wildlife Management Area
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Creston
Attraction details
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awsome trails and wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent the better part of a day at the CVWMA in mid May (May 18th to be exact). This was not our first visit, and probably not the most productive in terms of bird species seen. However, we were pleased with some of our sightings, and had a great day. The trails were well maintained and provided good access to viewing areas. A few more "benches" would be greatly appreciated, esp. for older visitors. The information center is well worth a visit with the many displays, clean facilities, and friendly & informative staff. My only wish is that CVWMA provide a list of species, birds, animals, and reptiles seen on the current day, or maybe the past few days. In fact, it should be a cooperative list where visitors contribute to it. How about a white board? That would give visitors an idea of what to keep an eye out for.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

It was my second visit to the CVWMA, a special place in a stunning landscape. The large size of this reserve coupled with the range of habitats means there is a great diversity of birds and wildlife to see. I checked off more birds there than almost anywhere I've been.

There are miles of dikes to wander around, and steep forested mountains nearby. The Nature Conservancy of Canada 'Darkwoods' area is adjacent to this site, which will someday make this one of the premier spots for wildlife viewing in the country, if it isn't already.

I didn't visit the visitor centre this time, and to be honest I don't remember it from last trip. The reserve itself is worth the visit. Lots of opportunities for cycling on the dikes as well.

Whether this site would appeal to the casual visitor, I don't know. But for any birding enthusiast, it's a treasure.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jiminedmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastport , Idaho
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun, educational, wanderings through wetlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Well maintained, been there winter spring summer, all were more than worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We went here during the week last summer one afternoon, the place was full of mosqeetos and no one was around to help and show us what to see! People said it was cool place, it didn't seem to exciting. There was no good signs for what to do and we couldn't find anyone to help us. I wish there couldve been something with more information maybe a flyer. I herd people sometimes canoe but we couldn't see how to do that. The bridge we walked on was like it was going to fall a part. When we drove away we saw some cool birds. Too bad there wasn't more fun stuff to do.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank crestondudeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kootenay
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Biodiversity Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

As a designated RAMSAR site (denoting a wetlands area of world significance), the Creston Wildlife Management Area is a paradise for birders, who can see many migratory species they might not see elsewhere. The chance to canoe through the wetlands adds an up-close-and-personal view that is both unique and invaluable.

Helpful?
Thank chameleonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creston Valley Wildlife Management Area also viewed

Salmon Arm, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Creston Valley Wildlife Management Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing