We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Kootenay Thai - CLOSED

Kootenay Thai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Golden, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The best Thai food we've had! I thought we'd ordered too much, but the portion sizes are perfect. The wine list features local products, and the ingredients used are also local. The prices were also excellent! If you're in the area, you must eat here!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    39
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must eat in Creston, BC”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband & I were really surprised to eat in this little restaurant in Creston. My gosh, some of the best Thai food we have had, even from travelling in Thailand. The owner is a multi award winning ex-Vancouver restaurant (was called "Montri Thai" ) owner. He was extremely friendly even gave us complimentary soup to taste, his 'new batch' he said. Take the time out from your trip, have lunch or dinner, it is worth it. Elaine

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monty020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“This is the best thai restaurant in the Kootenays dont miss”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

By far the best restaurant in Creston and the best thai food in the Kootenays this is a must go to if your a fan of thai food. I have had a few dishes but I can not get enough of the special creation on the back page of the menu the curry with shrimp on a bed of spinach.. Yum Yum Yum with coconut rice. When ever I pass through Creston I time my trip for a visit here. Anthony and his chef are very accommodating the place is clean beautiful view of the valley. The girls are always nicely dressed and the prices are good for what you get. If you go during the growing season the beautiful produce from the Creston Valley is always incorporated into the menu Do yourself a favour and visit Kootenay Thai

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 10000elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Great Eating Place Do not miss”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The decor, service and quality of food is exceptional. While it is quite pricey everything else is outstanding. Great selection of food and it is well prepared and very tasty.

If you are from the area or just passing through it is worth a stop.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birtleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Thai Gem”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were doing the Highway 3 road trip across southern BC and were skeptical about the prospect of finding good vegetarian food in this part of the world. When we saw a small billboard advertising the Kootenay Thai restaurant we decided to try it. The restaurant decor was somewhat dated but the server was friendly and very familiar with the menu. The vegetarian offerings we tried were delicious and satisfying, especially the sweet chilli vegetables. We ordered 2 dishes with one red pepper designation on the menu and these had a pleasant spice without being too hot. Considering the location this was a wonderful discovery.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kootenay Thai also viewed

Creston, Kootenay Rockies
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
 
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing