We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Eating Place Do not miss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kootenay Thai - CLOSED

Kootenay Thai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
405 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great Eating Place Do not miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The decor, service and quality of food is exceptional. While it is quite pricey everything else is outstanding. Great selection of food and it is well prepared and very tasty.

If you are from the area or just passing through it is worth a stop.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank birtleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    39
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
522 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Thai Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were doing the Highway 3 road trip across southern BC and were skeptical about the prospect of finding good vegetarian food in this part of the world. When we saw a small billboard advertising the Kootenay Thai restaurant we decided to try it. The restaurant decor was somewhat dated but the server was friendly and very familiar with the menu. The vegetarian offerings we tried were delicious and satisfying, especially the sweet chilli vegetables. We ordered 2 dishes with one red pepper designation on the menu and these had a pleasant spice without being too hot. Considering the location this was a wonderful discovery.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Thai food Tailored to the Canadian palate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

To sum it up in a sentence: Kootenay Thai Restaurant has slightly overpriced but decent food. We've eaten here on a few occasions and ordered various items off of the menu. The curries are pretty standard fare, I make a better curry at home to be honest. I usually order a chicken curry and the chicken has always been tough. The Pad Thai isn't what I would call traditional as it's not made with tamarind paste (as I was taught to make it) but it is tasty. Some of the other menu items though are quite good, especially the Aroy Beef. Maybe I'm too picky? Maybe it's just that I've eaten real Thai food so I know better.

Anthony, the owner is an interesting fellow, Chinese, not Thai. You'll see a wall of pictures of him with prominent figures from the past and present. He's been in the business for awhile. Before coming to Creston he had a Thai restaurant in Vancouver which received quite a few accolades.

Service is usually quite good. Unfortunately the last time I was there the young waitress was very rude as she had made an error on the bill and was having a hard time correcting it. I probably won't go back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNVistaCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

You simply will not find better Thai food anywhere in BC! Worth a trip to Creston just to eat here.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank CrestonChrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful BC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Exceptional Thai Food; Excellent, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Kootenay Thai Restaurant offers great food along with a great view, especially for those seated overlooking the beautiful Creston Valley ! All dishes are served with pride in presentation and with fabulous flavor. Even on exceptionally busy nights, owner Anthony stops by to ensure everything to make sure his guests feel welcomed by him personally and that everything is to the guest's satisfaction. As well, his staff are friendly and welcoming, and the food is consistently fresh and VERY good tasting!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miraclesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kootenay Thai also viewed

 
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing