We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLDER MOTEL BUT NOT BAD FOR THE NIGHT”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Creston
alberta
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OLDER MOTEL BUT NOT BAD FOR THE NIGHT”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Sunset Motel is an older motel but well taken care of and the rooms are spotlessly clean
all the space is well utilized in the rooms
the average one bed room has a microwave and older tv plus a cute small table with two chairs for eating
there are chairs and tables outside too for those who smoke, plus a small pool in centre court
it was not too busy while we were there but I could see parking being a problem if it was full especially with the big trucks taking up parking space could get tricking getting out ...

No restaurants nearby it is on the outside area of the town

Helpful owners and you can purchase cans of pop or cold water for a 1.00 at the front desk

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvbullterriers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
16
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Fantastic stay! The rooms were spotless everyday, management was extremely helpful and friendly and we loved the pool. Thank you Sunset! You helped make this weekend (son's wedding - August 2012) one of the best ever. Many rooms were filled with family and friends and we really did have a home away from home. My room even had a kitchenette and jet tub. Prices very reasonable. I highly recommend this motel and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a jet tub and kitchenette (if stay is longer than one night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashkie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The rooms are are dated bit very clean, some of the rooms are not child proof. the out pool does the job, no shade though, our truck broke down so they were super nice about it and gave us a small break on the price. The water presser is awesome! Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgarycrafts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wa. state
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

As we were leaving Creston, a Mountie informed us that the mountain pass was closed-despite it being June. Yes, it was cold, windy, and really rainy. So we headed for an alternate route--which washed out later that afternoon. So, we were spending the night in Creston until it warmed up and the pass reopened.

We drove by various motels and decided to look at the Sunset. We were pleasantly surprised. The nicest couple was running the place and when they heard we were "stranded", they even lowered the price a few dollars. For $65, we received a room with two beds, a microwave, and small refrigerator. It was clean and up-to-date. As the afternoon went on, the place filled with stranded travelers, but instead of taking advantage of the situation, the owners continued to offer reduced rates.

There are fancier places available in larger towns, but for a clean, affordable stay with great managers, the Sunset Motel was fabulous for us.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ec0minded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I've stayed here sevral times now, never had a problem. I've stayed in both a suet and just your average room.
Room rates are exceptionally reasonable.
The staff are very helpful and kind.
The rooms are always clean, neat and tidy.
The beds are a little to stiff "feels like sleeping on ply board, with springs underneath".
But a fantascic place to stay just for one night.

Room Tip: If it's just two of you traveling, ask if there are any suets avalible. If you do manage to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jubajaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Driving into the parking lot at the Sunset Motel in Creston, it appears that the property has been updated as the buildings have new siding. But stepping through the door it was apparent that they spent the money on the outside. The one good thing about this place is that the room was clean. The furniture in our room was falling apart. But what does one expect from cheap furniture built in the 1960's? My main complaint was with the bed. There appeared to be no life or springs left in the mattress. I did not sleep the entire night. In my opinion, if you are going to update a property, the first thing you should do is GET NEW BEDS! If your guests can't get a proper sleep, what is the point of the rest? A word of caution to those with children: the pool drops off drastically.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuvLVEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Very old room - parking beside our room was an issue, were told we could just park by the pool. For the Price didn't feel it was a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helnphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Creston hotels
0.6 mi away
Creston Valley Motel
Creston Valley Motel
#1 of 11 in Creston
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creston Hotel
Creston Hotel
#3 of 11 in Creston
86 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Creston
Ramada Creston
#2 of 11 in Creston
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Downtowner Motor Inn
Downtowner Motor Inn
#7 of 11 in Creston
82 reviews
1.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Creston
Magnuson Hotel Creston
#8 of 11 in Creston
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skimmerhorn Inn
Skimmerhorn Inn
#6 of 11 in Creston
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 2705 3 Hwy | British Columbia, Creston, British Columbia V0B 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Creston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Creston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Motel in downtown Creston, British Columbia is only two minutes from the downtown area where you can find; shops, rinks, restaurants, golf course, etc. We offer in-room amenities of free wireless internet, air-conditioning, coffee maker and some of our rooms have fully equipped kitchenettes and jacuzzi tubs. Many golfers stay with us while they are enjoying the beauty and challenge of the Creston Golf Club (one of the best golf courses in the interior of British Columbia). Other amenities include; BBQ on request, ample parking, nearby golf and walking distance into downtown Creston. We are a pet friendly motel - We accept small well behaved dogs and cats. If you have another type of pet, give us a call to confirm we can accommodate it before you book your room. As our Creston motel is located on acreage there is plenty of space to exercise your pet after the long drive. We charge a nominal fee of $10/pet/day. We are also a motorcycle friendly motel - We offer walk-out rooms that allow you to park your motorcycle within a couple of steps of your door. It is most reassuring to be able to easily see your bike day and night. We also offer washing facilities to take that latest layer of bugs off. Our guests enjoy the natural beauty of Creston area with quiet walks in the woods and family outings at the local rivers and lakes. Relax, rejuvenate and explore the rural life of the Creston Valley while you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Creston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing