We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great Little Winery - Excellent White Wines

Skimmerhorn is a must visit when we pass through Creston. A bit convoluted to find (google maps... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
V6A4B3
,
Vancouver, Canada
via mobile
Lunch at the winery

We visited from Cranbrook during Blossom Festival weekend to watch the parade through the town of... read more

Reviewed May 19, 2019
GrannyAstrid-123
Read all 90 reviews
  
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
64
20
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
64
20
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas wine tasting creston valley excellent food hidden gem lady in charge lovely setting great afternoon purchased several out of this world the past years take your time pinot gris friendly staff day trip bistro patio
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Skimmerhorn is a must visit when we pass through Creston. A bit convoluted to find (google maps will get you there) but worth the effort especially for their excellent white wines (our personal favourite). The winery opening days varies with the season as does the winery bistro. so check their web site before visiting. Great spot for lunch with a patio overlooking the vineyard. Unfortunately we were unable to have lunch this trip (the chef was ill). If you do go and the bistro is open, you will be treated to a tasty meal. If buying wines their reasonable price on the listing is all taxes in and a case of 12 gets you a 13th bottle for free. Neat place, friendly staff, lovely wine. worth the effort especially for their excellent white wines (our personal favourite). The winery opening days varies with the season as does the winery bistro. so check their web sitebefore visiting. Great spot for lunch with a patio overlooking the vineyard. Unfortunately we were unable to have lunch this trip (the chef was ill). If you do go and the bistro is open, you will be treated to a tasty meal. If buying wines their reasonable price on the listing is all taxes in and a case of 12 gets you a 13th bottle for free. Neat place, friendly staff, lovely wine.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank V6A4B3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will C, General Manager at Skimmerhorn Winery and Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting our winery! We hope you will be able to visit us again when our bistro is open to enjoy lunch on our patio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

We visited from Cranbrook during Blossom Festival weekend to watch the parade through the town of Creston. Our table at the Skimmerhorn Winery was pre-booked. The location is stunning. We would have loved sitting outside on the patio, but it was not warm enough. The tapas we ordered were absolutely delicious. We ordered several different ones and shared them, so that we could get a taste of a variety of combinations and flavours. It was a relaxing and very satisfying experience. Although we didn't do the wine tasting, we noticed the knowledge of the lady in charge of the tasting. She knew everything about every wine. Two of us ordered a glass of Gewürztraminer, beautiful! We took a couple of bottles home. All staff at the winery are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. We will definitely come back! What a gem

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank GrannyAstrid-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will C, General Manager at Skimmerhorn Winery and Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience at our winery. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again at the winery when the weather gets warmer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

Skimmerhorn Winery is a Creston gem. Chef Maria consistently serves delicious food that features local ingredients and compliments Skimmerhorn’s fresh Kootenay wine. (I’ve been here a few times!) The bistro’s tapas style allows for a relaxed eating experience and the large outdoor deck features sweeping views of the Creston valley. This is by far my favourite place to eat in Creston, any excuse to sit on that patio and I’m there! So if you’re coming through Creston, you got to stop here.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

We had great weather to sit outside. Our server Cassidy was excellent. She was knowledgeable about the wine and the food which was the best tapas I’ve had in a good while. The food combinations were unusual; delicious and creative and worked sooo well. It’s a hidden gem that is worth many more trips. What I love most is that pretty much everything we had was sourced locally.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank JeanetteL735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile


The staff are friendly and eager to have you sample.
All of the wines tasted great.
My favorite is the pinot gris and my wife favours the Devils chair.
Bought a case!!
The owners take pride in their product.

Highly recommend Skimmerhorn winery

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Escape754074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews