We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a vineyard with the ambience of Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skimmerhorn Winery & Vineyard

Skimmerhorn Winery & Vineyard
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Creston
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Attraction details
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
156 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“This is a vineyard with the ambience of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Driving up to the vineyard you can see all the grapevines to the mountains. this is a beautiful vineyard with a bistro that takes you to Italy. She explains the wines beautifully with each flavor and scent you will experience. This is a must visit on your way through Creston.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank montcowgirlup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    16
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Casual drop in visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were in Creston for only a couple of days to visit family. While there stopped in at Skimmerhorn. Being middle of the week and early in the season it was pretty quiet but... Great wine (tasting), spectacular setting and very cordial. Definitely will return and spend more time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Great Tasting Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My mother recently visited the Creston Valley on her travels to Edmonton and picked up a variety of wines made from the Skimmerhorn Winery. I must say that I was fortunate enough that she was willing to share the Pinot Rose (and that was all!). I thoroughly enjoyed it! It was light and absolutly refreshing! It was delightful! Also, I am so excited to see that the winery ships to Alberta!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marleen H, Owner at Skimmerhorn Winery & Vineyard, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Pinot Rose and thank you for letting others know through your Tripadvisor review. We hope that the next time you're in our area you'll drop by for a visit and take in a full wine tasting at our complimentary tasting bar. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A winery tour you will not want to miss – with a bistro and a panoramic valley view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Recently while visiting Creston, we discovered Skimmerhorn Winery with a bistro called what else but The Vineyards. There is a spectacular view from the bistro deck and as advertised our lunches were “scrumptious”. They also have wine tasting and recommend the winery's award winning Pinot Noir and Ortega, although they have several other wines. After lunch we took the winery tour and learned :

This is a small (17 acres) estate vineyard and from the beginning we were impressed by the friendliness of the staff, the delicious meal and pleasant surroundings of the estate.  This is a “mom and pop” family business run by Al and Marleen Hoag, with the aid of skilled New Zealand vintner Mark Rattray. We were also impressed by the owners knowledge and enthusiasm for his winery and his obvious overriding desire for producing a quality wine (over quantity).

We are glad we toured the winery as we learned so much more about grape growing and wine making than can be included here. A pleasant surprise to find such a gem in the Creston Valley.

Recommend a visit to Skimmerhorn ~ you won't be disappointed.

PS When we were there, the busy Skimmerhorn parking lot had vehicles from Alberta to New Brunswick so as suggested, if you are planning a meal at the bistro it's a good idea to make a reservation.

PSS Closest international airport is located at Cranbrook (just over an hours drive from Creston).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marleen H, Owner at Skimmerhorn Winery & Vineyard, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you very much for writing such a complimentary review of Skimmerhorn. Being a 5 minute drive off the highway, we're really pleased when visitors let us know it was well worth it to find us and spend their time here. We do our utmost to provide guests with the enjoyable experience they have come to expect with the hope that they'll want to keep coming back for more. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Skimmerhorn Ricks!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner recently visited Skimmerhorn and were blown away by the setting, service and quality. It was a magical day and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The wine tasting was fantastic, food awesome and the highlight was the wine tour led by Al the knowledgeable and talented owner. We learned a lot about wine, the area and gained a different perspective on life that day. Thank you to all who have created Skimmerhorn!

Helpful?
Thank tomcomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marleen H, Owner at Skimmerhorn Winery & Vineyard, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time when you visited us last month. We try to give all of our guests the great experience that you had so it's very encouraging when we receive such glowing reviews as yours. Thank you so much for taking the time to recommend us to other travellers - we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skimmerhorn Winery & Vineyard also viewed

 
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Skimmerhorn Winery & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing