We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is our second year going to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort. Once again, we had a wonderful experience! This time we stayed on the ground floor walkout facing the pool. This is a great location, especially if you have kids - easy for them to run around and play on the grass in front of your room. Also nice not have to lug all your gear up and down stairs or elevator.

The rooms are a bit dated, but this doesn't bother us as the setting is quite rustic and we aren't looking for ultra-modern accommodations.

A few things that seemed lacking this time:

- the housekeeping staff never left enough toilet paper and didn't clean out our coffee pot for each morning. Minor inconveniences, but worth mentioning in case hotel management is reading this.

- the spa messed up our appointments even though we reconfirmed with them 3 times.

- the dining room pasta buffet had a huge line-up with just one chef cooking pasta to order. They need more cooks, or they need to ditch the idea of made to order pasta and just serve it as a hot buffet.

Anyway, those are just minor complaints in comparison to the wonderful family vacation we had in this absolutely gorgeous, relaxing mountain retreat. We're looking forward to making this an annual summer getaway for our family and extended family.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the convenience of ground floor, especially with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trinigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Marketing at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for your response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Resort. We will take your points into consideration as we are always looking to improve our customer experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Management at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 575 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved our stay, so relaxing and midweek price was reasonable as it included breakfast and passes to pool but the rooms are dated and the dining room buffet (pasta) was absolutely ridiculous...we waited 1 hour to get in on a list and 1 hour in line to get our food. Was the most poorly run, understaffed dining experience I've ever come across, completely unacceptable (it has been like like for years according to others in line). All in all, we love the hot springs and convenience of being close but there is a lot of room for improvement.

Room Tip: Walkout was nice but noise above woke us up in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night in a one bedroom cabin. we have stayed here before in regular hotel rooms and decided to try something else. The cabin itself was pretty decent. It had an updated bathroom, cooktop but small fridge, flat screen tv.. not many outlets in the place though. The internet was now working so we were told to go up to the picnic tables up the hill to connect and then see if it would stay when you got back to your cabin. what a real pain. It was spotty at best for our visit.. My real complaint is the room set up... the bedroom is totally separate from the living room and has no air conditioning in it... no fan... nothing and to top it off no screens on the tiny windows that are up high. Really folks this is Canada,, there are bugs!!! The air conditioning in the front room was a hotel wall unit that kept shutting off into econo mode. you could not control it to stay on so it got so hot in the room... you would have to go back over and turn it on again.. finally we got tired of it and asked to be moved. They must have been real busy because each time we called the front desk it would ring forever before it was answered. They did come out and move us to a cottage right next to our cabin and it was soo much better... It was so cool in the two bedroom unit... the air conditioning straddles the two bedrooms so it kept it really nice and cool.. It had a full fridge and a little more space... I would never again stay in a cabin... not without being able to open windows... that is crazy but the staff did take care of us so I appreciate it...

Room Tip: do not get a cabin if you need internet or want to be cool at night.. Its probably fine for fall, sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisamariew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Marketing at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. We are working on updating and improving the resort and its facilities, so we apologize that your initial accommodation wasn't ideal. We are glad you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay an that our staff were able to help you and your family. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Management at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

camped here for a week. The 'serviced' lot had no water so we had to fill the tanks daily. The public showers also had little or no water pressure. WASPS EVERYWHERE and we were unable to stay or eat outside because of them. Check in was sluggish though only 2 people ahead of us. Maintenance staff drive like crazy in the golf carts and when we raised concern they threatened to evict us. Not cool.
This campground is close to pools and the kids like that sort of stuff. Wasps are a problem with the kids, so it kinda' ruins it. There is nothing much going for this place, really. It could be a nice place with some attention and clean up, but seems to be neglected. The location is incredible.

Room Tip: other campgrounds in the area may be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phathungarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is adequate, and pet-friendly. Check-in was prompt and courteous. My three tweenage girls lived in the large pool with diving board, and hot springs pool. Dinner was mediocre, service the same. The rooms were just fine. The market offers adequate coffee/juice and muffins. Recommend: BYOFood; stocking rooms with fresh fruit/yogurt, breakfast/snack items. Overall, I would go again with moderate expectations.

Room Tip: BYOFood; stocking rooms with fresh fruit/yogurt, breakfast/snack items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zimafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Marketing at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your response!

We are glad you had a pleasant stay at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort and that your girls were able to enjoy the Hot Springs. We will take your suggestions into consideration as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Management at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have being going to Fairmont Hot Springs for over 25 years. We miss the time when the resort was advertised as a world class resort. Newly weds used to take photos on the open lawn - the flower beds were stunning.
After several years of decline, the Resort is coming back. The hotel rooms are well maintained. The grounds are looking better, with effort being put back into the flowers (please water the lawn more). The thermal pool area is much better maintained and much more pleasant to relax on.

Overall, we are pleased that the management of the resort have realized that people wouldn't spend money on a place that was poorly kept up. Keep up the good work - more needs to be done.

We are planning on returning for weekend trips several more times in August.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Marketing at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your response! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are seeing an improvement in the Resort. We take pride in our history and are always looking for ways to maintain an excellent guest experience. We have updated a few entities around the resort including Bear's Paw Bar & Grill and are beginning the process on more.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Management at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our first time at this resort. We wanted to stay because of the hot springs and ended up enjoying the whole resort. The room was adequate for the two of us, and we really liked having a table and chairs to sit at outside the back door. The grounds are beautiful, the staff was great and the grill/pub very good. The pools are great and the one pool that is available for the guests that stay in the resort stays open till 11:00pm. I would like to come back with the grand kids!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sewfastnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Marketing at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hi,

Thank you so much for your response. Our healing Hot Springs have a tendency to entice visitors, so we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon with the grand kids.

Sincerely,
Fairmont Hot Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#1 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
139 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
430 reviews
14.6 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
111 reviews
14.4 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,609 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Fairmont Hot Springs
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hot Springs Resort

Address: 5225 Fairmont Resort Rd, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range: $87 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairmont Hot Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hot Springs Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing